Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
You are not required to take a motorcycle training course in the state of Oklahoma to get a motorcycle license. However, motorcycle license applicants may have the knowledge and skills tests waived if they can show proof that they have passed a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Rider Course. Applicants under the age of 18 must wear a helmet to take the motorcycle skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Under Oklahoma state law, motorcycle riders and passengers less than 18 years of age must wear a helmet. All motorcycle driving license holders are encouraged to wear head protective gear when riding a motorcycle. The use of motorcycle helmets has been proven to greatly reduce the risk of motorcycle accident related head injuries and fatalities. Motorcycles operating in the state of Oklahoma must have a windshield or the driver must be wearing protective googles.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, you cannot renew your commercial driver s license online in the state of Oklahoma. You must apply for a commercial drivers license renewal in person at a Driver License Examiner office with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. You can renew your CDL up to one year before the expiration date. You may opt to receive a renewal notice from the OK DPS. To register online, visit the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety website.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, you may not. If you are a resident of the state of Oklahoma, then you must take the written knowledge test in person. This can be done at any local Driver License Exam station, which is not difficult to find. When you go to take the test in person, be sure that you bring all of the necessary documents, including identification and payment so that you can complete the process without issue. Once you have passed the written test, you will obtain your Oklahoma learners permit and be one step closer to getting a drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Commercial drivers license holders may be limited to travel within their state of license or may travel across state lines, depending on the type of CDL license they have. If you have an intrastate CDL, then you may only use it to engage in commercial driving within the state of Oklahoma.

With an interstate CDL, you are free to engage in commercial driving that takes you across state and country boarders.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Oklahoma driver license holders do not require a motorcycle license to operate a moped. Though, motorcycle license permit holders are restricted to using a moped or a motorcycle that has a piston displacement of no more than 250 cubic centimeters. If you have a motorcycle permit, then you are required to wear a helmet and you may not carry any passengers if less than 18 years old.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Depending on your age, you may need to enroll in a drivers ed class. If you are between the ages of 15 and 16, then you are required by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety to take the driving course. If you are 16 or older, then it is not a requirement to obtain a learners permit in Oklahoma. One other important thing to keep in mind is that drivers less than 15 and six months cannot get a permit for driving. They can only practice until they are at least 15 years and six months old.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety offers a veteran logo option for U.S. military veterans and current members of the military who request it. To get a veteran designation on your Oklahoma ID card you must present one of the following documents:

  • Uniformed Services Identity card
  • Forms (DD)214, (DD)215, WD AGO, or Nav Pers
  • U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs photo ID card
  • Oklahoma Army or Air National Guard NGB form 22

Discharge forms must show an ‘honorable or ‘general under honorable conditions status. There is no extra fee associated with a veteran designation logo but you must pay the fee for an original or ID card replacement.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
To apply for an Oklahoma commercial drivers license, you must appear in person at an Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Driver Testing Facility. You must bring proof of ID, proof of liability car insurance, and your Social Security Number. Examples of acceptable forms of ID include:

  • Primary ID examples: Certified birth certificate, U.S. Passport or Citizenship naturalization documents
  • Secondary ID examples: Out-of-state driver s license, Oklahoma school or employer ID card or Social Security card

Two different forms of identification from the primary category may also be used. You will have to take the CDL knowledge test(s), skills test, and driving test to apply for a CDL.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In order to obtain a driving permit in Oklahoma, you need to follow the steps below:

