Frequently Asked Questions

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Residents of Nevada who would like to check driving records can do so in-person at a local Nevada DMV office, as well as by mail or online. In-person driving record checks are conducted at self-service kiosks within the DMV office, while online driving record requests can be made through the Online Driver History page on the Nevada DMV website.

However, certified driving records can only be obtained by mail. To obtain a certified driving record, mail an Application for Individual Record Information along with the $11 certified driving record fee to the following address (fees may vary):

DMV Records Section

555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711-0250

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Residents of Nevada who have recently received traffic ticket fines can pay them through their county clerk or a local Nevada DMV office. Residents who would like to reduce the number of points that will be added to their driving record due to the traffic fines can elect to attend traffic school for a point reduction. Drivers with anywhere between three and 11 points on their record who have completed a traffic course will have three points removed from their record. Drivers are only allowed to attend traffic school for point reduction once every 12 months. Traffic school can also be ordered as a requirement in a plea bargain agreement with a Nevada court.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Residents wondering how to pay traffic tickets in Nevada can choose to pay traffic tickets online, by mail, by phone, by MoneyGram or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. Traffic fines are assessed based on the offense, with the specific traffic ticket price displayed on the paperwork handed to drivers by law enforcement officials at the time of the offense. Drivers who pay traffic tickets are also assessing a plea of guilty for the offense and are then subject to any demerit points the offense might result in. Payment options vary by county, so contact the local DMV office to find out the county s specific requirements to pay traffic fines.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
Residents of Nevada who believe their DMV driving record was illegally accessed can file a civil complaint with the local court system in their county. Drivers who have had their driving records illegally accessed can seek civil penalties against the individual or organization that accessed their records in the amount of no less than $2,500, including punitive damages and attorney fees. Additionally, the Nevada DMV can be fined up to $5,000 for each instance of noncompliance with privacy laws.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Nevada drivers can get a driving record by mail, online or in person at a self-service kiosk. To obtain driving records by mail, print and complete an Application for Individual Record Information and mail it to the following address:

DMV Records Section

555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711-0250

The fee for drivers records is $7, with an additional $4 for certified driving history records (fees may vary).

To check driving records online, visit the Nevada DMV s Online Driver History page. Drivers can request and print a three-year or 10-year driving history from this page. To check driving records in person, visit a local DMV office and follow the instructions at the self-service kiosks. There will be an additional $1 fee for using the kiosks to check driving records.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
Residents of Nevada who have received traffic fines can elect to either pay the ticket or dispute the traffic ticket fines in court. Drivers who pay traffic tickets will be assessed the resulting number of points that corresponds with their offense. Drivers who would like to dispute will have to appear in court on the date written on their traffic ticket to plead their case. There, the judge will make a decision based on the evidence which could result in the traffic ticket being dismissed.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Nevada privacy laws are strict and outline exact circumstances when a person can access another person s driving records. In general, third parties cannot receive any information on a particular driver s license or registration without said person filling out a Letter of Authorization to Release Information and providing a notarized copy to the third party.

