Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
If you want to get a new car title because your old one is damaged, you will need to hand it down to the appropriate DMV office when you submit the application for car title replacement.

Upon applying, you must mark the reason for requesting a car title replacement in the appropriate beginning section of the Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title and state therein if the old one has been mutilated.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
In order to file a police report for a stolen car title, you must contact your local law enforcement. The state of New Hampshire has a well-established online system for vehicle records and will enter the reported record as soon as possible.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
If it happens that the owner has lost car title or if the car title has been stolen ordamaged, the current owner, licensed car dealer ,or lien-holder in New Hampshire can apply to get a duplicate car title by submitting the required documentation with the supporting documents:

  • In person to DMV offices.
  • Via mail to:

NH Department of Safety DMV – Title 23 Hazen Drive Concord NH 03305

A duplicate car title will be issued to you within three to five working days.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
To apply for a salvaged car title in New Hampshire, the owner of the vehicle or the insurance agent need to complete the following steps:

  1. Submit Application for Salvage Inspection to the Title Bureau
  2. Prepare check or money order for $10
  3. Present original car title
  4. Make salvage inspection appointment and present:
    • The vehicle
    • Check or money order for $50
    • Proof of ownership
    • Insurance appraisal report
    • Proof of repair of salvage items

Note that if the vehicle is deemed salvage due to vehicle theft, the salvage car title is kept with the insurance company in case the vehicle might be recovered.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

How do I transfer my car title between states?
In case you have moved to New Hampshire, and your car title is out of state, you can get in touch with the relevant officer at your town or city and ask for issuance of temporary license plates valid for 60 days.

DMV offices are available for more details about the next steps that you will need to undertake to compete acar title transfer. You can get in contact with them at:

NH Department of Safety DMV – Title Bureau 23 Hazen Drive Concord, NH 03305 (603) 227-4150

If you want to know how to transfer car title in other states, contact the relevant DMV office to obtain information on local requirements.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
Lost, stolen, or damaged titles for cars can only be replaced in the DMV offices in Concord and Nashua.

To do so, you need to the following documents:

  • A check or money order in amount of $25

Applications for replacing car title may be submitted in person to the adequate DMV offices or via mail to:

NH Department of Safety DMV Title Bureau 23 Hazen Drive Concord NH 03305

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

How do I transfer my car title?
In New Hampshire, you can apply for car title transfer at any of the following authorized agents:

  • Town or city clerks
  • Licensed car dealers
  • Lien-holders

Authorized agents will send the application to DMV offices for further processing.

The NH DMV afterwards produces a new car title, which will be sent to the vehicle owner within 40 to 50 days.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
In New Hampshire, you must obtain a new vehicle title for your recreational vehicle if it is manufactured after 1999 and if it weighs more than 3,001 lbs.

To transfer title on your trailer,follow these steps:

  1. Visit a local city or town clerk’s office
  2. Provide ID
  3. Prepare $25 car title fee
  4. Prepare relevant car registration fee

Exact registration costs calculated for your RV are available if you get in touch with DMV offices beforehand.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
The online system at DMV in New Hampshire does not offer car title replacement. The procedure for getting a car title copy can be done in person or via mail. Once you successfully submit the car title replacement application, a new car title will be issued to you within three to five days.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
If you want to transfer a car title between family members in case of death, you can use one of the following two options of acknowledging JTWROS (Joint Tenancy With Rights of Survivorship) for your car title:

  • Intentionally designating JTWROS for non-married owners
  • Automatic recognition of JTWROS for married couple or partners in a civil union if the vehicle is used for family purposes

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Whenever you need to make changes in vehicle ownership in New Hampshire, you are required to obtain a new car title.

Below is a list of some of the reasons a New Hampshire resident would need to apply for car title transfer:

  • Moved to New Hampshire with a vehicle from another state
  • Purchased new or used car from a local car dealer
  • Purchased new or used car from an out-of-state car dealer
  • Purchased a used car from a private party
  • To remove or add an owner
  • To transfer ownership of a vehicle to another person
  • Refinancing of a loan

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The basic fee for obtaining a duplicate car title in New Hampshire is $25. Take into account though that you will also need to get a new car registrationin order to legally operate a vehicle within the state.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
When you are replacing a car title in New Hampshire, you will need to submit a special set of documents that you can drop off or mail to the DMV offices in Concord and in Nashua, which include:

You may want to get in touch with the NH DMV to inquire about the applicable fees, which are subject to change.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
Documents that need to be submitted in support to the application for transfer of title depend on the reasons behind the change of ownership of the vehicle and may include:

  • If the vehicle is bought from a private party:
    • Sign over the new car title to the buyer
    • If the vehicle is title-exempt:
  • Application for car title
  • Bill of Sale
  • Car registration or out-of-state car title
  • New car title application
  • $25 car title fee
  • Relevant car registration fee
  • VIN verification
  • Odometer disclosure statement
  • If the vehicle is bought from a car dealer in New Hampshire:
  • If the vehicle is bought from an out-of-state dealer:
    • Certificate of origin of title
    • New car title application
    • $25 car title fee
    • Odometer disclosure statement
    • Relevant car registration fee
    • VIN verification

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
New Hampshire rules for duplicate car title specify that you fill in and submit the following forms:

A joint co-owner must sign the application for duplicate car title if there is one, and the lien release must be signed by the lien-holder.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
In the event that your original car title has been found after you ve been issued a car title replacement, you must submit it to the NH DMV. Once your NH car title has been declared lost, stolen, or damaged, it becomes invalid.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
When you want to get a new title or just transfer title for a motorcycle or a scooter in New Hampshire, you can get in touch with official authorities on city level so that they provide you with information for their level of authorization in terms of registration.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
All New Hampshire residents that have bought a vehicle from a private car dealer, which is manufactured before 1999 and is title-exempt, need to provide Bill of Sale when they apply to get car title.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New Hampshire

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
Drivers can mail applications for duplicate car titles in New Hampshire to the following address:

NH Department of Safety DMV – Title 23 Hazen Drive Concord NH 03305

The NH DMV will later mail the car title copy to the:

  • Car owner.
  • Licensed local car dealer if the owner explicitly states so on the application.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
State and federal requirements for car insurance vary from state to state. In order to inquire about whether you will be required to present proof of vehicle insurance in the state of New Hampshire, contact your local DMV office.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New Hampshire