Frequently Asked Questions

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Most people cannot access their Oregon DMV online driving record. You may fill out an Order Your Own Record form and mail it to the DMV or submit it in person at the DMV headquarters in Salem along with the appropriate fee. Only qualified entities such as insurance companies, government agencies, or attorney offices may create a DMV Record Inquiry Account to access driver records online. To establish a Record Inquiry Account, you must submit the necessary documents to prove you are a legitimate business. Fill out the Record Inquiry Account application and pay a $70 fee. You may mail the materials to:

Oregon DMV

Attn: Records Policy

1905 Lana Ave.NE

Salem, OR 97314

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
If you receive a speeding ticket you may or may not have the option of attending traffic school. To pay traffic ticket fines is an admission of guilt to that particular offense. If you wish to avoid having a traffic violation on your driving record, you may participate in The Traffic Safety School Diversion Program. This program is not offered in all counties in Oregon and not all traffic violations qualify you to participate in the program. You must not have had any moving violations in the previous three years to qualify for the program.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
You may pay traffic tickets online through the Oregon Judicial Department. It may take 10 to 15 days for your citation information to appear online. Also, your case may require that you appear in court for your traffic fines. All fines are due on or before your court appearance unless otherwise noted. Payment plan requests are accepted. The court accepts various forms of payment including cash, checks, money orders, and credit or debit cards. You may pay online, by mail or over the phone, and have your citation number available at the time of making payment.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
The Oregon DMV takes every precaution to protect your privacy and monitor who has access to your personal information. Personal information includes name, address, telephone number, and driver s license number. Under Oregon law, your driving record can be obtained by a parent or legal guardian or notarized power of attorney. Someone else may order a driving record however, it will be sent to your residential address that is on file. Public entities such as insurance companies, law enforcement agencies and attorney s offices may also look up driver record. These entities must provide proof of their identity and certify their use of the information. Your Social Security Number may only be released in the rare instance that a government agency requests it for a specific purpose. Otherwise it is never shared on your driving record. If you believe that someone has illegally accessed your Oregon DMV driving record, you may contact the DMV headquarters at 504-945-5000.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
To get a copy of your Oregon DMV driving record, you must put in a request via the Order Your Own Record form and pay the applicable fees. There are various types of driving records that you can apply for. They include the following:

  • Non-Employment Driving Record
  • Certified Court Print
  • Suspension Package
  • Driver License Information

Your driving record can be mailed to you or you may request to pick it up at the Oregon DMV headquarters in Salem. Fees range from $1.50 to $17.50. The Oregon DMV does not accept credit or debit cards. You may pay with cash, money order or a personal check. a

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
It is possible to get a traffic ticket dismissed off of your Oregon driving record. To get a traffic ticket dismissed, you must plead not-guilty of the offense and then be found not-guilty by the judge at your hearing. Some counties in Oregon offer a traffic school program which may reduce your fine if you participate. Nevertheless, the traffic ticket will still appear on your record. Contact your county judicial court for more information.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
You may obtain a copy of another person s Oregon DMV driving record by request via mail or in person but the record will be sent to the person of inquiry s address on file with the DMV. Under the following circumstances may you order a copy of another person s driving record and receive it at the address you select:

  • If you are the parent or legal guardian
  • If you are the notarized power of attorney

Most record requests must go to the DMV headquarters in Salem as local DMV offices have limited access to personal driving records.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Your driver s license may be suspended if you refuse to submit to a breath or chemical test when arrested for driving under the influence. If you refuse a breath, urine or blood test, your driver s license will be suspended for one year. If you have any other alcohol-related convictions on your record within the previous five years, then the DMV will suspend your driver s license for three years. To reinstate your suspended driver s license, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee, as well as clear any fines associated with your conviction.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
The state of Oregon does not have a driver s license point program. Instead you may receive increasing penalties up to your driver s license being suspended or revoked. The DMV does keep track of your violations. If you accumulate up to 20 traffic convictions in a five-year period, then you may be labeled a habitual offender and have your driver s license revoked. If you fail to pay traffic fines, then your driver s license may be suspended.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
 

