Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?

No. You can only hold a car insurance policy in your state of residence. In addition, your coverage must meet the minimum amounts set forth by the state of Colorado.

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?

Yes. Whether you are moving to or from the state of Colorado, you are required to have auto insurance in your state of residence. Thus, all previous policies must be canceled when you move so that a new one may be started.

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?

Since auto insurance in Colorado is a necessity if you want to legally operate a motor vehicle, residents have to do the following in order to avoid incurring fines and drivers license suspension:

  • Surrender license plates
  • Cancel vehicle registration

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?

In the event that a police officer is at the scene of the accident and he or she has already obtained the necessary information, you do not need to provide any forms unless you receive a letter from the DMV requesting that you do so. On the other hand, if an officer is not present, fill out a crash report and provide detailed information on the vehicle, the damages and the other driver.

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?

Yes. As long as you are considered a resident of the state of Colorado, the Division of Motor Vehicles requires that you have the state minimum amounts of vehicle insurance. It does not matter how long you are gone in a given year.

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?

In order to operate a vehicle legally within the state of Colorado, one must meet the following minimum liability auto insurance requirements:

  • $15,000 in property damage protection
  • $25,000 for bodily injury/death for one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury/death to multiple people

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?

There are a few ways that a driver in Colorado can prove that they meet state minimum auto insurance requirements. Simply bring one of the following:

  • An insurance card
  • A letter from your provider on company letterhead
  • A copy of your coverage policy

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

What type of car insurance am I required to have?

The state of Colorado requires that all drivers have liability vehicle insurance in the following areas:

  • Property damage
  • Bodily injury/death
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily injury/death

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?

If you are caught operating a motor vehicle without CO auto insurance, you face the following penalties:

  • A minimum fine of $500
  • Four points on your driving record
  • Community service
  • Registration and drivers license suspension

    • For first offenses, the suspension will last until you show proof of coverage.
    • Subsequent offenses will result in suspensions of up to eight months.

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?

In the state of Colorado, all vehicles that are registered with the Division of Motor Vehicles must meet the CO car insurance minimum requirements of the state. This includes passenger vehicles, motorcycles, pickup trucks, commercial vehicles and more.

For more information: How To: Save on Colorado Auto Insurance