Indiana Distracted Driving Laws
Distracted driving laws in the state of Indiana are not as tough as some other states, but they do restrict the use of cell phones for drivers, and contribute to reducing the number of accidents caused by distracted drivers. The current law went into effect in July, 2011, which stipulates higher fines and imposes restrictions on the use of other electronic devices while driving, in addition to cell phones. Unlike some other states, Indiana does not have a hand-held ban for all drivers, but it does ban all drivers from text messaging. This means that drivers older than 18 are allowed to use hands-free cell phones.
Novice drivers, which means drivers under the age of 18, are prohibited from all cell phone use, which means that they are not allowed to talk on their cell phones or compose or send text messages while driving, be it on a hand-held or a hands-free device. Furthermore, they are not allowed to use any sort of electronic device behind the wheel. This is a primary law, which means that a police officer does not have to witness some other traffic violation in order to pull you over.
Text Messaging Ban
Since texting while driving is a huge distraction, there is a ban on text messaging for all drivers. This is also a primary law, and the minimum fine for everyone who breaks it is $35, with the maximum fine set at $500.
More from the blog: