Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?

No, drivers are not required to take a motorcycle training course. However, they are encouraged to do so. By taking a Motorcycle Safety Foundation class, riders become exempt from taking the written knowledge and road skills exams necessary to obtain a motorcycle driving license in Colorado. The only time these courses are required is when the applicant is between 15 and 16 years old.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?

Drivers under the age of 18 are required by law to wear Department of Transportation-approved helmets. On the other hand, riders who are 18 or older are not required to follow this rule. There are restrictions for young operators.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?

No, you may not. The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles requires all commercial drivers to renew CDL license credentials in person at a local driver license office. Bring your current commercial drivers license, a valid physical examination form and payment for the renewal fee.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Colorado

Can I take the DMV written test online?

No. The Colorado written exam can only be taken in person at a local driver license office in the state. To learn more about the exam and what you need to bring to obtain your learners permit, review the driver s manual and take some practice tests.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?

Only interstate CDL licenses will be recognized all across the United States. A driver with an interstate license can only operate a commercial vehicle within the state where he or she obtained it.

For more information: Colorado Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?

No, you do not. However, while a CO motorcycle endorsement is not required for the operation of a scooter or moped, a standard drivers license is. If you are caught operating one of these vehicles without the basic license, you will be fined.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?

Formal instruction only applies to certain applicants based on their age group. Drivers under the age of 16, for instance, must enroll in one of the following programs:

  • 30-hour drivers ed course
  • Four-hour driver awareness class

If you are between the ages of 15 and-a-half and 16, you may choose which of the above classes to take. Those under the age of 15 and six months must take the 30-hour course. In addition, if you are 16 or over, you do not need formal instruction to obtain a driving permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?

To obtain a veteran designation on identification cards in Colorado, one must visit alocal driver license office and provide one of the following:

  • An original DD214, demonstrating the honorable discharge of the resident
  • A valid Military ID card

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?

In order to apply for a CDL in Colorado, one must perform the following steps:

1. Hold a standard driving license and be at least 18 years old.

2. Visit a driver license office and pass the written exam for the CDL class you are pursuing.

3. Depending on the class of your desired CDL, you may have to also take an air brakes exam, a combination exam, a hazardous materials test or a passenger vehicle test.

4. Purchase the $14 CO CDL permit.

5. Practice driving with your permit and then take the road skills exam at an approved institution.

6. Return to DMV office with the following documents:

  • DOT medical card
  • Original Social Security card, unless you know your SSN
  • Proof of address:

    • Utility bill
    • Bank statement
  • Road skills test completion form
  • Payment for $35 CDL license

For more information: Colorado Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?

The process to apply for a drivers permit in Colorado varies based on age. Before you visit the driver license office, make sure to:

1. Complete a 30-hour drivers ed course or four-hour driver awareness class (when under 16)

2. Pass the written test

3. Gather necessary documentation

  • One standalone document (US passport) OR
  • Legal presence, name, age and identity documents (Social Security card, CO ID card, Military ID, etc.)

Once these steps are completed, you may move on to the process of applying at the DMV:

1. Provide a certificate of the driving course (if under 16)

2. Give the written test completion form, if applicable

3. Provide one of the following:

  • Original or certified copy of your birth certificate
  • US passport with full legal name (not expired more than 10 years)
  • Military ID

4. Give your Social Security Number

5. Have a parent or guardian sign an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship DR 2460 form and/or Affidavit of Identity, if you are a minor

6. Provide proof of address

  • Utility bill
  • Credit card statement

7. Pay the $14.00 learners permit fee

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?

There are two ways to apply for a motorcycle license endorsement in Colorado. The first way is to take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course. After completing the class, you may bring the MSF card to a driver license office and buy your new license with the attached endorsement.

The second way requires you to follow these steps:

1. Pass a motorcycle written exam

2. Buy a motorcycle permit

3. Pass a road skills motorcycle test

4. Buy a new motorcycle drivers license at a driver license office

  • The licensing fee is $21 plus $2 for the endorsement

It is important to note that all minors under 18 must hold a motorcycle permit for 12 months before obtaining a license. In addition, minors under 16 need to take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course and be supervised by one of the instructors at all times when driving a motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

How do I get a duplicate ID card?

The state of Colorado does not allow residents over the age of 21 to obtain a replacement DMV ID card. Instead, one must visit a nearby driver license office and provide the following for renewal:

  • Proof of ID:

    • US passport
    • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Proof of residency in CO:

    • Utility bill
    • Bank statement
  • Payment for duplicate documents:

    • $10 if under 60
    • $14 if non-US citizen
    • Free of charge if 60 years old or older

If eligible, residents may renew online or by mail as well.

