Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
No. This action is not required by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. The DPS only recommends that victimized drivers take this action in order to prevent identity fraud, which is always a possibility when it comes to stolen drivers licenses. As for how you can go about filing a report if you are interested, the process is easy. Drive to your nearest police station and speak to an officer of the law about your issue. This officer will file a police report which monitors your driving credentials and any criminal activity that they can be used for.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
If you would like to get a drivers license in Oklahoma, there are a number of steps you need to take. One of these steps is to pass a written exam. In order to pass the written knowledge test, you must study the Oklahoma driving manual. Luckily, it is very easy to obtain access to this booklet. Drivers can even read it online. If you are beginning to prepare for the written test that is administered by the Department of Public Safety, you can find the Oklahoma Driver s Manual here.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

How can I renew my drivers license?
If you are a standard driver in the state of Oklahoma, the Department of Public Safety only gives you one way to renew drivers license documents. You must go in person to a Motor License Tag Agency. These locations can be found throughout the state, and their representatives will help you get through the process quickly. Just make sure that you bring all of the following necessities:

  • Primary form of ID, such as:
    • Certified birth certificate
  • Secondary form of ID, such as:
    • Social Security card
  • Proof of US citizenship or legal presence (for expired drivers licenses), such as:
    • US passport
    • Foreign passport with I-94 card/number
  • Payment for the $33.50 fee

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To apply for a driving license in Oklahoma, follow the list of steps below:

  1. Visit a nearby Driver License Exam station.
  2. Take a written test to obtain the Oklahoma learners permit.
  3. Hold the permit for a minimum of 30 days (if you are 18 or over) or six months (if you are under 18)
  4. Pass a vision test.
  5. Pass the road skills exam.
  6. Provide the necessary information and documents:
    • One primary ID, such as a certified birth certificate
    • One secondary ID, such as a Social Security card
    • Social Security Number
    • Legal name change documents, if applicable
    • Proof of Oklahoma car insurance

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

How do I get a hardship license?
In the state of Oklahoma, some suspensions and revocations are eligible to apply for a hardship license called a Modified Driver License. Under a hardship license, a person under a suspended driving license may operate a motor vehicle under pre-approved guidelines. Usually a hardship license allows the driver to travel to and from work, school, and/or medical appointments. To get a hardship license, you will need to meet with a Driver Compliance Hearing officer.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are stationed out of state and need an Oklahoma drivers license replacement, you must follow the same steps as an out-of-state civilian. You must apply by mail. Luckily, the process to do so only requires you to follow a few simple steps:

  1. Create a message that includes the following:
    • Your name
    • OK drivers license number
    • Your date of birth
    • Oklahoma address
    • Out-of-state/country address (where the credentials will be sent)
    • Copies of two IDs (primary and secondary), such as:
      • Birth certificate
      • Social Security card
  1. Mail this correspondence and a $20 check or money order (made payable to “Department of Public Safety”) to:

Department of Public Safety Driver License Examining, Renewal By Mail PO Box 11415 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73136

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
If you are a civilian in the state of Oklahoma, there is only one way for you to replace drivers license documents. You must apply in person at a local Motor License Tag Agency. When visiting this office, you must provide all of the necessary documentation and payment in order for a duplicate drivers license to be issued. The requirements are as follows:

  • One form of primary ID, such as:
    • Certified birth certificate
    • US passport
  • One form of secondary ID, such as:
    • Social Security card
    • Additional primary document
  • Payment for the $20 fee

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
The state of Oklahoma does not have a Habitual Traffic Offender law. However, there is a point system that keeps track of your traffic violations. Once you accumulate 10 points within a five-year period, you will receive a suspended driving license. If you do not accumulate any points over a 12-month period, two points will be deducted from you driving record. You may also receive a two point reduction for completing a Defensive Driving or Driver Compliance course.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
How to reinstate suspended drivers licenses greatly depends on the type of violation your driver license was suspended for. In general, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee and comply with any restrictions handed down by a court of law. For example, if you were convicted of a DUI, you may have to install an Ignition Interlock Device to your vehicle as a condition of reinstatement. Your reinstatement requirements will be sent to you by mail in a document called a Notice of Confirmation and Reinstatement Requirements.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are in the military and are stationed outside of Oklahoma, there is only one way for you to renew drivers license credentials. You must renew by mail. To do so, simply follow these steps:

  1. Write a message with all of the following personal information:
    • Your full name
    • Your birth date
    • Your drivers license number
    • Your address in Oklahoma
    • Your out-of-state/country address (where the credentials will be sent)
    • Copies of two forms of ID, such as:
      • Birth certificate
      • Social Security card
  1. Provide a self-addressed stamped envelope
  2. Write a check or money order payable to the “Department of Public Safety” for the $33.50 renewal fee
  3. Mail all of the above to the following address: Department of Public Safety Driver License Examining, Renewal By Mail PO Box 11415 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73136

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are not a citizen of the United States, you must take certain steps to obtain a duplicate drivers license in Oklahoma. Visit a Driver License Exam station and an examiner will process your request for a new license with a specific form that you must then take to the Motor License Tag Agency. In addition to this form, be sure to bring the following with you when applying for an official drivers license copy:

  • One primary ID, such as:
    • US passport
    • Certified birth certificate
  • One secondary ID, such as a(n):
    • Additional primary document
    • Social Security card
  • $20 payment

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you are out of state and need to replace drivers license credentials, there is only one way you can do so. You must apply for a duplicate drivers license by mail. Licenses are too important to be without for an extended period of time. Fortunately, the process of submitting your request by mail is simple, requiring only a few steps:

  1. Compose a message with the following:
    • Full name
    • Birth date
    • OK drivers license number
    • Oklahoma address
    • Out-of-state/country address (where the credentials will be sent)
    • Copies of two forms of ID, such as:
      • Birth certificate
      • Social Security card
  1. Send the message and $20 check or money order (payable to “Department of Public Safety”) to the following address: Department of Public Safety Driver License Examining, Renewal By Mail PO Box 11415 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73136

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

How does the DMV check my vision?
Before you pass your road skills exam, the Department of Public Safety requires all drivers to pass a vision test. This screening is done to make sure that your eyesight is sufficient for safe driving. Those drivers who are determined to be unfit for motor vehicle operation will not be given the opportunity to take the road skills exam. They will need to obtain corrective lenses if they do not own them already. Only after one s eyesight is considered suitable will they be allowed to apply for a driving license in Oklahoma.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
You will be served an Officer s Affidavit and Notice of Revocation if you refuse or fail a chemical test in the state of Oklahoma. The length of time you must serve on a suspended drivers license for refusing to take a breath or blood test will depended on your specific case. You should refer to your Notice of Confirmation and Reinstatement Requirements that was mailed to you in reference to your case. You have the right to a court hearing for refusing to take a chemical test from a law enforcement officer. If you lose the case, the suspension will be upheld.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
Drivers license renewal is one of the most important processes overseen by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. Fortunately, residents are not required to wait the full four years before renewing. Drivers in Oklahoma are allowed to renew drivers license documents up to one year in advance.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
No, drivers should not expect their duplicate drivers license fee to be waived. The Department of Public Safety in Oklahoma does not require that their drivers submit a police report. The DPS only recommends that they do in the case of a stolen drivers license. It is highly advised that victims take this action in order to prevent identity theft and the consequences that come with it. All you have to do is visit a local law enforcement office and speak to an officer about the problem. He or she will provide you with the necessary forms.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, there is no age limit for renewing drivers license documents. If you have a license to operate a vehicle in the state of Oklahoma, then you can renew it. As a matter of fact, you are required to renew your credentials once every four years. Drivers who do not renew their documentation within the necessary amount of time will incur penalties from the Department of Public Safety.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
If you are applying for a drivers license replacement in person, you will receive the credentials immediately. Thus, you will not have to wait for them to be mailed to you. However, if you are not in Oklahoma when you apply for a duplicate drivers license, then you must apply by mail. In this instance, the documentation will be mailed to the out-of-state address that you provide in your letter request.

