How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License
In order to change the address on a driver’s license, you need to submit proof of your new residential address and submit additional required documentation at a local DMV. As a general rule, you need to change a driver’s license address when you move within the same state. Knowing how to go about completing this procedure can help you prepare the right paperwork and avoid wasting time with your state DMV. Furthermore, it is important to note that there are often time limits on when you need to change the details on your license. If you fail to meet those deadlines, you may face penalties or additional charges.
There are certain steps you need to follow in order to update a driver’s license address through your state DMV. To change the address on a driving license online, your state must allow that process to be completed with supporting proof of your new residence. While various states offer online methods for changing the address on your driving credential, many will require motorists to visit a DMV office in person. To learn more about this procedure, read the sections below.
Instances When You Must Change the Address on Your Drivers License
It is important to learn how to change the address on a license whenever you move to a new permanent residence within the same state. Conversely, if you move from one state to another, you will likely be required to obtain a new credential that was issued in your new state of residence. In any case, a DMV license address change will require you to submit supporting documentation regarding your new residence.
Drivers License Address Change Time Limits
Most states require you to request a change of address on a driver’s license within a certain time period after moving to a new residence. For example, in Washington and New York, you only have 10 days to change your address with the DMV after you move. Conversely, in states such as Florida and Texas, you have up to 30 days to complete a driver’s license address change on your records.
Therefore, make sure that you verify your state’s requirements for address changes and do not miss a deadline. Otherwise, your state DMV could potentially fine you for failing to update your information on a driving credential.
How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License Online
States such as New Jersey and Texas encourage their residents to change the address on a driver’s license online, which contributes to lower wait times at DMV offices and a faster process altogether. On the other hand, there are often restrictions to change a driver’s license address online. For instance, in California, you cannot file this request through the state’s online system if any of the following applies:
- You do not have a CA driver’s license
- You do not have a Social Security Number (SSN)
- Your address is outside of the United States
- You have a CA commercial driver’s license (CDL), but your residential address is in a different state
- You have an Army Post Office or Fleet Post Office address
How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License in Person
Instead of changing a driver’s license address online, you may opt to file this request in person at a local DMV office. In fact, certain states and circumstances will require you to make these changes in person. For example, consider the following situations:
- Your photo is outdated: If you do not meet your state’s requirements for keeping the same photo and simply update your address, you will be required to visit a DMV office in person and retake a picture to be displayed on your credential.
- You have also requested to change your name: If you have just gotten married or divorced, or otherwise changed both your name and address simultaneously, then you will require a new license and will likely need to visit a DMV office in person to complete all of the required changes.
- You have moved to a new state: If you have moved from a different state, you will have to apply for a new drivers license As such, you will likely need to visit a DMV office in person to show supporting documentation and take a photo.
Before you visit a DMV office to change an address on a driver’s license in person, make sure that you know which types of documentation you will have to bring with you. Moreover, be mindful of the available hours for making these changes. In certain states, there may be restrictions for completing the exact procedures you require, so be sure to confirm with your local DMV office before visiting it in person.
How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License by Mail
Many states allow address changes on driver’s licenses to be completed by mail. To do so, you simply need to obtain the correct application from your DMV’s website. Once the form has been filled out, make sure you mail it to the proper address indicated on the application document, along with any required supporting documentation.
In addition, make sure that you provide an acceptable payment method for any driver’s license address change fees set in place by your state DMV. For example, most DMV offices will not accept cash sent by mail, but will accept checks or money orders.
If your state does not have a readily available form for you to change the address on your driver’s license, then you will need to provide the required details on your own accord. For instance, New Jersey requires you to provide the following details in order to update your driver’s license address by mail:
- A signed letter indicating the reason for the request, including your last recorded address
- A copy of your current driver’s license
- Proof of your new address in the form of a recent mailed document in your name, such as a utility bill or bank statement
How to Transfer Your License as a New Resident
If you need an address change on a driving license because you have moved to a new state, then you will actually need to apply for a new driver’s license in your new state of residency. In general, this is not a change of address procedure, but rather a full application for a new driving credential.
Thus, you will have to pay the fees associated with obtaining a new license, as well as supply all supporting documentation required. This could include any or all of the following:
- Proof of new address: This could be a lease or mortgage, a utility bill in your name, or another official correspondence indicating your new address.
- Proof of identity: You will likely need to show photo ID issued by the government, such as another state’s driver’s license, passport or military ID.
- Proof of citizenship: You may need to show a birth certificate, Social Security card or U.S. passport.
DMV License Address Change Fees
If you simply wish to update your driver license address and maintain your current license until it expires, then you will likely not need to pay any fees to update your details. However, if you want to obtain a duplicate credential that displays your up-to-date address, you will have to pay for a replacement license fee. As an example, in Texas, the fee is $11 for a replacement license after a change of address procedure.
On the other hand, if you have moved from a different state and require a new credential rather than just changing a driver’s license address, you will have to pay the associated fees for obtaining a new driver’s license. For instance, in New York, a new driver’s license costs $17.50.