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

How do I renew my driving permit?

Learning permits for minors are valid for a period of three years. In order to renew this credential, follow the steps below:

1. Bring your current driving permit to the drivers license office

  • If permit is expired for more than one year, you must retake written exam.

2. Have your Social Security Number or proof of your SSA ineligibility.

3. Provide proof of address:

  • Utility bill
  • Credit card statement

4. Pass a vision test.

5. Pay the $14 renewal fee.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

How do I renew my ID card?

There are three ways to renew an ID card in Colorado: online, by mail and in person. However, each method had its requirements.

Online

To renew online, one must meet the following criteria:

  • Your last renewal was not done online or by mail.
  • You do not have any pending action on record.
  • Your current ID did not expire more than one year ago.
  • You do not have a returned/NSF check with the Division of Motor Vehicles.
  • Your ID is not associated with any immigration documents.
  • Your Social Security Number is on file with the DMV.
  • You do not have any outstanding judgments or warrants.
  • You are between 21 and 65 years old.

If you meet the eligibility requirements, you can provide your current ID card number, your SSN, a credit card and an email address and renew your identification card online.

By Mail

If you are 21 or older, did not change your name and do not require a new photo, you can renew by mail by sending in the applicable form and payment. The only other exception is a Colorado ID card that is valid for 10 years. These credentials cannot be renewed by mail or online.

In Person

When visiting a local driver license office, applicants must bring the following:

  • Current identification card
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of residency:

    • Utility bill
    • Bank statement
  • Payment of fee

    • $10.50 if under the age of 60
    • $14 for non-US citizens

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?

Commercial drivers in Colorado must keep their Department of Transportation medical report up to date by taking a new exam every two years. Simply visit an FMCSA-certified medical examiner in the area to take the test. Once you have done so, you can submit the certificate in any of the following ways:

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Colorado

How do I renew my motorcycle license?

The process to renew your Class M motorcycle license in Colorado is as follows:

1. Visit a nearby driver license office

2. Provide current drivers license, which can be expired for no more than one year.

  • Drivers with licenses expired more than one year must retake the written exam, buy a permit and retake the road skills test.

3. Give your Social Security Number.

4. Show proof of address:

  • Bank statement
  • Credit card statement
  • Utility bill

5. Pay for the renewal fee.

  • Eligible individuals may also apply online or by mail, if their licenses were not valid for 10 years.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?

Members of the military are required to go through the same steps as civilians when pursuing a motorcycle endorsement. They must either enroll in a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course or pass the written exam to obtain a permit. Then, these applicants must pass a driving skills exam and purchase a new endorsed license at a local driver license office. The standard fee is $21 plus $2 for the endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?

Residents must hold driving permits for at least a full year in order to apply for a driving license. For more information on how to apply for an official license, visit our Drivers License page.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

How long will it take to get my new ID card?

When performing ID card renewal online, residents of the state of Colorado can expect to receive their updated credentials within a period of 30 business days.Thus, it is recommended that you renew documentation as soon as you are able.

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?

Since the Colorado DMV does not allow residents over 21 to obtain duplicate identification cards, an out-of-state resident must apply for renewal online or by mail. As long as you do not need a new photo and did not undergo a name change, you can renew by mail. The requirements to renew online are stricter:

  • You must be between 21 and 65 years old.
  • You cannot have changed your name.
  • You cannot have any outstanding judgments, warrants or payments.
  • Your ID cannot be associated with immigration documents.
  • You did not perform your last renewal online or by mail.
  • Your current ID has not been expired for more than one year.
  • Your Social Security Number is on file.
  • You do not have pending action on record.
  • You do not have an NSF/returned check with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?

In the state of Colorado, drivers must be at least 18 years old to obtain a CO commercial driving license that will allow them to operate a commercial vehicle within the state. To get an interstate license, which allows for state-to-state travel, the driver must be at least 21 years old.

For more information: Colorado Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?

In order to obtain a motorcycle permit, one must be at least 15 years old. Riders between the ages of 15 and 16 must enroll in a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course. Additionally, new motorcyclists under the age of 18 must always wear a helmet and are required to hold their permit for 12 months before applying for a motorcycle license endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

What are the available commercial license endorsements?