The Oregon DMV does not have a points system for driver record. Driver s license suspensions may occur for a number of different reasons. Suspensions can be from three months all the way up to your driver s license being revoked for life. Some of the reasons your Oregon driver s license may be suspended include:

  • Failure to appear/comply for a traffic violation
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Underage alcohol offense
  • DUI
  • Habitual Offender

The length of suspension depends on the violation and/or the number of times the violation occurs.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Oregon Residents may have the opportunity to attend traffic school to prevent having a traffic conviction on their driving record. You may not participate in the Traffic Safety School Diversion Program if you have attended traffic school within the last three years. The other qualifications for participating in the program include:

  • Not being in possession of an commercial driver s license.
  • Not having had any other traffic violations in the last three years.
  • Not driving more than 100 mph over the speed limit.

Please note that not all counties in Oregon participate in the Traffic Safety School Diversion Program. Contact the DMV headquarters at 503-945-5000 for more information.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
You can find out information regarding your citation such as how to pay traffic tickets online. The Oregon Judicial Court handles traffic and parking violations. If you lost your ticket, go online and provide your driver s license information to find out about cost of traffic ticket or parking ticket. Each county is its own jurisdiction. You may also contact your local judicial court by phone or by mail.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
An Oregon law enforcement officer may confiscate your driver s license at the time of a DUI arrest. Your driving privileges may be suspended or revoked and your driver s license will be sent to the DMV. The attendant on duty will issue a 30-day temporary driving permit to use. After 30 days, your driver s license suspension will take effect and the permit will no longer be valid. To get back your driver s license, you must pay a reinstatement fee and any other fines associated with your DUI conviction. DMV-assessed fees may include the cost of obtaining a replacement driver s license. If you fail to appear in court for your DUI citation, your driving privileges will be suspended.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

What are the different types of driving records?
The DMV carries different types of driving records that are available for purchase.

  • Non-Employment Driving Record; includes information such as accidents and convictions from the last three years
  • Certified Court Print; includes information such as convictions for major traffic offenses, commercial driver s license, and alcohol-related entries
  • Driver License Information; includes personal information such as address, driver s license number and date of birth

Driving record fees range from $1.50 to $17.50. The Oregon DMV does not accept credit or debit cards. You may pay with cash, money order, or a personal check. An administrative fee of $1.50 is assessed if no record is found.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
If you are convicted of driving under the influence in Oregon, various penalties may apply for you to regain your driving privileges. Along with fees and fines, penalties may include:

  • Suspension or revocation of driving privileges
  • Requirement of an alcohol breath analyzer to be installed in your vehicle
  • Court ordered substance abuse treatment

The fee for reinstating you driver s license is currently $77.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
If you get a traffic ticket and you have a CDL, then you are at risk for getting penalties on your regular driving record, in addition to those on your commercial driver s license. Your CDL will be suspended for 60 days if you are convicted of two serious traffic violations. Those violations include reckless driving and excessive speeding, among others. Your CDL will be suspended for one year if you are convicted of one major violation such as driving under the influence. Driving restrictions apply to both your CDL and your non-commercial driver s license.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

What information does a driving record contain?
Your DMV driving record contains personal information such as your name, address, telephone number, driver s license number, and Social Security Number. While Social Security Numbers may only be obtained by qualified government agencies, other businesses, such as insurance companies, may gain accesses to you other personal information. Anyone may order sanitized copies of your driving record. A sanitized driving record does not contain any personal information. Driver records contain DMV information such as accidents, convictions and suspensions.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of a DUI in the state of Oregon may vary depending on individual circumstances. Some of the factors that contribute to the cost of a DUI include:

  • Court fines
  • Installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Driver s license reinstatement fee
  • Replacement driver s license
  • Substance abuse treatment programs

You must clear any out-of-state suspensions or revocations before you can reinstate your Oregon driving privileges.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of traffic tickets widely varies depending on the type of violation. Fines for speeding range between $60 and $500 for individual drivers. The cost of your traffic ticket should be displayed on the citation given to you by the law enforcement officer. You may pay traffic tickets online. Allow two business days for your citation information to appear online. For more information on the cost of traffic tickets contact your county judicial court.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The Oregon DMV offers many options on how to check driving record. You may fill out an Order Your Own Record form and either mail it in or deliver it in person to the DMV headquarters. The types of records available include:

