Violating Maine driving and traffic laws can result in fines, the suspension of your driving privileges, and even imprisonment. The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) uses a point system to track violations and their corresponding penalties. Points are added to your driving record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations.
Complete our FREE DUI Evaluation Form
MOVING VIOLATIONS AND POINTS
Different violations are assigned different point values, which are added to your driving record. For instance, moving violations like obstructing traffic lane conviction, improper turn and following too close each carry two points. Four-point offences include imprudent speed, imprudent driving and failing to stop at red light. The number of points assessed for different speeding violations are as follows:
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by less than15 mph:6 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 15-30 mph:6 points
View the complete Point Schedule to learn about the number of points associated with each type of moving violation.
You will be subject to specific penalties if you accumulate a certain number of points on your driving license:
- You will have your license suspended if you accumulate 12 points or more on your current driving record within a year. The general suspension period is up to 15 days. A notice of warning is sent by the BMV once you accumulate 6 points.
- You will have your license suspended for 120 days if your license is suspended for three time in three years and in that period you are convicted of a fourth violation.
- Accumulating points on your driving license is also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORD
The Maine BMV maintains a record of all the points added to your driving license. However, there are a number of ways in which you can remove points from your current driving record.
- If you remain violation or suspension-free for one year, you can get one point deducted from your current driving record.
- Taking a Defensive Driving Course enables you to deduct three points from your current driving record within a 12 month period, and may also qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates.
HOW TO DISPUTE A MOVING VIOLATION CHARGE
If you believe you have been incorrectly charged with committing a moving violation, you may be able to fight the charge in court. See Traffic Tickets and Traffic Ticket Attorneys for more information.