In addition to the standard Colorado CDL license, interested commercial drivers can also apply for endorsements. The options available include:

  • Class H: Hazardous Materials.
  • Class P: Passenger-Carry Vehicles.
  • Class T: Double or Triple Trailers.
  • Class S: School Bus.
  • Class N: Tanker Vehicles.
  • Class X: Tanker and Hazardous Materials.

For more information: Colorado Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the fees associated with an ID card?

In order to get ID card credentials in Colorado, residents are required to pay the applicable fee. These fees vary based on the age and status of the individual. The breakdown is as follows:

  • ID for residents under 60: $10.50
  • ID for residents 60 years old and older: Free
  • ID for non-US citizens: $14

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?

As long as a driver is under the age of 18, he or she can only operate a motor vehicle while supervised by a licensed driver that is at least 21 years old. The supervisor can be a parent, legal guardian or someone approved by the parent/guardian, like a driving instructor. In addition, all drivers under 18 must meet the drivers permit requirements of 50 driving hours, including 10 at night.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?

Concerning the medical requirements necessary to obtain a commercial driving license in Colorado, drivers are only required to pass a Department of Transportation medical exam. Once they have done so, they must submit the certificate, which can be no more than 24 months old, by any of the following means:

For more information: Colorado Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?

Minor drivers who incur traffic tickets become more likely to receive a Colorado drivers license suspension. The amount of points required for suspension varies based on age:

  • Under 18:
    • Six points in 12 months
    • Seven points in any period of time
  • Between 18 and 21
    • Nine points in 12 months
    • 12 points in 24 months
    • 14 points in any period of time

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Colorado

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?

In order to operate a three-wheel motorcycle in the state of Colorado, you must hold one of the following licenses:

  • A Class M motorcycle license
  • A Class 3 motorcycle endorsement

The Class M license allows riders to operate both two- and three-wheel motorcycles, while the Class 3 only gives residents the authority to ride trikes.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?

The documents and forms that must be provided when applying for a CO driving permit are as follows:

  • Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship DR 2460 form, if the applicant is a minor
  • Proof of address

    • Utility bill
    • Credit card statement
  • One standalone document (US passport) or a combination of documents that prove name, identity, age and legal presence:

    • Social Security card
    • Birth certificate
    • Military ID
  • Certificate of driving course completion, if applicable
  • Certificate of written test passing, if applicable

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?

The documents required to obtain a Colorado motorcycle endorsement vary based on your situation. Standard drivers, for instance, must provide:

  • Proof of ID, age and Colorado residency:

    • Drivers license
    • US passport
    • Valid I-551
  • A Motorcycle Safety Foundation course card, if you took the course.
  • Motorcycle permit, if you took the written exam and are planning to take the driving test.

In addition to the above, applicants under the age of 18 must provide an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship DR 2460 form.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?

Depending on how you want to obtain a CO motorcycle endorsement, you may not have to take any tests in the process. If you choose to take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course, there is no testing requirement. If you do not, you must pass the written knowledge exam and the road skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Colorado

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?

Given that driving under the influence is considered a major offense against a commercial driver, the penalties for committing the violation are severe:

  • The first violation: One-year CO commercial driving license disqualification

    • Three years if the driver was transporting hazardous materials
  • Subsequent violations: Lifetime CDL disqualification

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Colorado

What is an ID card?

Colorado identification cards are considered primary proof of ID for individuals who do not have a drivers license. These credentials feature your name, date of birth, signature and address and can be used to enter government buildings as well as any other location that requires proof of ID.

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

What is the passing score for a written test?

The Colorado written knowledge exam contains 25 questions. In order to pass and obtain your CO learning permit, one must answer 20 of these questions correctly and finish with a passing score of 80 percent.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?

In order to obtain a permit for driving in Colorado, one must pass the CO DMV written test. This exam features questions on road regulations and traffic signs, to help you get into the mindset of a safe driver.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?

To obtain a license to drive commercial vehicles, drivers must first pass a written knowledge exam and a road skills test. Both of these examinations will test your knowledge of road regulations, traffic signs and commercial operating procedures. Additionally, extra exams will be required if you apply for CDL endorsements.

For more information: Colorado Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

When does my ID card expire?

The standard Colorado ID card is valid for five years. However, there are credentials that last all of 10 years. The latter cannot be renewed by mail or online.

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

Where can I obtain an ID card?

Residents of the state of Colorado canget ID card documentation at any local driver license office. To find the one that is closest to you, click here.

For more information: How to Apply for a Colorado Identification Card

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?

Drivers under the age of 18 must have a parent or guardian present when applying at the driver license office. A Colorado learners permit will not be issued without one such individual present.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Colorado