Frequently Asked Questions

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
You may request a copy of your online driving record on the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety website. The driving record is from the last three years. A certified copy of your driving record will cost an additional fee. A PDF of your record will be available to download once your online request is complete. A live link of your request will also be provided that will expire 30 days following your application.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Attending traffic school is not a mandated if you receive a traffic ticket in the state of Oklahoma. You may however take a defensive driving course to reduce points on your driving record. You will receive a two-point deduction if you successfully complete an approved driver improvement course. You may only take a defensive driving course for point reduction once every 24 months.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
In the state of Oklahoma, traffic tickets are processed through the municipality in which they occurred. For example, if you receive a traffic citation in Oklahoma City, then you will need to pay for that traffic ticket through the county clerk s office of Oklahoma. The exceptions are in the cases of:

  • Highway patrol.
  • County sheriff.
  • University police.

These jurisdictions process their ticket through the state court. Contact your local county clerk s office for more information on how to pay traffic ticket.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
You are protected from anyone illegally accessing your DMV driving record through the Driver s Privacy Protection Act. Under this act, you can file a civil complaint against the suspected party through the U.S. Supreme Court since it is a federal law. The state of Oklahoma only allows certain verifiable entities such as official representative of an insurance company, investigative agency, or employer of a CDL license holder, to access your driving record. First, contact the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety at 405-425-2262 to inquire about who may have accessed your driving record.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
To get a copy of your Oklahoma driving record, you must request one through the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. You may request a copy of your driving record either in person from the Records Management Division, online, or by mail. The Records Request & Consent to Release form should be completed and signed by the owner of the record. Mail request and fees to:

Department of Public Safety

Records Management Division

P.O. Box 11415

Oklahoma City, OK 73136-0415

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
To get a traffic ticket dismissed in the state of Oklahoma, you must plead not guilty and request a court hearing. At this point in time, you will have the opportunity to prove your case to a judge. If you can show evidence proving that you are not guilty of the violation in question then your case may be dismissed. No points will be assessed to your driving record and you will not have to pay any fees. Although you will be responsible for any DUI attorney or traffic attorney fees you have.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
To get a copy of someone else s driving record, you will have to get his or her written consent. You must fill out a Records Request & Consent to Release form and include information such as the driver s name, driver license number and date of birth. The driver must also sign the form giving you consent to request his or her driving record. You may check driving records either in person or by mail. You must be an official representative of an insurance company, investigative agency, or employer of a CDL license holder to request someone else s driving record through the online system.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Your Oklahoma drivers license can be revoked if you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test or if you fail any such test. To reinstate revoked drivers licenses, you will have to pay a number of fees including:

  • Reinstatement fee
  • Processing fee
  • Trauma and mental health care fees
  • Ignition Interlock Device fee, if applicable

A Notice of Confirmation and Reinstatement will be mailed to you by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety in reference to your case. It contains information about your specific reinstatement conditions.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
You can take a defensive driving course to reduce points on your driving record. You will receive a two-point deduction if you successfully complete an approved driver improvement course. You may only take a defensive driving course for point reduction once every 24 months. Points are also reduced by two if you go 12 months without a traffic violation or conviction. Your points will be reduced to zero for safe driving three years straight.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The state of Oklahoma participates in a Mandatory Point System. If you get 10 or more points on your driving record within a five-year time period, then your driver license will be suspended. Two points are automatically scrubbed from driving record every 12 months you go without a conviction. Your points will be reduced to zero once you reach three years without a conviction.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
In the state of Oklahoma, you may attend traffic school to remove points from your driving record. You will receive a two point deduction if you successfully complete an approved driver improvement course. You may only take a defensive driving course for point reduction once every 24 months. You may wish to check driving record to see how many points are currently on your record.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
In the state of Oklahoma, traffic fines are processed through the municipality in which they occurred. If you have lost your traffic ticket, you may have to locate the contact information for the municipality in which you were given the traffic citation. Oklahoma City has an online system where you can access your citation information via your car s license plate number.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Oklahoma driving licenses are property of the state and not of the individual. Your driver license is automatically revoked if you are suspected of driving under the influence. If you are convicted of DUI, then you must apply to reinstate revoked drivers license credentials after the set suspension period is over. One aspect of reinstatement is taking an alcohol or drug treatment program.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

What are the different types of driving records?
The different types of driving records available from the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety are:

  • Motor Vehicle Report (Driving record).
  • Collision Report.

