Save Money on Massachusetts Auto Insurance
Massachusetts Car Insurance
You are required to have car insurance in Massachusetts in order to drive legally. You must apply for car insurance from one of the state’s approved auto insurers as well. Coverage from another state will not be valid in Massachusetts. As you are insurance shopping, keep in mind that there are a number of coverage requirements to be met.
Information Related to Car Insurance
- Minimum Insurance Requirements
- Other Car Insurance Options
- Getting Car Insurance
- Proof of Coverage
- Register Vehicle With Insurance
- Getting CDL Insurance
- CDL Insurance Premiums
- Who Pays for CDL Insurance
Car Insurance Requirements
Driving legally in Massachusetts requires more than just getting car insurance in MA. You must also meet the minimum insurance requirements set by the state:
- Personal Injury Protection:
- $8,000 for each person in the accident
- Property Damage to Others:
- $5,000 for each accident
- Bodily Injury to Others:
- $20,000 for each person
- $40,000 for each accident
- Bodily Injury Caused by Uninsured Vehicles:
- $20,000 for each person
- $40,000 for each accident
Other Car Insurance Options in Massachusetts
When looking at insurance for car rates, there are plenty of other insurance options to choose from. In addition to meeting the state’s requirements, you should also consider purchasing:
- Collision, which covers your vehicle during accidents with other drivers.
- Comprehensive, which covers things unrelated to accidents, such as damages caused by theft.
- Rental car protection
- Towing assistance
- Roadside assistance
How to Get Car Insurance
The process to get car insurance in Massachusetts takes few steps, simply follow the guidelines below:
- Compare car insurance quotes online.
- Gather all relevant information on your vehicle (make, model, year, number of airbags, etc.)
- When you are buying a car, be sure to have already purchased car insurance or else you cannot get new registration.
- Look at rates for additional insurance, such as accident coverage, that covers gaps in an insurance policy.
Online car insurance marketplaces will allow you to browse and compare the rates of multiple different policies so that you can see what kind of plan is best for you, and the best part is that you never have to leave the comfort of your home to find them.
Having Proof of Coverage
Unlike some other states, Massachusetts does not require you to show your car insurance card as proof of your coverage. Instead, you can simply show your vehicle registration certificate because it features your MA insurance for car information, hereby serving as proof of insurance and registration.
It is important that you always have proof of your coverage. If you are caught without insurance or the ability to prove coverage, you can face penalties such as:
- A suspended car registration
- Traffic fines
When to Register Your Vehicle
It is important to keep in mind that you are not allowed to register your vehicle in the state of Massachusetts if you do not have MA car insurance. In fact, the MA RMV requires you to get the Insurance Certification section of your Application or Registration and Title (RMV-1) form completed, signed and stamped by your auto insurance agent. Once you have done so, you will be able to go to the local RMV office and get your vehicle registration.
CDL Insurance in Massachusetts
Just like standard drivers, CDL drivers must also have commercial car insurance for their vehicles. The good news is that the process for obtaining this CDL insurance in Massachusetts is similar to the process followed by standard drivers.
How to Get Commercial Car Insurance in MA
There are two ways that you can get commercial car insurance quotes in Massachusetts. You can either go in person to a variety of auto insurance agencies or you can browse and compare rates online. Regardless of the method you choose to follow, you can expect to provide the following pieces of information:
- Information about the company and employer
- Information on the vehicle, including:
- Information on the driver, including:
- MA drivers license number
- Current CDL insurance status
Some auto insurance agencies will also ask you to provide a background check on the driver in question to make sure that they do not present a high risk to the CDL insurance company.
Factors That Affect CDL Insurance Premiums
After obtaining all of the necessary information, there are a number of factors that commercial car insurance companies will take into account before providing coverage for a vehicle. Some of the elements that they will consider are:
- What will be transported by the vehicle.
- The driver’s history.
- The condition of the vehicle.
- The type of vehicle.
- The typical usage of the vehicle.
Who Pays for Commercial Vehicle Insurance
Regarding who must pay the cost of premiums, the answer depends on the circumstance. For instance, the person that owns a for-hire vehicle is in charge of paying for MA CDL insurance. However, a business owner that owns a number of commercial vehicles for a commercial company is responsible for covering insurance. The responsibility is always in the hands of the vehicle’s owner.
- Massachusetts Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
- Filing the Massachusetts SR-22 Insurance Form
- How To: Save on Massachusetts Auto Insurance
- Commercial Drivers Education in Massachusetts