Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Prior to visiting a local Wyoming DMV office, you should report your stolen or lost drivers license to local law enforcement for identity theft prevention purposes.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
Wyoming drivers license manuals are available on the Wyoming DMV website. Access the drivers license manual in PDF format here.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

How can I renew my drivers license?
Wyoming drivers can apply for drivers license renewals either by mail or in person at a DMV location.

By mail

Once per eight years, drivers have the option of renewing their drivers license by mail. Approximately 120 days prior to the expiration date, a renewal application will be mailed to the driver s address on record. Once you receive it, mail the completed application along with two proofs of residential address and the renewal fee in ordertorenew drivers licenses.

In person

At least once every eight years, drivers are required to appear in person at the DMV to renew their driving license and update their photo. Drivers also must pass a vison screening to obtain a renewed driving license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To apply for a Wyoming drivers license, visit a local Wyoming DMV office with the following documents:

  • Proof of identity
  • Two proofs of residency
  • Proof of Social Security number

You will also need to pass a vision exam, general knowledge written test and driving skills test. The fee for a new driving license is $20.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

How do I get a hardship license?
To request a limited driving privileges under a suspended drivers license, fill out a and submit it along with the $15 record review fee to:

Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT)

Driver Services/Hearings and Record Reviews

5300 Bishop Blvd.

Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340

Once approved for a probationary license, you will be required to pay a $25 issuance fee. Applicants who were handed down a suspended drivers license due to a DUI offence, must first complete an alcohol assessment before being issued a probationary license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Wyoming residents who are military members and stationed outside of Wyoming can replace lost drivers licenses by printing and completing a Wyoming Driver License/Identification Card Application Form FSDL-705 and mailing it in to a local Wyoming DOT office. Additionally, you will need to submit:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Two proofs of residency
  • Police report (if applicable)

Include payment for the $15 drivers license replacement fee and mail your application to:

Driver Services WYDOT 5300 Bishop Blvd Cheyenne, WY 82009

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
To apply for duplicate drivers licenses in Wyoming, visit a local Wyoming DOT office in person with a completed Wyoming Driver License/Identification Card Application Form FSDL-705. In addition to the application, you will need to submit the following:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Two proofs of residency
  • Police report (if applicable)

Additionally, you may also need to pass certain tests depending on the DOT official judgment. The fee for a drivers license copy is $15.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
The state of Wyoming does not administer a Habitual Traffic Offender program.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
The procedures to reinstate suspended drivers licenses vary depending on the type of violation in question. For the most accurate information as it pertains to your case, it is best to refer to the drivers license reinstatement notice that was mailed to address on file with the DMV. In all cases,the driver is responsible for paying a drivers license reinstatement fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
The Wyoming Department of Transportation offers a drivers license renewal service to military members who anticipate being stationed out of state. Military members may visit a local driver service office and show their military ID cardin order to receive a renewed drivers license stamped with a statement, which waives the expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Non-US citizens who have had lost or stolen drivers licenses can apply for a drivers license replacement by submitting a completed Wyoming Driver License/Identification Card Application Form FSDL-705 to a local Wyoming DOT office. Additionally, you will need to present the following documents:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Two proofs of residency
  • Police report (if applicable)

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
To replace drivers licenses that have been lost out of state, you can apply either by mail or in person. To apply to replace licenses by mail, you must not have had a drivers license replacement or renewal in the past eight years.

To replace lost drivers licenses, print and complete a Wyoming Driver License/Identification Card Application Form FSDL-705. Mail your completed application to replace driving licenses to:

Driver Services WYDOT 5300 Bishop Blvd Cheyenne, WY 82009

Once you have completed the aforementioned steps, you must allow 60 days for your application to be processed by the DOT.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

How does the DMV check my vision?
Getting drivers licenses in Wyoming requires at least a 20/40 visual acuity in both eyes either with glasses or without. Additionally, you must have a minimum combined horizontal field vision of 120 degrees. Failing the vision exam will require drivers to have an eye test and get corrective lenses before they can receive a drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
The drivers license suspension length for refusing to submit to a blood alcohol test ranges from six to 18 months.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
Driving licenses can be renewed up to 120 prior to their expiration date. For drivers under 21 years old, the time period to apply for a drivers license renewal is 90 days before it expires.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
No, Wyoming currently does not have a policy of waiving drivers license replacement fees due to lost or stolen drivers licenses.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, Wyoming does not currently have a ceiling on the age a driver can be to renew expired drivers licenses.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Your Wyoming drivers license replacement will be mailed to the mailing address listed on the drivers license replacement application.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
To apply for drivers license renewals in Wyoming when you are a senior, you must pass the vision test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Some of the violations that may result in a Wyoming suspended driving license includes the following:

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Operating a motor vehicleunder a drivers license suspension carries results in an extended suspension length. If caught, a driver can expect to face additional drivers license suspension time of at least 30 days.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The fee to replace DOT drivers licenses in Wyoming is $15.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
The fee to reinstate suspended drivers licenses is $50. It may be paid either in person at a WY driver license office or by mail. The fee is $5 when reinstating suspended drivers licenses after resulting from non-payment of child support.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
Drivers with suspended drivers licenses may be eligible for a probationary driverslicense, which gives the driver limited driving privileges. Qualifying violations to obtain a probationary drivers license include:

  • Moving violations
  • Transporting liquor to a minor
  • Reckless driving
  • DUI

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
The amount of time you must wait before attempting to retake your driving test after you ve failed it is at the discretion of your examiner. The examiner will base this decision off your performance. Once your waiting period is up, you can come in and retake the skills test in order to obtain a Wyoming drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
There are a few documents you will have to submit when applying for drivers licenses in Wyoming. Required documents include:

  • Proof of identity:
    • US birth certificate
    • US passport
    • Certificate of citizenship
  • Two proofs of residency:
    • Utility bill
    • Bank statement
    • Phone bill
  • Proof of Social Security Number:
    • Social Security card
    • Bank statement
    • W-2 form

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
When renewing drivers licenses in person, present the following documentation at a WY DOT office:

One proof of identity:

  • US birth certificate
  • US passport
  • Valid foreign passport
  • Two proofs of current address:
    • Utility bill
    • Rent receipt
    • Bank statement
  • One proof of Social Security number:
    • Social Security card
    • W-2 form

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
To apply for a drivers license replacement, you will need to submit the following documents:

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

What languages is the written test available in?
The Wyoming DMV general knowledge written test required in order to obtain a drivers license is only available in English. However, you may use an interpreter during the test if necessary.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
The penalty you will face when yourenew expired drivers licenses is being required to renew your drivers license in person. Also, it is possiblethat you may have to retake each aspect of the drivers exam including the knowledge test, vision exam, and road test.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
Drivers license renewal applications can take 30 to 60 days to process. If your drivers license has not arrived in that time span, then you should contact the Wyoming DOT to inquire about the status of your application. The Wyoming DOT customer service can be reached at 307-777-4810.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
Prior to completing your drivers license application at a local Wyoming DMV office, you will have to pass a vision exam. Additionally, you must also pass a general knowledge written exam and driving skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
When applying for a license to drive, you should know which type of license you need. The types of available licenses include:

  • Standard class C drivers license
  • Driving permits for teenagers
  • Motorcycle class M licenses
  • Off-Road Recreational Vehicle (ORV) permits

Under federal requirements, all Wyoming standard drivers licenses are REAL ID-compliant.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
After a driver has served his or her drivers license suspension period, he or she may apply for a drivers license reinstatement. Depending on the violation, a driver may be required to fulfil certain actions, for example, filling an SR-22 form for driving without car insurance.Applicants will be required to pay the required reinstatement fee in order to re-gain driving privileges after any drivers license suspension.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

When will I need to renew my license?
Wyoming drivers must renew licenses within a given time period in order to avoid penalties for late renewals. Drivers under 21 years old must renew their drivers licenses within 90 days of their driver s license expiration date. Those 21 and older have 120 days prior to expiration to renew.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Once you have successfully applied to replace your lost or stolen drivers license, your application will be processed within 60 days. You should expect to receive your drivers license replacement shortly after the transaction has been processed with the Wyoming DOT.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Wyoming Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
Wyoming drivers may check the status of their driving license by requesting a DMV driving record. Driver records can be obtained either by mail or in person at a WY DOT driver services office. The fee for a driving record check is $5.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Wyoming

Where can I get a new drivers license?
To get drivers licenses in Wyoming, you must visit a local Wyoming DMV office in person. There is currently no option to apply for a drivers license online.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Wyoming

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Yes, drivers must pass a vision screening when renewing drivers licenses in person. Drivers are required to renew their drivers license in person at a driver license office once every eight years to update their photo as well.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, drivers license renewal notices are mailed to the drivers address on record with the DMV. Drivers 21 and older will have their notices mailed 120 prior to the expiration date of their drivers license. The time period to renew drivers licenses is 90 days for drivers under 21 years old.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Wyoming