Frequently Asked Questions

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Drivers with active suspensions on their record will not be able to renew expired car registrations.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
As long as the person applying for a car registration is presenting the required documents, which include authorization from the vehicle owner, anyone can renew car registrations for you in Wyoming.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Do boats need to be registered?
In Wyoming, all boats with motors must be registered through the Wyoming Game and Fish Department. Vehicles owned by the US government, registered with the US Coast Guard or registered in another state and not kept in Wyoming for an extended period are all exempt from registration.

To register your boat, print and complete a Wyoming Watercraft Application and submit it along with a Bill of Sale and a Wyoming sales receipt. Mail the forms to your local Wyoming Game and Fish Department office along with the boat registration fee of $15 for one year or $40 for three years.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
It is not a necessity that you file a police report in the event of a lost or stolen car registration. The Wyoming DOT reports lost and stolen registrations to law enforcement once a car registration replacement application has been submitted. However, the Wyoming DOT recommends you still file a police report for identity theft purposes.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
When you are leaving Wyoming to move to another state, you will need to surrender your license plates to a local Wyoming DOT office once you have received your new plates from your destination plates.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Damaged car registrations should be submitted to the Wyoming DOT along with the car registration replacement application.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Yes, a motorized scooter must have the proper vehicle registration in order to be legally operated within Wyoming.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
There are currently no smog inspection requirements in Wyoming.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
You can renew car registrations in Wyoming either online or in person at a local Wyoming DOT office. To renew car registrations online, you must first check your eligibility on the county treasurer s website. Once you find out if you are eligible, you will need to enter the following information on the online form:

  • Credit/debit card billing information
  • Mailing address
  • Vehicle registration information
  • Car registration renewal notice PIN
  • Payment for renewal

Renewing car registrations in person requires a visit to a local Wyoming DOT office. Upon arrival, present your car registration renewal notice, your current registration card and your license plate number. You will also need to provide proof of insurance and payment for the car registration renewal fee.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
To transfer your car registration to a new state, you will need to contact the DMV office of the state you are moving to.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
To apply for a handicapped parking placard or license plate, you can either visit a local Wyoming DOT office with a completed Application for Handicapped Vehicle Identification Placard form FSR-449 or mail the application in. There is no fee for handicapped placards. When applying for a handicapped license plate, you must pay the standard registration fee when picking up the license plate at the DOT office. You will need to provide some form of ID when applying. To submit your application by mail, send the application to:

WYDOT – Driver Services Medical Review 5300 Bishop Blvd Cheyenne, WY 82009

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
In Wyoming, applying for a car registration replacement will prompt the Wyoming DOT to report the loss or theft to the local sheriff s department and all other pertinent law enforcement agencies. Therefore, you do not have to file a police report once you have reported your registration lost or stolen. However, as an insurance policy, the DOT recommends you still file a police report in order to avoid any identity theft issues.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
To replace car registrations in Wyoming, you can either visit a local Wyoming DOT office or mail in a car registration replacement application.

Replacing car registrations in person require you to bring a completed Application for New or Duplicate License Plates Form MV-405 along with the following:

  • Proof of identity
  • License plate number
  • Vehicle Identification Number

Lost or stolen car registrations should be reported to a local police department.

To replace lost car registrations by mail, print and complete an Application for New or Duplicate License Plates Form MV-405 and mail it to the Wyoming DOT along with your current license plate (if damaged) and the car registration replacement fee of $8 for a replacement license plate (not the same license plate number) or $30 for a duplicate license plate (same number as previous plate).

Duplicate car registrations cannot be obtained online.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

How do I obtain car registration?
Registering cars in Wyoming requires you to visit a local Wyoming DOT office with a few documents and items, including:

Additionally, you will have to pay the car registration fee. There is currently no option to register cars online.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Late car registration renewals in Wyoming may result in late fees depending on how late you are renewing.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
Yes, in order to replace lost personalized plates, you must visit a local Wyoming DOT office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
The Wyoming DOT suggests that drivers carry the car registration in the vehicle at all times. To find out more about how to register cars in Wyoming, visit a local Wyoming DOT office.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
Common reasons for replacing car registrations in Wyoming include if your registration was stolen, lost or damaged beyond legibility.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
In Wyoming, the Department of Transportation charges both a county fee and state fee to get car registrations.

The DOT has come up with a formula to calculate the county fee cost to register cars in Wyoming. The formula is as follows:

  • Factory cost multiplied by service rate (by year) multiplied by 0.03

Service rates are as follows:

  • First year: 60 percent
  • Second year: 50 percent
  • Third year: 40 percent
  • Fourth year: 30 percent
  • Fifth year: 20 percent
  • Sixth year: 15 percent

Additionally, the state fee is based on the type of vehicle you would like to register, as follows:

  • Passenger vehicles: $15
  • Trucks and trailers: $2 to $60
  • Motorcycles: $12
  • Campers: $15
  • Temporary vehicle registration fee: $50 per month
  • Temporary in-transit permit: $20 per vehicle for 48 hours

You cannot currently pay fees or register a car online in Wyoming. To do so, you must visit a local Wyoming DOT office in person.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The fees to replace lost car registrations in Wyoming depend on whether you are requesting a replacement or duplicate license plate and are as follows:

Replacement license plate fee: $8

Duplicate license plates fee: $30

To learn more about how to replace car registrations, print and complete an Application for New or Duplicate License Plates Form MV-405 and submit it to a local Wyoming DOT office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Fees to renew car registration in Wyoming include county and state fees. County fees are based on how much your vehicle is worth and the year you purchased it. State fees are as follows:

  • Passenger vehicles: $15
  • Motorcycles: $12
  • Trucks and trailers (based on weight): $2 to $60
  • Commercial vehicles (based on weight): $80 to $1,400

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
To obtain a car registration copy from the Wyoming DOT, you must present the following documents:

  • Proof of identity
  • License plate number
  • Vehicle identification number

You must apply for a duplicate car registration either in person or by mail. There is currently to no option to replace car registrations online.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
There are a few required documents you must submit at a local Wyoming DOT office when getting car registrations, including:

Additionally, you will need to pay the DOT car registration fee.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
To renew expired car registrations in Wyoming, you will need to present the following documents to the Wyoming DMV:

  • Car registration renewal notice
  • Current car registration card
  • License plate number
  • Proof of insurance

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Drivers must contact a local Wyoming DOT office if they have not received their registration tags or stickers.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

When does my car registration expire?
Car registration renewal expiration dates in Wyoming are based on the month your vehicle was purchased. Vehicle owners can also choose to have all their vehicles expire in the same month. To learn more about how to renew car registrations, visit a local Wyoming DOT office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
To learn more about how to replace car registrations, visit a local Wyoming DOT office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
In order to replace a car registration in Wyoming, you will need to print and complete the Application for New or Duplicate License Plates form MV-405.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Prior to your registration expiration date, you will receive a car registration renewal notice from the Wyoming DOT. Car registration renewal notices will include all the information you need to proceed with the renewal.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Your car registration expiration date in Wyoming is based on your vehicle s purchase month. Check your car registration renewal notice for your exact expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Wyoming