Frequently Asked Questions

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Yes, West Virginia drivers may request a certified online driving record via the WV DMV web portal. To fill out an online request form, be prepared to have your drivers license number at hand.

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Although traffic school attendance is not a requirement of traffic ticket violators, it is an option offered to drivers for the reduction of points from their driving record. Completion of a Defensive Driving Coursewill result in a three-point reduction from the drivers record.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
In West Virginia, traffic ticket violations are handled by the county in which they originate. Drivers must therefore contact the appropriate jurisdiction directly to find out how to pay traffic tickets. Visit the West Virginia Judiciary website to locate contact information for your selected county.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
The Driver s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) protects driver DMV driving records from being accessed in an unlawful manner. Someone who wishes to obtain the driving record of another person must show a state ID card as a verification safeguard. If you feel that your record has beenretrievedillegally, proceed by reporting the incident to the West Virginia DMV at 304-926-3802.

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
West Virginia drivers may check driving records via the following methods:

  • Online
  • In person
  • By mail
  • Via email
  • By fax

If requesting your driving record via email or fax, be sure to follow up with a phone call to the WV DMV topay thedriving record fee.

To apply by mail, you must provide the following documentation to the central DMV office:

  • A completed and signed Driving Record Request form
  • A copy of your drivers license

The driver record fee is $5. Certified driving records cost $6.

Applicants can send driving record requests to:

West Virginia DMV

Driving Records Section

PO Box 17020

Charleston, WV 25317

Phone Number: 304-926-3802

Fax: 304-926-3899

Email: DMVDriverRec@wv.gov

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
A traffic ticket could possibly be dismissed if the driver pleads “not guilty” to the violation and choses to contest the case in court. At the court hearing, drivers will be able to present evidence and supply witnesses to support their plea. The judge may dismiss the case if he or she finds that you have proved yourself not guilty.It is advisable to call on the counsel of an attorney or DUI attorneyfor professional guidanceregarding your case.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Driving record applicants must have written authorization to obtain a copy of another person s drivers record. The process to apply for someone else s driving record cannot be carried out online. You can however, apply via e-mail, fax, phone, or in person at a DMV office by submitting the following documents:

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Drivers who refuse to submit to chemical testare committing a serious offense. Since these drivers are considered a potential danger to public safety, they will receive a mandatory drivers license revocation, which can range from one year to life. To reinstate your drivers license following this event, you must re-apply for a drivers license by taking the entire exam including written and road tests.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Points assessed to a drivers recordcan be removed in a couple of different ways, including:

  • After two years a violation drops from the record
  • Completion of a Defensive Driving Course

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
When a driver accumulates six or more points on their driving record, the DMV will send out a courtesy letter notifying them that they are close to receiving a suspended drivers license. After the accumulation of 12 points on an individual s driving record, a driver license suspension will be handed down.

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
West Virginia drivers may complete an approved Defensive Driving Course to obtain a three-point reduction on their driving record. You may only participate in this program once every 12 months for point reduction purposes.

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you have lost your traffic ticket, contact the county court in which the violation occurred to find out ticket information such as traffic fines. Make sure to have your drivers license and car registration numbers on hand in order to facilitate the process to locate your citation.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Drivers licenses that have been confiscated by law enforcement during a DUI arrest will be turned over to the DMV until the case is settled due to the mandatory revocation law. If it turns out that the driver is found not guilty in court, their drivers license will be returned to them. Otherwise, the driver will have to serve out their drivers license suspension length stemming from the DUI citation.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

What are the different types of driving records?
The West Virginia DMV offers two types of driving records:

  • Regular driving record
  • Certified driving record

A certified record is embossed and deemed accurate by a DMV representative.

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Drivers who are caught driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol will be subject to a host of consequences including:

  • Fines
  • Jail time
  • Drivers license revocation
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol awareness program

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Traffic violations committed while driving a commercial motor vehicle, such as making improper lane changes, excessive speeding or reckless driving could result in a revoked drivers license. Commercial drivers who accumulate three or more traffic violations in a three year period are subject to a commercial driver s license suspension of at least 120 days.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

What information does a driving record contain?
The information displayed on a DMV driving records include:

  • Tickets
  • Violations
  • Automobile accidents

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of a DUI conviction includes fines and drivers license reinstatement fees. Drivers must also consider the extra costs associated with driving under the influence, such as:

  • Lost time from work due to a jail sentence
  • DUI defense attorney expenses
  • Ignition interlock program fees

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Actual traffic ticket prices vary depending on the county you received the citation in and the type of violation you were cited for. Points assessed for common driving violations are standardized by the West Virginia Department of Transportation. Nevertheless, other costs related to getting a traffic ticket you should consider include attorney fees.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The schedule of fees associated with West Virginia DMV driving records is outlined below:

  • Processing fee: $5
  • Processing fee for request sent without a drivers license number: $6
  • Fee to add certification: $1
  • Online driving record: $9

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
Driving under the influence is an action for which commercial drivers are severely punished. Commercial drivers license holders are prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle with any amount of measurable alcohol in their system. A DUI conviction will result in a drivers license revocation of at least one year.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
West Virginia has a zero tolerance alcohol law that applies to licensed drivers under the age of 21. Any minor caught operating a motor vehicle with a measurable amount of alcohol in their system is subject to a fine and a 30-daydrivers license revocation. Second time violators will serve 24 hours of jail time and have their license suspended for 60 days or until their 18th birthday, depending on which time period is greater.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
To reinstate a revoked drivers license resulting from a DUI conviction, drivers will have to follow the guidelines set by the court, as each case is different. All DUI violators can expect to:

  • Pay fines and drivers license reinstatement fees.
  • Serve jail time.
  • Re-take the driver license exam.

In some cases, those convicted of DUIs may qualify for participation in the Ignition interlock Device program.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
Drivers who have a revoked drivers license due to DUI convictions may be eligible to participate in the West Virginia ignition interlock program. Involvement in the program allows a driver to operate their own motor vehicle that has had an ignition interlock device installed. The driver must pass a breathalyzer in order to start their car. Further information on the WV Alcohol Test and Lock Program may be found via the application form.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Drivers may pay traffic tickets online in select counties in West Virginia. To find out whether you are able to access your violation online, visit the West Virginia Judiciary county selection webpage.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Very recent traffic tickets or violation may not at first appear when you check your driving record due to an administrative lag in the time it takes to update your driving record. If you believe that information on your driving record is not properly up-to-date, you can contact the West Virginia DMV at 304 926-3802.

For more information: Your West Virginia Driving Record

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Yes, West Virginia implements a point system in which each traffic violation received adds points onto the driver s DMV driving record. Out-of-state traffic citations will affect the status of a West Virginia resident s drivers license. If warranted, points or a drivers license suspensions can be assessed for traffic violations committed outside the state.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Drivers who receive a DUI conviction must complete a Safety and Treatment Program. Under this program, participants will undergo a substance abuse evaluation and must also complete the driver education component. Drivers are required to undertake any treatment plan recommended by the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for West Virginia