Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Depending on whether your car insurance company supports nationwide coverage or coverage only in Wyoming, you may or may not be able to transfer your vehicle insurance to your new state of residence. Contact your car insurance company for more information.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Car insurance cancelation policies differ by state and the company that holds your vehicle insurance policy. When you are moving out of Wyoming, contact your car insurance company to find out if you can transfer your insurance to your new state. Additionally, contact the Wyoming DMV to notify them about the move.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
There are no circumstances in Wyoming where you are allowed to operate a motor vehicle without proof of car insurance. Drivers found without proof of vehicle insurance will have seven days to provide proof before they are issued a fine up to $750 and up to six months of jail time. To apply for car insurance, research the various policies available in the state.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Auto accidents in Wyoming in which a person has been injured or there has been over $1,000 worth of damage must be reported to authorities and to car insurance companies. Accident reports in these situations must be filed regardless of who is at fault.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
To register a car in Wyoming, you must provide proof of car insurance. Additionally, all registered vehicles require proof of vehicle insurance at all times, regardless of the amount the vehicle is driven. Drivers getting car insurance in Wyoming should research the best available car insurance quotes prior to purchasing a policy.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The minimum liability car insurance required in Wyoming consists of three types of coverage, including:

  • $25,000 bodily injury or death coverage
  • $50,000 total bodily injury or death for multiple people coverage
  • $20,000 property damage coverage

To learn how to get car insurance, research the wide variety of online car insurance companies.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
The Wyoming DMV utilizes an electronic verification system to confirm your vehicle insurance status during registration. The electronic verification system is valid for all residents with personal lines of car insurance. To get car insurance proof to keep inside your vehicle, contact your insurance company.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
The Wyoming DMV requires you to have minimum liability car insurance for all registered motor vehicles in the state, which includes:

  • Bodily injury coverage
  • Property damage coverage

For the most affordable car insurance quotes, spend some time researching the various policies available in Wyoming.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
The Wyoming DMV requires all licensed drivers and vehicles registered in the state to be insured. Drivers found operating motor vehicles without proof of car insurance will be fined up to $750 and can receive a sentence of up to six months jail time. Additionally, if you are found to be driving without vehicle insurance, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 proof of car insurance for three years.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All licensed drivers must have insurance for cars, motorcycles and all other street-legal motor vehicles registered in Wyoming.

For more information: How To: Save on Wyoming Auto Insurance