Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
A motorcycle license training course is not a requirement in order to obtain a West Virginia motorcycle endorsement. Though, drivers who wish to forego the DMV motorcycle road test can fulfill this requirement by taking a WV DOT approved Basic Rider Course.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Yes, West Virginia has a universal helmet law, whereby all motorcycle operators and passengers are required to wear a helmet. Motorcycle helmets should meet state and national Department of Transportation standards.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, a commercial drivers licenses cannot be renewed online. Commercial drivers may apply for a CDL renewal by mail or in person at a WV DMV location.

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, the written drivers test is not available to take online. Learner s permit applicants must visit a motor vehicle office to sit for the exam. An audio version of the test is available for those who have failed the written test at least two times.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Yes, interstate CDL license holders may carry out commercial driving activities inside and out of West Virginia. Though, commercial drivers new to West Virginia must apply for a West Virginia commercial drivers license within 30 days of establishing residency in the state. A thorough driver record check will be conducted of each state in which the applicant was previously licensed.

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Mopeds and scooters have the same classification as motorcycles in West Virginia. Therefore, to operate these types of motor bikes on public roads, one must apply for a Class F motorcycle license or endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
No, West Virginia drivers permit applicants do not have to take a drivers ed course. Though applicants under 18 years old must show proof of school enrolment via the School Driver Eligibility Certificate form in order to obtain a learner s permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
Qualified US military veterans can apply for a veteran designation on their West Virginia ID card or driver s license. The following is a non-exhaustive list of documents the WV DMV accepts in order to verify veteran status:

  • DD Form
  • Military ID Card
  • Current military license plate registration card

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
First time CDL applicants must follow these steps to obtain a license to drive commercial motor vehicles:

  1. Submit a completed and signed Application for Commercial Driver s License (CDL) and/or Endorsements.
  2. Submit a copy of valid DOT Medical/Physical and Medical Card, or self-certify of their exempt status or provide the DMV with written proof of employment.
  3. Provide proof of legal presence in the US and proof of Social Security number.

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
There are two different types of learners permits administered by the West Virginia DMV. Requirements for each differ depending on the age of the new driver.

If you are a new driver age 18 and older, then you will apply for a regular instruction permit. To obtain a permit you must pass a vision screening written knowledge test.

Learners permit applicants aged 15-17 years must apply for a graduated driver s license (GDL) level one as a new driver in West Virginia. The requirements for a GDL include:

  • Passing a vision screening.
  • Passing a knowledge test.
  • Obtaining a Driver Eligibility Certificate from their local school board.
  • Getting written parental consent.

All drivers permit applicants are required to drive under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
The West Virginia DMV offers both a motorcycle endorsement and a motorcycle license. A motorcycle license restricts drivers to the operation of motorcycles only. To be eligible for either amotorcycle license or endorsement, applicants must first meet the guidelines for a motorcycle instruction permit, which include:

  • Being at least 16 years old and have a level two intermediate drivers license or higher.
  • Passing the written knowledge test.

After holding an instruction permit for at least seven days, applicants may then take a motorcycle road skills test or take an approved Basic Rider Course to fulfil the requirements for a motorcycle endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
West Virginia residents who have had their ID card lost, stolen, or destroyed,must provide the following documentation to replace ID cards:

  • One proof of identity:
    • US passport
    • Certificate of citizenship
  • One proof of WV residency:
    • Utility bill
    • Car insurance ID card

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

How do I renew my driving permit?
Regular instruction permit holders may apply for up to one renewal by simply visiting a West Virginia DMV location filling out an application and providing one proof of WV residency. However, graduated driver s license holders are not eligible for renewal.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

How do I renew my ID card?
The process to renew ID cards is straightforward, whether you have any changes to make to yourWest VirginiaDMV ID card or not. To do so, you must present the following documents to the WV DMV:

  • Your current ID card
  • A completed ID card renewal application
  • One proof of WV residency (Two proofs are required if changing address)

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
The Department of Transportation medical card must be updated every two years for CDL license holders that required to keep one on file with the DMV. To renew your medical certificate you must visit a licensed physician who appears on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s National Registry web site. For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
How do I renew my motorcycle license?
To renew motorcycle licenses, drivers must provide proper documentation including:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Proof of residential address

Applicants must apply for a motorcycle license renewal in person at a DMV office or via mail.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Members of the military are subject to the same motorcycle license requirements as other drivers. Out-of-state motorcycle license holders may transfer their motorcycle endorsementto West Virginia for a small fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
Regular instruction permit holders may apply for a WV driving license after at least 30 days if they are a first-time driver. The learner s permit is valid for a period of 90 days. Graduateddriver s license applicants will be eligible for a level two intermediate driving license after they turn 16 years old and have completed at least 180 days with a level onedrivers permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
The length of time it takes for an ID card applicant to receive their card depends on the type of card for which they applied. Residents, who have applied for the West Virginia passport card known as the REAL ID card, will receive their card via USPS postwithin 10-15 business days. For the meantime, these applicants will be issued a temporary ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
Commercial drivers licenses expiration dates vary depending on the age of the driver when they receive their initial CDL. Those issued a CDL licenseafter reaching 21 years of age will have their CDL expire on their birthday in the year that their age is divisible by five. Driversunder 21 will must renew once they reach their 21st birthday.