You may request either regular or certified copies of each driving record. Also, you can request each driving record by the page.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Penalties for being convicted of driving under the influence can include:

  • Imprisonment
  • Drivers license suspension or revocation
  • Cost of fines and fees

Suspension lengths and fines increase with each subsequent DUI conviction.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Commercial driver s license holders risk getting a cdl drivers license suspension on their cdl license if they get too many traffic ticket fines. You may lose your CDL license if you commit two serious traffic violations in a three-year time frame. Serious traffic violations include:

  • Excessive speeding of 15mph or more
  • Improper lane change
  • Following a vehicle too closely

If you commit three or more serious violations in three years then you will lose your Oklahoma CDL license for 120 days.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

What information does a driving record contain?
Your DMV driving record contains information related to your operation of a motor vehicle in the state of Oklahoma. You driving record will contain information on:

  • Traffic convictions.
  • Driver license suspensions and revocations.

Your driving record will not contain information on car collisions. You must request a collision report for that information.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of an Oklahoma DUI adds up. There are a number of fees and fines to pay if you are convicted of DUI. Such fees include:

  • Reinstatement fee- $25
  • Processing fee- $75
  • Trauma care fee- $200
  • Mental health fee- $15
  • Ignition Interlock Device fee, if applicable- $50

These fees are in addition to your court costs and/or attorney fees. Fees are subject to change.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of traffic tickets is dependent on many factors. Traffic ticket fines may vary by:

  • Type of violation.
  • Suspended drivers license reinstatement fees.
  • Court costs.

In the state of Oklahoma, each jurisdiction or municipality sets the fees of traffic violations. The cost of your traffic ticket will vary depending on the county/city in which the violation occurred.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The cost to obtain your driving record will vary somewhat depending on which method you choose to submit your request. Driver records are available for request via mail, online, or in person. The fees are as follows:

  • Regular Driver Record fee- $25
  • Certified driver record fee-$28
  • Online transaction fee- $2.50

Drivers 65 and older are eligible to obtain a copy of his or her driving record at no cost. Fees are subject to change.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
As a CDL license holder, if you are convicted of a DUI offence, you risk a commercial drivers license suspension. It is against the law to operate a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .04 percent or higher. You shall lose your CDL license for at least one year for a DUI or for refusing to submit to a chemical test when pulled over by a law enforcement official for a suspected DUI. At your second offense of driving under the influence, you will lose your CDL permanently. Also, you will lose your CDL for life if you are convicted of any felonies involving controlled substances.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
If you are under the age of 21, you are considered a minor when it comes to drinking and driving. Oklahoma has a zero tolerance policy for minors found to be driving under the influence. You will receive a suspended drivers license for a period of six months for initial DUI convictions. In addition, the minor will be assessed penalties such as:

  • Fines
  • Community service
  • Participating in a substance abuse treatment program

Any alcohol or drug-related offense committed by individuals 18 or younger will be reported to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety whether or not it is driving related.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
If you are convicted of an Oklahoma DUI, your drivers license will be revoked. To reinstate revoked drivers license, you will have to do the following:

  • Have an alcohol and drug assessment
  • Attend an alcohol/drug safety course
  • Complete requirements as stated by the assessment counselor

Additionally, you will have to serve out your revocation period and pay any assessed fees to reinstate suspended drivers license. Also, an Ignition Interlock Device may have to be installed if ordered to do so by a judge.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device is a device that is sometimes mandated for a driver to have installed in their vehicle if they are convicted of driving while intoxicated. As a condition of reinstating suspended drivers licenses, you will be responsible for the cost of an ignition interlock device. You can find out more information about these devices on the state of Oklahoma s Ignition Interlock Device webpage.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Not all jurisdictions in the state of Oklahoma allow you to access your traffic ticket information online. In Oklahoma City, you may pay traffic tickets online if the citation given was the color pink. You may search for your citation information online using either your ticket number or your license plate number. For more information on your traffic ticket, find the contact information on your citation.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
If a recent traffic ticket does not seems to show up on your driving record, wait at least two weeks. Tickets are not assessed immediately to a driving record. If a considerable length of time passes and the citation still does not show on your driving record, then contact the Department of Public Safety Records Management Division directly at 405-425-2262. Email is also an option at: recdmgmt@dps.state.ok.us.

An in-person visit is possibility as well:

Records Management Division,

Department of Public Safety

3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue, Room 206

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73111

Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

For more information: Your Oklahoma Driving Record

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
You can receive points on your drivers license for certain violations. The following are common violations in which you may receive points on your driving record:

  • Speeding
  • Failure to stop for a school bus
  • Failure to obey stop sign or traffic light

Many other violations can result in having points to your driving record. Points are assessed even if the violation occurred outside the state of Oklahoma.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
If you are convicted of DUI, you may have to take an alcohol awareness course to reinstate suspended drivers license. In the state of Oklahoma, drivers that refuse a chemical test or are found to be above the legal blood alcohol limit can be convicted of driving under the influence. In addition to paying the fees and fines associated with reinstating your drivers license, you will also have to submit to an alcohol and drug assessment with the Oklahoma Department of Health. If an assessment counselor finds that you require treatment, then it will be handed down as a requirement to get your driving privileges back.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Oklahoma