Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, new West Virginia residents cannot keep the same car insurance policy from their previous state of residence. While you may be able to keep the same car insurance company,supposing they are licensed to do business in the state of West Virginia, you must however, get a state-specific car insurance policy.

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
When relocating out of state, drivers are responsible for contacting their car insurance company to handle a change of address. Due to the variability of minimum coverage standards from state to state, drivers will in fact have to obtain a new car insurance policy.

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Choosing not to get car insurance coverage on your vehicle is not a wise decision as it will lead to some unwelcome repercussions. To begin with, in order to register your vehicle in West Virginia, you must provide your insurer s company ID number and your policy number among other verifiable information.

To ensure that drivers maintain minimum coveragefollowing registration, the West Virginia DMV conducts periodic insurance verification checks via mail. If you fail to send back proof of coverage at the time of verification, you will be subject to severe penalties including drivers license suspensions and the revocation of your car registration.

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
In the event of an automobile accident, drivers must report any property damage in excess of $500 to their car insurance carrier. To report a car accident, notify the closest law enforcement agency, immediately.

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
In the case of drivers who only use a vehicle for part of the year, they are only mandated to keep minimum car coverage on it for the length of time that the vehicle is in use. To prove this,vehicle owners will be required to provide the West Virginia DMV with a Seasonal Statement of Insurance noting the dates in which your policy will be active. The DMV will follow-up by verifying that such policy is in effect during the dates specified.

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The minimum vehicle coverage required by law in West Virginia beginning January 2016 is as follows:

  • $25,000 per crash, per injury
  • $50,000 per crash, per two or more injuries
  • $25,000 for property damage

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
When registering a motor vehicle, drivers will be asked to provide theircar insuranceprovider information to prove that they car covered.The following informationmust be furnished to the West Virginia DMV when applying for a vehicle registration:

  • The name of your car insurance company
  • The name of the insurance agent
  • Your policy number
  • The dates which the car insurance policy is valid
  • The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) number

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
All vehicles registered in West Virginia are required to carry at least the minimum liability car insurance. Effective January 2016, minimum coverage standards have been raised to the following:

  • $25,000 per crash, per injury
  • $50,000 per crash, per two or more injuries
  • $25,000 for property damage

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
The penalties for driving withoutWest Virginia car insurance are severe. Drivers who do so are subject to the following penalties:

  • Suspension of vehicle registration
  • Mandatory payment of the $100 car registration reinstatement fee

Additionally, getting caught filing false car insurance information will result in even more severe consequences, such as:

  • 90-day drivers license suspension
  • Car registration revocation
  • Criminal prosecution
  • Up to a $1,000 fine
  • Up to one year in jail

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Vehicles registered in West Virginia are required to have at least the minimum liability vehicle coverage. The types of vehicles required to carry insurance include:

  • Car/trucks
  • Motorcycles
  • Mopeds
  • RVs
  • Motor boats
  • Semi-trailers
  • Trailers
  • Pole trailer

For more information: West Virginia Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save