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
West Virginia residents must apply for an ID card replacement in-person at a WV DMV location regardless whether they are located in state or out of state.

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes, the minimum age required to apply for a commercial learner s permit is 18 years old. Moreover, CDL license applicants must have held a noncommercial driver s license for at least two years prior to obtaining a commercial driver s license.

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
Licensed drivers age 16 and older are eligible to apply for a motorcycle license. Drivers under the age of 18 must have a level two intermediate driver s license or higher in order to obtain a motorcycle endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
The West Virginia Department of Transportation offers the followingCDL endorsements:

  • (H) Hazardous Materials
  • (M) Motorcycle
  • (N) Tank vehicles
  • (P) Passenger
  • (S) School Bus
  • (T) Doubles/Triples
  • (X) Hazardous Materials and Tank

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The following is the schedule of fees associated with getting a West Virginia ID card, which vary depending on the applicant s age:

  • Ages 2-15: $5
  • Ages 16-17: $10-$12.50
  • Ages 18-20: $7.50-$2.50

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Level one GDL holders have a number of requirements they must adhere to in order to maintain their driving privileges, which include:

  • A licensed driver at least 21 years old who must sit in the front passenger seat must always accompany drivers.
  • Two non-family members in the backseat must accompany the driver.
  • All passengers must wear a seatbelt.

In addition to the above mentioned requirements, driving permit holders will have their driving privileges revoked if they acquire more than one traffic violation.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
Depending on the type of commercial driving an applicant will be engaging in, they may have to keep a medical certificate on file with the West Virginia DMV. When applying for a CDL, drivers must self-certify the type of commercial driving they will be doing. Those who certify non-excepted interstate or non-excepted intrastate driving are required to keep a copy of their DOT Medical Card on record with the West Virginia DMV.

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
Holders of a West Virginia driving permit are subject to severe penalties for a traffic violations including thecost of traffic ticketsand will have to re-start thesix-month probationaryperiodthat every level one instruction permit holder is subject to. After two convictions, thelearners permit will be revoked for 90 days. At the conclusion of the revocation, the driver must re-test to regain their driving privileges.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
The license requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle are the same as they are for a traditional motorcycle. All motorcycle license applicants must be at least 16 years old.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
All West Virginia learners permit applicants must provide the following documentation in order to obtain a permit:

  • One proof of identity:
    • US birth certificate
    • US passport
    • Permanent resident card
  • One proof of Social Security number
    • Social Security card
    • 1099 form
  • Two proofs of WV residency:
    • Utility bill
    • Voter registration card

Additionally, GDL applicants must present a valid School Driver Eligibility Certificate and parental consent to get their instruction permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
West Virginia motorcycle driving license applicants will need to present the appropriate documentation including proof of identity and residential address at a WV DMV office:

  • One proof of identity:
    • US birth certificate
    • US passport
    • Permanent resident card
  • One proof of Social Security number:
    • Social Security card
    • 1099 form
  • Two proofs of WV residency:
    • Residential lease
    • Pay stub

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
Applicants must pass the following exams before getting a motorcycle license:

  • Motorcycle license written test
  • Motorcycle license road test

The motorcycle road test portion of the exam may be waived with participation in an approved Basic Rider Course.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in West Virginia

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Commercial driver s license holders are prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their system. For that reason, a DUI conviction will result in a commercial drivers license suspension for a period of at least one year.

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What is an ID card?
An identification card is a non-driver ID card that can be obtained by West Virginia residents at a WV DMV location. Residents from the age of two years oldor olderare eligible for an ID card in West Virginia. Apply by submitting the appropriate identification documentation and the ID card fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

What is the passing score for a written test?
The West Virginia written driverstest consists of 25 questions on traffic laws, road signs and pavement markings. Learner s permit applicants must answer at least 19 questions correctly in order to receive a passing score.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
West Virginia drivers permit applicants should prepare for the following tests in order to obtain an instruction permit:

  • Vision test
  • Written knowledge test

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
The tests a commercial drivers license applicant need to pass to obtain a WV CDL license include:

  • Knowledge test
  • CDL skills test
  • Any applicable endorsement tests

For more information: West Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

When does my ID card expire?
West Virginia residents ID cards expire every five years in the month of the applicant s birth. In order to renew your WV ID card, you must visit a WV DMV and present the following documents:

  • Your current ID card
  • A completed ID card renewal application
  • One proof of WV residency (Two proofs are required if changing address)

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

Where can I obtain an ID card?
West Virginia residents must visit one of several DMV locations to obtain a state identification card. The business hours for most locations are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 6 p.m.

For more information: How to Apply for a West Virginia Identification Card

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
Graduated driver s license applicants under 18 years old must get written consent from a parent or guardian. Minors who are married must provide a marriage license as in lieu of parental consent at the time of their drivers permit application.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in West Virginia