  • Non-Employment Driving Record
  • Certified Court Print
  • Suspension Package
  • Driver License Information

Driving record fees range from $1.50 to $17.50. The Oregon DMV does not accept credit or debit cards. You may pay with cash, money order or a personal check. An administrative fee of $1.50 is assessed if no record is found.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
The penalty for a DUI for drivers who hold a commercial driver s license can be more severe than for non-commercial drivers. Driving under the influence is considered a major violation if you hold a CDL. It does not matter if the DUI occurs under the CDL or the regular driver s license. If you are convicted of a DUI as a CDL holder, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. If you are convicted of a DUI two times or more, then your suspension will be for life. You are eligible to apply for reinstatement 10 years later.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
If you are under the age of 18, hold a provisional driver license and are caught driving while intoxicated, you face different penalties than adults. Your driving privileges will be suspended until the age of 18 if you are convicted of a DUI. Violating the restrictions of your provisional license is also considered a Class B traffic violation. If you get two traffic violations then your driving privileges will be restricted for three months. Under restriction, you may only drive to school or work and you are not allowed to carry passengers, with the exception of a parent or legal guardian. If you get another traffic violation after that, then your driving privileges will be suspended for six months.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
To reinstate your Oregon driver s license as the result of a DUI, you must pay a reinstatement fee to the DMV, as well as any fines associated with your court case. Also, any out-of-state revocations or suspensions must be cleared in order to reinstate your driver s license. You will need to provide the Oregon DMV with proof that your court case has been cleared. Your suspension notice will inform you how long you must wait in order to be eligible for reinstatement. The current driver s license reinstatement fee is $77.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a computerized breath reader. It is attached to a vehicle s ignition. The vehicle equipped with this device will not start if the alcohol level of the breath is above the preset limit of the device. You are required to install an IID if you are convicted of a DUI in the state of Oregon. The Oregon DMV offers a list of approved IID devices. The driver is responsible for the cost of installing and maintaining the device. Financial assistance may be available if you cannot afford the costs associated with the IID.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Oregon drivers can access their traffic ticket fines online. Your county has a page on the Oregon Judicial Department webpage where drivers can find out the costs of traffic tickets and other information regarding citations. Most traffic violations are payable through the online system. A $1.50 processing fee is assessed for each online transaction. You must provide your citation number in order to pay traffic tickets online. You may also find out information about your case by visiting your local county court.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
The Oregon DMV offers many types of driving records available for purchase. Not all records contain the same information. If you received a traffic ticket within the last three years and it does not appear on your driving record, you may contact the Oregon DMV for more information pertaining to your situation. You may obtain a copy of your driving record by filling out an Order Your Own Record form, including a money order, and mailing it to:

DMV Headquarters

1905 Lana Ave NE

Salem, OR 97314

Driving record fees range from $1.50 to $17.50. The Oregon DMV does not accept credit or debit cards. You may pay with cash, money order or a personal check. An administrative fee of $1.50 is assessed if no record is found.

For more information: Your Oregon Driving Record

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
The Oregon DMV does not participate in a points system. Your driver s license may be revoked if you are labeled a habitual offender. You can become a habitual offender if you commit 20 or more traffic violations within a five-year period. In addition to increasing penalties from the DMV, your insurance payments may also increase the more traffic fines you incur.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Oregon law does not require you to take an alcohol awareness course to reinstate your driver s license. If you are a minor under the age of 18 and hold a provisional license, then you will be subject to more restricted driving. Restrictions include only being able to drive to and from work and school, and not being allowed any passengers other than a parent or legal guardian. As an adult 18 and older, drivers are subject to participate in a substance abuse treatment program if their driver s license is suspended for a DUI ticket. If 15 or more years has passed since your DUI conviction, then you are not required to participate in a treatment program for your driver s license to be reinstated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oregon