  1. Visit a Driver License Exam station with the following items:
    • A primary ID, such as a birth certificate
    • A secondary ID, such as a Social Security card
    • Social Security Number
    • Parental consent, if you are under 18
    • Proof of drivers ed class enrollment, if under 16
    • Documents that show you meet the qualifications of enrollment in a secondary or technical school
  2. Take a vision test.
  3. Pass a written knowledge exam.
  4. Pay the necessary drivers permit application fees.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
In Oklahoma, you may apply for either a motorcycle endorsement on your driver s license, a separate motorcycle license, or a motorcycle permit. To apply for a motorcycle license, you will need to appear in person at an Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Driver Testing Facility with two forms of ID, proof of liability car insurance coverage, and Social Security Number. To get motorcycle licenses, drivers must pass a vision, written and motorcycle skills test. You only need to pass the Motorcycle Endorsement Test to get a motorcycle endorsement on your Class A, B, C, or D driver s license. Motorcycle permit applicants must bring a motorcycle license- or endorsement-holder who is 21 or older with them when applying for a motorcycle license permit.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
To obtain a duplicate ID card, you may visit an Oklahoma DPS driver license site. You must provide both a primary and a secondary form of identification to get a duplicate ID card. Examples of acceptable forms of identification include:

  • Primary ID examples: Certified birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Citizenship naturalization documents, etc.
  • Secondary ID examples: Out-of-state driver s license, Oklahoma school or employer ID card, Social Security Card, etc.

The fee for an ID card replacement is $10. Fees subject to change.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

How do I renew my driving permit?
The renewal process is not very complex in the state of Oklahoma. All drivers are required to renew in person any expired credentials at a local tag agency. If they are out of state when their documentation expires, then they go through the renewal process by mail. On the other hand, military members who are stationed outside of Oklahoma are only required to renew learners permit or drivers license credentials until 60 days after they return. In any case, these members of the military can still use the option of renewing by mail.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

How do I renew my ID card?
To renew ID cards, you can apply at your local motor license agency office. You need to bring your current ID card as well as a secondary form of identification. Examples of secondary forms of identification include the following:

  • Oklahoma school or employer issued ID card
  • Social Security card
  • Health insurance card

You will also need to bring a copy of your marriage certificate if you are changing your name on your ID card due to marriage.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
In the state of Oklahoma, only non-excepted interstate drivers (NI) must submit a medical certificate for their commercial drivers license record with the OK DPS. Though, all Class A, B, and C drivers must submit a Medical Self-Certification Affidavit to report their medical status. You may mail, fax, or email the affidavit and your medical certificate, if applicable, to:

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety

CDL Administration

PO Box 11415

Oklahoma City, OK 73136-0415

Email: mec@dps.state.ok.us

Fax: 405-419-2196

A medical exam for a CDL license medical report must be performed by a licensed medical examiner listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) National Registry.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
An Oklahoma driver’s license is valid up to four years. It expires four years from the date that it was issued. You may renew up to one year prior to the expiration date. To renew motorcycle licenses, drivers must appear in person at an Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Tag Agency. If your license has been expired more than 30 days, then you will have to bring a certified birth certificate with you as proof of identification to renew your motorcycle license. Non-US citizens must show all immigration documents at the time of renewal.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
A member of the military may obtain a motorcycle license in the state of Oklahoma in the same manner in which a civilian may obtain one. To apply for a motorcycle endorsement on your Oklahoma drivers license, you need only pass the Motorcycle Endorsement test. Military members may check with the Oklahoma Department of public safety to see if they offer a test waiver for military members who have completed a motorcycle training course as a part of their military training.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The amount of time that you must hold an Oklahoma learners permit varies based on the age of the driver in question. If you are 18 years or older, for instance, then you only need to hold a driving permit for a period of 30 days. However, if you are under the age of 18, then you must hold the permit for a longer period of time. In the state of Oklahoma, the Department of Public Safety requires that drivers under the age of 18 hold a learning permit for at least six months. After this period is over, they can apply for a drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
The length of time it takes to get ID card depends on if the card is to be mailed or if you receive it on site at the Oklahoma DMV office. If you receive it on the spot then you will have no wait time. If it is sent to you by mail, then you should allow at least five to 10 business days for it to arrive. To find out how long it will take to get your ID card in the state of Oklahoma, contact the Department of Public Safety at 405-425-2424.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
Your Oklahoma CDL license is good for four years from the month in which you received your license. Your CDL license expires on the last day of that month after four years. You may renew your CDL license up to one year before it expires. You must renew commercial drivers license in person with a Driver License Examiner at a Oklahoma Department of Public Safety office location.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
If you are an Oklahoma resident but temporarily out of state for any reason, you may apply to get a duplicate ID card via mail. To apply:

Mail your completed application to the Oklahoma Department of Public safety along with the $10 fee to get ID card replacement. Fees are subject to change.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes, there is a minimum age requirement to get a commercial drivers license in the state of Oklahoma. You must be a least 18 years old to apply for a CDL license. Applicants 18-20 years old are limited to commercial driving that occurs within the state of Oklahoma. Commercial drivers license applicants 21 and older qualify for an interstate CDL, which allows commercial vehicle drivers to cross state lines.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
The state of Oklahoma has several age restrictions on motorcycle riders. The following is the minimum age in which you may apply for a motorcycle license:

  • Motorcycle endorsement 16 years of age and older
  • Motorcycle License and motorcycle permit 14 years of age and older

You must hold a motorcycle permit for at least 30 days before you can apply for a motorcycle license. Motorcycle permit holders under the age of 16 are restricted to traveling no more than 35 mph or the minimum posted speed limit. All motorcycle riders under the age of 18 are required to wear a helmet in Oklahoma.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
There are five different CDL endorsements available for an Oklahoma CDL license with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. The available commercial driver s license endorsements are:

  • Doubles or Triples- (T endorsement)
  • Hazardous Material- (H endorsement)
  • Passenger Bus- (P endorsement)
  • School Bus- (S endorsement)
  • Tank Vehicle- (N endorsement)

You must pass the applicable knowledge test of each endorsement for which you are applying.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
An ID card is an identification card that does not have driving privileges. You may get an ID card at an OK DPS Driver Exam station. The fees associated with getting an Oklahoma ID card are as follows:

  • Original ID card- $20
  • ID card renewal- $21.50
  • Replacement ID card- $10

Fees are subject to change.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
As with any other part of the country, Oklahoma has a number of restrictions for learners permit drivers within their state. First of all, there are the requirements that they must meet before moving on to the next credential. Each driver must log 50 hours with their driving permit, including 10 hours of nighttime vehicle operation. Beyond that, each permit-holding driver is required to have a supervisor in their passenger seat at all times, who is at least 21 years old. Additionally, the supervisor must have a minimum of two years holding a valid OK driving license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
To get an Oklahoma CDL license, you must meet federal medical certifications. Some of the medical conditions that may prevent you from obtaining a CDL license are below:

  • Vision worse than 20/40
  • Hearing impairment
  • Epilepsy
  • Diabetes requiring insulin
  • Heart condition
  • Seizure disorder requiring medication
  • Limb loss or impairment

You must be medically certified by a licensed health care provider in the United States to apply for a commercial drivers license.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you get a traffic ticket with a learner s permit, you will be subject to a penalty towards your driving privileges. Lerner Permit holders who are convicted of a traffic offense will not be allowed to graduate to the next license type for at least six months following their conviction. They will be forced to remain at the learner permit level until the allotted time has passed.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
Some states may have a three-wheel motorcycle endorsement. If so, then you will be responsible for passing a written test on how to safely operate a three-wheel motorcycle. The Motorcycle Operator Manual contains information needed to pass such a test. You should study it as well as the information on regular two-wheel motorcycles if you wish to become licensed to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle. Contact the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety at 402-435-2424 for more information the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
If you are applying for a learners permit in Oklahoma, there are a few documents that you need to bring. These range from proofs of school enrollment to proper identification documents. The list of OK Department of Public Safety requirements is as follows:

  • If you are under 18:
    • Proof of parental consent
    • Proof of drivers ed class enrollment
    • Documentation that verifies the driver meets secondary or technical school enrollment or attendance qualifications
  • For all drivers:
    • A primary form of ID, such as a birth certificate
    • A secondary form of ID, such as a Social Security card
    • Social Security Number

These documents must be presented at a nearby Driver License Exam station.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
To get a motorcycle license, you will need to apply in person at an Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Driver Testing Facility. To apply, provide proof of liability motorcycle insurance, your Social Security Number, and one form of identification from each of the following categories:

  • Primary ID examples: Certified birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Citizenship naturalization documents, etc.
  • Secondary ID examples: Out-of-state driver s license, Oklahoma school or employer ID card, Social Security Card, etc.

