Real ID requirements will be in place on October 1st, 2021. If you intend to get a REAL ID, you will likely need to visit a DMV in person.

Read More >

Important Notice About Real ID Implementation

Read More >

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
No, it is not mandatory that you report a stolen or lost drivers license to law enforcement officials. Simply, apply for a drivers license replacement as soon as possible so that the WV DMV has a record that your original drivers license is no longer valid.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
Drivers license applicants can download a PDF copy of the West Virginia Driver s Licensing Handbook on the West Virginia Department of Transportation website. Moreover, a hard copy of the manual is available at any WV DMV location.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

How can I renew my drivers license?
West Virginia drivers can apply for a drivers license renewal in person at a WV DMV office. To initiate the process, drivers must present the following documentation:

  • A completed and signed application
  • One proof of West Virginia residency
  • Your current drivers license

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

How do I apply for a drivers license?
New drivers must be at least 16 years old and pass a written drivers test, vision exam, and driving test to apply for a West Virginia driving license. First time driver s license applicants 18 and older must first obtain an instruction permit and keep it for at least 30 days before they are eligible for a road test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

How do I get a hardship license?
Currently, the West Virginia DMV does not provide a hardship license for those with a suspended drivers license. To regain your driving privileges, you must serve your suspension time and pay the drivers license reinstatement fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
West Virginia residents that are in the military and stationed out of state are eligible for and extension of their drivers license expiration date. If you need a drivers license replacement, then you may be able to request a duplicate license via mail. For more information about this service, call 1-800-642-9066.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
Applicants who have had their original card lost, stolen, or destroyed can obtain a drivers license replacementby following these steps:

  1. Visita West Virginia DMV office
  2. Provide proof of identity
  3. Provide proof of your physical address
  4. Pay the $5 drivers license replacement fee

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
A habitual traffic offender program does not exist in West Virginia. However, DUI offenders are considered a habitual offender after more than one DUI conviction. Such offenders are advised by the state to participate in an appropriate substance abuse treatment program to help them avoid further suspended drivers licenses.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
When reinstating suspended drivers licenses, drivers must be sure to take care of their outstanding obligations as outlined in their notice of suspension. These guidelines include:

  • Serving your suspension period.
  • Satisfying the applicable fees and fines.
  • Participating in the DUI Safety and Treatment Program (DUI cases only).
  • Paying your drivers license reinstatement fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
For military personal, the West Virginia DMV will renew drivers licenses of the resident while they are stationed out of state. A physical driving license will not be issued; rather the driver will receive a certified copy of their driver record indicating the extended expiration date. The driver should apply to get a new driver s license card upon their return to the state.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Any drivers license replacement applicant must provide the DMV with proof of identity as well as proof of their current residential address. Non-US citizens can provide the following documents as proof of identity:

  • Employment authorization document
  • Foreign passport with valid US visa

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
West Virginia residents who havelost drivers licenses while out of state should contact the DMV directly to report the incident. Upon their return to the state, they must then visit a WV DMV location to apply in-person for a drivers license replacement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

How does the DMV check my vision?
The WV DMV tests your vision to make sure that you are fit to drive weather that is with or without corrective lenses. To pass the vision test, you must have at least 20/40 vison in one or both eyes.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Per the West Virginia implied consent law, if a driver suspected of a DUI refuses to submit to a chemical test, her or she will receive a drivers license suspension for a period of no less than one year.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
West Virginia drivers have the option of renewing drivers licenses as early as two years prior to their expiration date. To renew your drivers license before receiving a renewal notice, fill out a drivers license application in person at a WV DMV office near you.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
No, the West Virginia DMV does not provide a replacement fee waiver for stolen or lost drivers licenses. Currently the duplicate drivers license fee is $5.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, there is no age limit to renew drivers license in West Virginia. You only need to show proof of residential address to renew yourdrivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
If you ordered a REAL ID passport card, then it will be mailed to your mailing address on file with the WV DMV. Regular drivers license replacements are issued on site at the West Virginia DMV office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
The West Virginia DMV currently does not have any restrictions in place for senior drivers needing to renew driving licenses. Contact the WV DOT directly for any concerns you may have about the safety of a senior driver.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Some of the most common violations that can result in aWest Virginia suspended drivers license include:

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Driving with a suspended or revoked drivers license carries severe penalties. A 90-day drivers license revocation will be issuedtothose caught driving with a revoked or suspended drivers license. Additionally, driving with a revoked drivers license can result in a minimum jail time ranging from 30 days up to six months.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The West Virginia DMV charges a fee of $5 to replace drivers licenses. Fees are subject to change.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Suspended drivers license reinstatement fees vary depending on the type of violation for which the driver was convicted. Reinstatement fees may be paid either online or by mail. Regional West Virginia DMV offices do not accept payment for reinstatement fees.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
The Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles does not issue hardship licenses. Drivers must satisfy the conditions of their suspended drivers license in order to regain their driving privileges.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
Driving license applicants who fail the written drivers test or road skills test are eligible to retest after one week has passed. The WV DMV allows an applicant up to three attempts to pass the drivers license exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
To apply for drivers licenses, applicants must supply the following documentation at a WV DMV location to get a new West Virginia driving license:

  • One proof of identity:
    • US birth certificate
    • US passport
    • Permanent resident card
  • One proof of Social Security number:
    • Social Security card
    • 1099 form
  • Two proofs of WV residency:
    • Utility bill
    • Voter registration card

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
Drivers license renewal applicants must present their current drivers license as well as one document proving their West Virginia residency.Acceptable proof of residency documents include:

  • Utility bill
  • Voter registration card
  • Pay stub

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
To apply for a drivers license replacement in West Virginia, drivers must present valid proof of identity and proof of their residential address:

  • Proof of identity:
    • US birth certificate
    • Foreign passport with valid visa
  • Proof of West Virginia residency:
    • Utility bill
    • Tax record
    • Mortgage document

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

What languages is the written test available in?
The West Virginia written drivers test is now available in the following languages:

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Japanese

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
After six months, a West Virginia expired drivers license may no longer be renewed. The applicant must apply for a new driving license and re-take the written and road tests.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
Drivers license renewal applicants who have not received their updated driver s license in the mail after 15 days, should contact the West Virginia DMV to inquire about the status of their card. Make sure that your mailing address information is up-to-date with the DMV to avoid missing important notifications.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
West Virginia drivers license applicants should prepare to take the following tests:

  • Vision test
  • Written knowledge test
  • Road skills test

The WV Driver s Licensing Handbook contains all the information you need to know to prepare for you written drivers test and road skills.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The West Virginia DMV administers the Class E noncommercial drivers license and may be obtained by applicants 16 and older.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
A driver can only reinstate suspended drivers licenses after their suspension period has passed and they have paid their drivers license reinstatement fees. Depending on the violation, drivers may also have to complete a mandatory treatment program in order to be eligible for reinstatement. For specifics regarding your case, visit a WV DMV office.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

When will I need to renew my license?
Driving license expiration dates fall on the driver sbirthdate. West Virginia drivers licensesexpire the year in which the driver s age is divisible by five. For example, a 22 year old recently issued a new drivers license will be next up for renewal when he or she turns 25 years old. Their subsequent drivers license renewal will be at 30 years old, and so on.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Drivers who have applied for a non-federal drivers license replacement will receive their drivers license during their visit to the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles office. In the case of a passport card, or federally recognized driver s license, drivers will be issued a temporary drivers license to use until their card arrives by mail within 10-15 business days.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated West Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
The West Virginia DMV has an online service where drivers can check the status of theirsuspended drivers license free of charge. This online DMV service can be accessed by providing your drivers license number as well as the last four digits of their Social Security number. Visit the West Virginia DMV Online Services center for more information.

For more information: Suspended License Information for West Virginia

Where can I get a new drivers license?
West Virginia drivers license applicants may visit one of several DMV locations. Most locations business hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 6 p.m.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in West Virginia

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
No, the vision test is not a requirement to renewdrivers licenses. Drivers need only supply one proof of residential address in order to qualify for renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, a drivers license renewal notice will be mailed to the applicants mailing address on file. The DMV does not forward mail so it is up to you to make sure that your address information is current and up-to-date.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in West Virginia