Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Car insurance companies can vary in their coverage from state to state. You may have to get car insurance in Oregon if your insurance company is local to your previous state of residence. With national insurance companies, you may be able to easily switch your policy to the state of Oregon. However, not all major companies operate in every state. Contact your car insurance company to find out if you can keep your car insurance when you move to Oregon.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If you are moving to another state, you will want to apply for car insurance in your new state. First, find out if your current insurance company will cover you in the state that you are moving to. Some insurance companies are local to your particular state. Find the best insurance company for you in your new state before canceling your Oregon insurance policy.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
If you choose not to insure your vehicle, you risk getting fined, having your vehicle towed, and the suspension of your driving privileges. The law requires that you keep at least liability car insurance on your vehicle. Liability minimums are:

  • Bodily injury and property damage liability: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others, and $20,000 per crash for damage to others property​
  • Personal injury: $15,000 minimum
  • Uninsured Motorist: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash for bodily injury

In addition, if you are caught without auto insurance, you will be required to keep proof of car insurance on file with the DMV for three years.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
The Oregon DMV sets a minimum amount for which you must report damages in the event of an auto accident. You must file an accident report within 72 hours if:

  • Damage to your vehicle is at least $1,500.
  • Damage to any vehicle involved is over $1,500 and if any vehicle has been towed from the scene.
  • Injury or death resulted from this accident.
  • Damages to any one person’s property is at least $1,500.

You must fill out an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report if any of the above applies to your accident. If you do not report an accident in the required time, your driving privileges may be suspended.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
If you are a part-time resident of Oregon, and live outside the state for half of the year, you are still required to have liability car insurance on any vehicle you have registered in the state. The minimum liability insurance includes bodily injury and property damage, personal injury and uninsured motorist coverage. If you chose not to insure your vehicle for half the year, you risk facing fines and the suspension of your driving privileges. Each time you register your vehicle, you must certify that you meet the above requirements for liability insurance.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The minimum liability coverage for car insurance accepted by the state of Oregon in as follows:

  • Bodily injury and property damage liability: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others, and $20,000 per crash for damage to others property​
  • Personal injury: $15,000 minimum
  • Uninsured Motorist: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash for bodily injury​

Each time you register your vehicle, you must certify that you meet the above requirements for liability insurance.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
You will be required to provide proof of insurance when you take a driving test and during other vehicle related transactions at the Oregon DMV. You may provide proof of car insurance in any one of the following ways:

  • Insurance card
  • Current policy
  • An official letter signed by an authorized insurance agent
  • DMV Certificate of Self-Insurance
  • An Oregon auto dealer license plate

The information provided on either form of these proofs must include information on the vehicle in use, policy number, insurance company name and policy expiration date.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
Oregon drivers are required to have car insurance. The minimum insurance requirements include:

  • Bodily injury and property damage liability
  • Personal injury protection
  • Uninsured motorist

Each time you register your vehicle, you must certify that you meet the above requirements for liability insurance.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
If you fail to keep Oregon car insurance on your vehicle, you may face a variety of consequences. If you are caught without auto insurance, your drivers license could be suspended, or your vehicle towed. You will be responsible for any fees and fines associated with driving without insurance. If you are convicted of driving uninsured, you will have to file a proof of future responsibility for the next three years. This means you must have proof of insurance on file with the DMV. If you are involved in an automobile accident as an uninsured motorist, then you driver’s license will be suspended for one year.

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
The Oregon DMV requires all vehicles registered at the DMV to be insured. You will have to certify that you have minimum insurance for car each time you register your vehicle. Also, you must certify that you will meet the minimum insurance requirements for as long as you own your vehicle. The minimum insurance requirements include:

  • Bodily injury and property damage liability
  • Personal injury protection
  • Uninsured motorist

For more information: Oregon Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save