Be sure to provide payment to the “Department of Public Safety” so that the order goes through.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Seniors are requiredto go in person to a Driver License Exam station, provide all of the necessary documentation, including proper identification. After all of the mandatory papers are given, seniors must pay the applicable fee for their renewal. If trying to renew expired licenses, seniors have to retake all of the necessary exams, including:

  • A vision test.
  • A written test.
  • A driving test.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oregon

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Some of the violations in which you may receive a suspended drivers license in the state of Oklahoma are:

  • Accumulation of ten or more points on your driving record.
  • Failure to pay child support.
  • Dropped out of school.
  • Refuse to submit to chemical testing.

To reinstate a suspended drivers license, you will have to serve your suspension period and pay the required reinstatement fees.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Driving with a suspended drivers license is a crime that is taken seriously in the state of Oklahoma. If you are caught driving with a suspended license, the consequences are quite severe. Your driver license may be canceled all together. It is not a good idea to try and drive under a suspended driver license. For more information on the potential consequences of driving with a suspended license, contact the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety at 405-425-2424.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The amount of your expenses at the local Oklahoma Motor License Tag Agency will vary based on your reason for visiting. For instance, if you have a lost or stolen drivers license, then you must apply for a replacement credential. As such, duplicate drivers licenses in Oklahoma cost a total of $20. However, you may not have to go through the replacement process, depending on when the license was lost, stolen or destroyed. If it occurred within one year of your drivers license renewal date, you can take the steps to renew your documentation instead of replacing it and then renewing it anyway.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
The reinstatement fees that you will have to pay to reinstate suspended drivers license depend on the type of violation for which you were convicted. The cost to reinstate driving privileges can be great. To show an example of the fees associated with reinstating a suspended driver license, the following is the list of fees associated with a refusal to submit to a blood or breath test conviction:

  • Reinstatement fee: $25
  • Processing fee:$75
  • Trauma care fee: $200
  • Mental health fee: $15

Fees are subject to change and do not include court costs and fines that may associated with your conviction.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
In Oklahoma, certain drivers license suspension and revocations are eligible to apply for a hardship license, also known as a Modified Driver License. A hardship license allows the driver under suspension or revocation to engage in driving on a pre-determined limited basis. To apply for a hardship permit, you will need to see a Driver Compliance Hearing Officer in an Oklahoma county district court. Contact the Oklahoma County District Court in the county in which the offense occurred for more information.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
In order to obtain a drivers license in Oklahoma, you must pass a road skills driving test. If you fail this test on your first try, you must wait one day before applying to retake the test. In total, you have three attempts to pass the road skills exam, and the last two can take place within 30 days of your first attempt. However, if you fail the exam three times, you will only be able to take the driving test 30 days after your last try.

Once you pass the test, you will have to provide all necessary documentation and payment.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
If you are getting ready to submit a drivers license application in Oklahoma, you will need to provide certain documentation. Without said documentation, you will not be able to obtain a Class D drivers license.

Applicants must bring everything on the list below:

  • One primary ID, usually a certified birth certificate
  • One secondary ID, usually a Social Security card
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Proof of minimum Oklahoma auto insurance, such as an insurance card
  • Proof of legal name change, if applicable, such as a marriage certificate

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
It does not matter if you are a civilian renewing drivers license documents in person or a member of the military renewing by mail, the same documents are required for this process. Each driver must present one primary form of identification in Oklahoma, such as a certified birth certificate, and one secondary form of ID, such as a Social Security card. Additionally, if your drivers license has already been expired, you will also have to present proof of legal status or US citizenship.

The only difference between in-state and out-of-state renewals is that out-of-state applicants do not need to provide original documents. Out-of-state drivers are allowed to mail in copies of their primary or secondary IDs.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
If your license to drive in Oklahoma was lost, stolen or destroyed, you must obtain a duplicate drivers license from the state Department of Public Safety. As an in-state resident, there is one way for you to do this, by visiting a Motor License Tag Agency. When doing so, you must provide certain documentation, including:

  • One primary proof of ID, such as a certified birth certificate.
  • One secondary proof of ID, such as a Social Security card.

Drivers who are out of state and requesting a drivers license replacement are also required to provide documents. However, they only need to mail in copies of the above IDs.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

What languages is the written test available in?
One of the most important steps that a prospective driver must take is to pass the Oklahoma written test. This is the exam that takes questions from the Oklahoma Driver s Manual and focuses on traffic signs and road regulations. Applicants for a license to drive in Oklahoma will have to take the written exam in either English or Spanish. Additionally, these are the only two languages that the OK Driver s Manual is available in.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If you have an expired drivers license, you may be expecting to incur certain penalties for not meeting the due date. However, the state of Oklahoma is not like other states in that it does not penalize drivers with fines. They simply require testing or additional proofs, depending on the situation.

The breakdown of penalties is as follows:

  • Drivers with licenses expired for one year must provide proof of legal presence in the country or citizenship in the United States.
  • Drivers with licenses expired for three or more years must retake the vision test, written test and road skills exam.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
In Oklahoma, the renewed license will be issued immediately. The only applicants who will have to wait for drivers license renewal delivery are those drivers that apply while out of state. If several weeks pass and you have not received your renewed driver license; it is recommended that you contact the DPS directly. They will be able to help you find out if something occurred and when you can expect to receive your documentation.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
There are a number of things every applicant needs to do before they file their Oklahoma drivers license application. Some of the most important steps require these drivers to take and pass exams administered by the OK Department of Public Safety.

As for the specific tests that every applicant must take, they include:

  • A vision test.
  • A written knowledge test.
  • A driving test.

Drivers who fail any of these exams are required to take them again. The written and driving tests require applicants to wait at least one day before their second attempt.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Those prospective drivers who would like to obtain a standard driving license in Oklahoma must apply for a certain credential. It is known as the Class D drivers license. As opposed to the commercial Class A, B or C, this license is only used for the operation of standard vehicles and pickup trucks. In order to obtain this license to drive, a driver must complete the steps below:

  1. Pass the written and driving tests.
  2. Provide proper identification documents.
  3. Pay the necessary fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
You may reinstate suspended drivers license after you have served your suspension term without incident. To reinstate your driver license, you will have to contact the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. You may submit a request concerning your driving record via an online form or by mail. To request information on how to reinstate your driver license contact the DPS:

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety

Driver Compliance

P.O. Box 11415

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73136

Phone: 405-425-2059 or 405-425-2098

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

When will I need to renew my license?
Drivers in the state of Oklahoma can renew drivers license credentials up to one year in advance of their expiration date. In the state of Oklahoma, each license lasts a period of four years.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
In the state of Oklahoma, there is only one place where an in-state driver can receive a drivers license copy. They must go in person to a nearby Motor License Tag Agency. Therefore, because drivers must go in person, they will receive their new credentials immediately. The only instance in which this may not occur is if the driver is located out of state when they apply for a drivers license replacement. In this case, the delivery time will vary, as these drivers must apply by mail.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Oklahoma Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
You can check your drivers license suspension in a number of ways. The methods include:

  • Complete a Records Request & Consent to Release for and submit it to:
  • Online form

You may request information on the status of your driver license via an online form request on the Oklahoma Department of Safety website.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Oklahoma

Where can I get a new drivers license?
In order to obtain a license to drive in Oklahoma, a variety of measures must be taken. For starters, testing requirements must be completed. Then proper documentation needs to be shown to a Department of Public Safety employee. All of these steps need to be completed in one specific location. You need to go to a Driver License Exam station. These offices are located all across the state for the convenience of Oklahoma residents.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Oklahoma

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
It is not always required that a driver takes a vision test during drivers license renewal in Oklahoma. This screening is only necessary in one instance: If your OK driving license has been expired for a period of three or more years, will you have to pass a vision test. If your credentials have been expired this long, you will also have to undergo additional testing. Other necessary exams include the written knowledge test and the road skills exam.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
No, the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety does not automatically send drivers license renewal notices by mail. However, there is a way that you can have them notify you when it comes time to renew your drivers license. Simply visit the DPS website and click on the renewal notification link. You will be directed to a page where you must provide your email address. Once you have done so, the Department of Public Safety will notify you need to get ready to renew.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Oklahoma