Car Registration Address Changes
Select a state to begin:
2. By Mail
3. In Person at a DMV Office
You should change your car registration address as soon as possible after you relocate. The address listed on your car registration and other DMV documents is used to send important information. If you do not complete a change of address on car registration paperwork, then you may not get critical documents like registration stickers. In some cases, you can expect to receive subsequent fines through ticket citations for failing to have them.
Changing your car registration address is a relatively simple process in most states. In many places, you can complete it in a few minutes with a simple online form and a small fee. Therefore, there is no need to delay making the change. However, if you have moved states or have other extenuating circumstances, then you may be obligated to apply in person instead. The sections below describe when you might need to make the change and the options available.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address on Your Car Registration
You should complete a DMV change of address on registration and driver documents after any move. For instance, if you move within the state or between states, then you should update your registration to match your new address. Even if you only move within your neighborhood, you should still update your registration, title and driver’s license information. This is because your vehicle registration renewal notice and renewal stickers will be mailed to the address on file.
If you fail to receive important documents like registration renewal notices and stickers because you failed to update your address, then you will still be liable. Some states may have rules in place regarding how quickly you must update your car registration address after a move.
Address Change Time Limits for Updating Your Car Registration
You may have time limits for updating your car registration address depending on the state in which you live. Time limits require you to update your address within a stated period of time. Some states do not specify how quickly you should update your information after moving. Other states like Vermont mandate that you notify the DMV of any move within 30 days. Some require notification in as little as 10 days. You should research the requirements in your state before you move to ensure you do not miss any deadlines. The time limit to change your car registration address is typically 10 to 60 days.
How to Change Your Address on Your Car Registration Online
Many states allow you to quickly and easily change your vehicle registration address online. Some states, like Maryland, exclusively offer this service online. You typically do not need to supply additional documents or proof to change the address. You only need to provide your driver’s license and vehicle registration numbers, as well as your new address. Research your state’s processes to determine how to change your car registration address online.
There may be restrictions on who is eligible to complete the process online. For instance, in the state of California, you cannot update your car registration address online if you are a new resident. If you do not already have a California driver’s license or ID card, then you cannot change your registration online. Instead, you must complete the process in person.
How to Change Your Address on Your Car Registration in Person
If you cannot change your auto registration address online, then you can visit a DMV office in person instead. You should bring your current registration and driver’s license, proof of identification and any necessary fees. Additionally, you may be required to complete a form or provide evidence of your change of address. To change your car registration address, you will rarely need to provide any other documents. You can make an appointment ahead of time to shorten the expected waiting period in some DMV offices. Changing your car registration address is typically cheap or free. You may have to pay additional fees to obtain new documents reflecting your address change.
How to Change Your Address on Your Car Registration by Mail
Some states allow you to request an address change on your car registration by mail. This is typically the slowest option to complete the process. You will have to calculate the expected mailing time in both directions. Update your auto registration address as soon as possible to limit the amount of time that your registration is outdated.
In most states, you only have to supply your driver’s license or registration number, your new address and relevant fees. Mail the necessary documents to the proper DMV address in your state. You may have to include a self-addressed and stamped envelope in your application to receive new documents. It could take one to two weeks for your registration to be fully processed.
When to Renew Instead of Update Your Registration
You may wonder if you can complete a DMV car registration address change and renew at the same time. When you renew your registration, the address on the renewal must typically be updated already. For example, states that allow you to change your address online often do not include that in the registration renewal process.
A few states, such as Maryland, allow you to make changes depending on the method you use. In Maryland, you cannot renew your registration online if your address is not up to date. However, if you renew your registration through the mail, then you can mark corrections and changes on the renewal form. Thus, you can perform an address change on your auto registration when you renew it by mail in Maryland. Additionally, in many states, you can perform both actions at once if you visit a DMV office in person.
DMV Address Change Fees
Fees for changing your car registration address vary by state. For example, in the state of Maryland, there is no fee to change your address on file. However, you are obligated to obtain a new driver’s license registering your change of address within 30 days. A corrected driver’s license costs $20.
In the state of Colorado, there are no fees to update a vehicle registration address. Additionally, you have the option of printing a label with your updated address and applying it to your driver license. In Florida, requesting a license with a change of address costs $25.
Before you update your auto registration address, double check what fees you will have to pay. Determine if you are legally obligated to obtain new documents reflecting your change of address. Some states mandate it, while others do not.