Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, you cannot keep the same car insurance policy from your previous state of residences in the state of Oklahoma. Your insurance policy must be issued from an Oklahoma insurance agent who is licensed to carry out business in this state. You must apply for car insurance in the state of Oklahoma. Your rate will likely change since each state has different insurance rates. Contact your insurance agent for more information.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If you are moving to another state, then you should contact your car insurance company to let them know which state you are moving to. You may not need to cancel your policy if your company provides coverage in your new state. Each state has a different insurance rate, so the price of your policy will likely change. Also, some states require more than the minimum coverage as is allowed in Oklahoma. More than likely, you will have to get car insurance in your new state.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
If you choose not to inure your vehicle in the state of Oklahoma, you risk facing serious penalties, including jail time, if you are caught. You must show proof of car insurance when registering your vehicle in the state and when pulled over by a law enforcement officer. It is at your own risk that you choose to not inure your vehicle. The penalties for driving without liability car insurance are fines, jail time, and having your driver s license suspended.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you have been in an accident, you will have to report property damage if it exceeds a certain amount. In the case of an uninsured driver, the OK DPS will suspend the license of an individual involved in an automobile accident with property damages in excess of $300. Make sure that you are covered even if you are driving someone else s vehicle. You will be held personally responsible for driving without car insurance in that case, also.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
If your car is registered in the state of Oklahoma even if you live outside of the state half the year, you must have OK car insurance.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Drivers in the state of Oklahoma must have a least liability car insurance on his or her vehicle. The minimum liability insurance coverage allowed is 20/50/25:

  • $25,000 bodily injury or death of one person
  • $50,000 bodily injury or death of two or more people
  • $25,000 property damage

You must show your insurance security information form in order to register your car in the state of Oklahoma.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
To register your vehicle with the Oklahoma Tax Commission, you will need to get car insurance. The minimum allowable coverage is liability insurance. Proof of insurance in the form of an insurance security verification form is the most common type of proof provided. The form must include information such as your name, address, and the company code of your insurance carrier. To find out more about what your verification form must contain, visit the Oklahoma Tax Commission Liability Insurance Verification webpage.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
The minimum car insurance required in the state of Oklahoma is liability coverage. The minimum liability coverage you must have is 20/50/25. This ratio includes coverage of the following:

  • Bodily injury
  • Property damage
  • Uninsured motorist

You must be able to show proof of car insurance when pulled over by a law enforcement officer.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
If you fail to keep car insurance in the state of Oklahoma, you face stiff penalties if you are caught. The following are the penalties handed down for not complying with the Compulsory Insurance Law:

  • Fine of $250
  • 30 days in jail
  • Suspension of your driver s license and car registration

You may be served either a fine, jail time, or both in addition to having your license and registration suspended.

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All registered vehicles operating on public roadways in the state of Oklahoma must be insured. The minimum coverage for cars allowed is liability coverage. Examples of vehicles that must be insured include:

  • Passenger vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Mopeds/Scooters
  • RVs

For more information: Oklahoma Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save