Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Drivers in Nevada who have recently become Nevada residents must obtain a car insurance policy in Nevada. Nevada insurance policies are required to register vehicles in the state, get license plates and operate the vehicle on public roads. Out-of-state policies are not accepted. Nevada has a wide range of car insurance companies with policies that meet the minimum liability requirements.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Nevada drivers moving to another state must register their vehicle in the state they will be residing in. In doing so, proof of car insurance which complies with the new residential state must be provided. Any vehicle registered and being driven in the state of Nevada must be covered by a Nevada car insurance policy. Once the Nevada policy has been canceled, drivers must surrender both their car registration and license plates.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Nevada vehicle owners must have car insurance to legally operate the vehicles on public roads. Once a resident does not have insurance on the vehicle, he or she must surrender both car registration and license plates. Drivers who fail to surrender registration and license plates in the event of a car insurance lapse will have their registration canceled by the DMV. Notification of cancellation is then sent through the mail. Drivers who operate motor vehicles in Nevada without proper registration are subject to fines and license suspension.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Residents of Nevada involved in a car accident that resulted in a police investigation do not need to report anything. The officer in question will file their report of the investigation, which will serve as the report for insurance companies. If a police report was not filed, drivers must report the accident if there were injuries or a death, or if there was property damage in excess of $750.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Residents of Nevada who have cars registered in the state must have car insurance at all times while operating the vehicle. Residents who let their car insurance lapse will have the vehicle s registration canceled, regardless of whether they are in the state or not. Operating a vehicle in Nevada without valid registration can result in fines and license suspension.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Residents of Nevada with vehicles in the state registered under their name must have minimum liability car insurance in order to operate the vehicle on public roads. Minimum liability insurance requirements include:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person due to an accident
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons due to an accident
  • $10,000 for injury or destruction of property due to an accident

Minimum insurance for cars must be provided by a company authorized to do business in Nevada. To learn how to get car insurance in the state, research car insurance quotes at the various companies in the state.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Residents of Nevada who own and operate vehicles on public roads are required to have a minimum liability car insurance. Proof of insurance is required for most transactions at the Nevada DMV, including first time registration, registration renewals, reinstatements and changes to license plates. An Evidence of Insurance card provided by the driver s insurance company is all that s needed to prove minimum insurance. From there, the DMV uses the Nevada LIVE system to validate the insurance through a secure Internet connection.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
Residents of Nevada who own and operate vehicles in the state are required to have a minimum amount of liability car insurance. Minimum requirements include coverage for:

  • Bodily injury or a single person s death in an accident.
  • Bodily injury or two or more persons deaths in an accident.
  • Injury or destruction of property in an accident.

Insurance policies must be registered in Nevada and verified by the insurance company. The DMV requires residents to provide proof of insurance when applying for car registrations, registration renewals, license reinstatements and license plate changes. Residents are not required to have comprehensive, collision or other coverage, though it is recommended.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Residents of Nevada who have either failed to get car insurance or have recently decided to drop the car insurance policy must surrender their car registration and license plates. Other scenarios include:

  • Residents canceling due to not using their vehicle anymore must cancel the registration with the Nevada DMV.
  • Residents who have sold their vehicle must remove the license plates and cancel the registration.
  • Under certain circumstances, residents may qualify for a partial refund on the registration.

To surrender license plates and registration by mail, mail the plates, decal and a signed letter of cancellation to the following address:

Department of Motor Vehicles

Central Services Division

555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711-0700

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Nevada residents who own vehicles in the state must get car insurance prior to operating the vehicles on public roads. All motor vehicles are required to have a minimum liability insurance. Nevada DMV officials also recommend getting car insurance that covers collision and other incidentals. To apply for car insurance, research various car insurance quotes within the state and pick the coverage that fits your needs and budget.

For more information: Nevada Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save