You may also instead bring two forms of ID for the primary category. All documents must be originals, no photocopies or notarized documents will be accepted.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
If you are applying for just a motorcycle endorsement, then you will need to take the Motorcycle Endorsement Test. To apply for a motorcycle license or a motorcycle permit, you must pass the following tests

  • Vision test
  • Knowledge test
  • Motorcycle skills test

There is an opportunity to have the knowledge and skills tests waived. You must show proof of completion of a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Rider Course.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
If you are convicted of a DUI offense, you risk a commercial drivers license suspension. It is against the law to operate a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .04 percent or higher. You shall lose your CDL license for at least one year for a DUI or for refusing to submit to a chemical test when pulled over by a law enforcement official for a suspected DUI. At your second offense of driving under the influence, you will lose your CDL permanently. Also, you will lose your CDL for life if you are convicted of any felonies involving controlled substances.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What is an ID card?
A DMV ID card such as a state ID card is a non-driver identification card. It does not come with any driving privileges and anyone at any age may apply for one. You must be an Oklahoma resident to obtain a state ID card though. You may only apply for an ID card at a Driver License Exam station. To get ID cards, residents must show proof of legal name, date of birth, legal presence in the United States.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

What is the passing score for a written test?
If you want to obtain a driving permit in Oklahoma, you need to complete the steps required by the OK DPS. One of the most important steps is passing the written knowledge test, which takes its questions on road regulations and traffic signs from the Oklahoma Driver s Manual. In order to get a passing grade on this test, one must answer at least 80 percent of the questions correctly. Otherwise, you will not pass the test and you will not be able to receive an Oklahoma learning permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
In the state of Oklahoma, young drivers need to pass two different exams before they can obtain a permit for driving in the state. These exams include a vision test and a written knowledge exam. The written knowledge requires drivers to study the Oklahoma Driver s Manual. This exam takes its questions from the information featured in this handbook, so that you can test your knowledge of the road regulations and traffic signs.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
To get an Oklahoma CDL license you will have to take several tests, including a general knowledge test and the CDL skills test. In addition, there is a written test for each endorsement that the OK DPS offers. The available endorsement tests are:

  • Airbrakes test
  • Combination vehicles test
  • Doubles/Triples test
  • Hazardous Materials test
  • Passenger Transport test
  • School bus test
  • Tanker test

To schedule a CDL skills test, make an appointment online.

For more information: Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

When does my ID card expire?
An Oklahoma ID card expires four years from the date that it was issued. You may renew ID cards up to one year before the expiration date. To renew, you may visit a Driver Exam station and present a secondary form of identification such as a school or employer photo ID to obtain a renewed ID card. If you fail to renew expired ID cards one year following the expiration date, then you will be required to furnish both a primary and a secondary form of identification to renew your id card.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

Where can I obtain an ID card?
To obtain an Oklahoma ID card, you must visit an Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Driver Exam site. Thirty-five Driver Exam sites are located throughout the state of Oklahoma. Site hours vary by location, and some locations have limited hours, such as the Vinita DL Exam site, which is only open on Mondays. All locations are closed on state holidays.

For more information: How to Apply for an Oklahoma Identification Card

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
If you are under the age of 18, there is one extra step you must take in order to obtain a driving permit. You must have your parent sign the Oklahoma drivers permit application. The signature of a legal guardian will also suffice as it relates to consent. In any case, young drivers that cannot show the consent of such an adult will not be able to obtain their desired permit.

As for where you can apply for the credential, this process must be completed at a nearby Driver License Exam station.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Oklahoma