Oregon Drivers and Motor Vehicle Services Division Point System
Violating Oregon driving and traffic laws can result in the suspension of your driving privileges. The Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (MVD) does not use a point system to track violations. Instead equal weight is given to all offenses and the accumulation of traffic tickets on your driving record for moving violations can mean suspension or revocation of your license.
MOVING VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES
In Oregon, the number of tickets you get in a certain amount of time determines the penalties. For example, if you get three violations in an 18-month period, your license can be restricted for 30 days and you will be permitted to drive only to and from work. If you get another violation in the next six months, your license will be subject to suspension for 30 days.
Every violation you get after the 18-month period will result in another 30-day suspension.
Accumulating offenses on your driving license is also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates
HOW TO DISPUTE A MOVING VIOLATION CHARGE
If you believe you have been incorrectly charged with committing a moving violation, you may be able to fight the charge in court. See Traffic Tickets and Traffic Ticket Attorneys for more information.
- See also Driver’s Education and Suspended Licenses.