However, there are exceptions to this law. For example, law enforcement agencies can access a Nevada driver s DMV driving record without the person s authorization. In addition, insurance companies can fill out an Application for Records Account to receive a driving record for one of their own policy-holders.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
If stopped for possible DUI or DWI citations, all drivers are obligated to submit to a breath, urine or blood chemical test. Nevada is an implied consent state, and drivers must consent when asked to test for blood alcohol content. Law enforcement officials are permitted to immediately arrest drivers who resist taking a chemical test. Refusing to take a chemical test under implied consent laws will result in an automatic license suspension.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Residents of Nevada who have received traffic ticket fines must either pay the ticket or dispute the traffic fines in court. Paying a traffic ticket is considered a guilty plea and is subject to demerit points based on the offense. Residents who would like to reduce the amount of points on their driving record can elect to take traffic school. Traffic school participants with anywhere between three and 11 points can remove three points from their driving history record. Traffic school for points reduction can only be used once every 12 months.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
Nevada drivers looking to obtain their driving records can do so either online, by mail or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. Drivers should check their driving records for any inaccuracies and report them directly to the Nevada DMV. Nevada driving laws prohibit excessive traffic and moving violations by utilizing a demerit point system that assesses points to a driving record based on the severity of the offenses. Drivers who receive more than 12 points in a 12-month period will drivers license suspension for six months.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Drivers in Nevada who have received traffic violations resulting in potential demerit point on their driving record have a chance to remove some of those points by attending traffic school. Drivers who have accumulated between three and 11 points on their record can have three points removed by attending a Nevada DMV-approved traffic school course. Drivers can only attend traffic school to remove points from their driving record once each 12-month period. Drivers who have had points removed due to traffic school will still have the conviction on their driving record.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
Residents of Nevada who have received traffic ticket fines can pay them through their county clerk either online, by mail, phone, MoneyGram or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. Residents who have lost their traffic ticket fine information should contact their county clerk to get a duplicate. Certain counties also have online databases where residents can enter their driver s license or car registration details and receive the information on their computer. Contact the local county clerk for more information on options.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Residents of Nevada who have had their license suspended due to driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction cannot get their license back until having satisfied suspension requirements. DWI and DUI citations typically require a number of actions before full license privileges are restored. Requirements vary by county. Drivers are given the requirements at the time of their conviction. Requirements can include anywhere from 90 days to three years of license suspension, two days to six years of jail time, up to $5,000 in fees and a required interlock ignition device (IID) installation.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

What are the different types of driving records?
Residents of Nevada who would like to check driving records have a few options for doing so: online through the Online Driver History section of the Nevada DMV website, by mail or in person through a self-service kiosk at a local Nevada DMV office. To check driving records, residents have the option of receiving a three-year history, a 10-year history or a school bus history. Drivers may also request a certified driving record for an additional $4 fee by mail.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Nevada drivers convicted for driving under the influence are subject to a number of penalties depending on how many times they have been convicted before of a DUI.

First offenses You are fined $400 and $1,000, and receive a 90-day license suspension and possible ignition interlock device (IID) requirement.

Second offense Drivers are fined between $750 and $1,000, are jailed for as little as 10 days to six months, get a year-long license suspension and possible IID requirement.

Third or subsequent offenses Drivres are fined $2,000 to $5,000. Additionally, drivers can face anywhere from two days to six years in jail, and 90- day or three-year of license suspensions.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Nevada drivers in possession of a commercial driver s license (CDL) who have received traffic fines are subject to the same penalties as drivers with regular full licenses. Commercial drivers must report any traffic ticket fines to their employer within 30 days of receiving the ticket. Additionally, traffic ticket convictions for any of the following violations will result in CDL suspensions:

  • DUI/DWI
  • Refusing blood alcohol content test
  • Leaving scene of accident
  • Operating while license is suspended, cancelled or revoked
  • Negligent operation resulting in a death

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

What information does a driving record contain?
Drivers in Nevada looking to check driving records must do so either online, by mail or in-person at a local Nevada DMV office. Drivers requesting driving records can obtain either a three-year copy of their driving history, a 10-year copy of their driving history or their history as a school bus driver (if applicable).

Nevada driving records contain information on any traffic accidents or convictions a driver has been involved in during the time period the record covers. Accidents and traffic violations that occur in other states are also added to Nevada driving records if the result was a conviction. Most violations and accidents stay on driving records for a period of 10 years.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
If assessed with a DUI ticket, you face a long list of penalties that include jail time, license suspensions, ignition interlock device requirements and fines:

First offenses You are fined $400 and $1,000.

Second offense Drivers are fined between $750 and $1,000.

Third or subsequent offenses Drivres are fined $2,000 to $5,000. Additionally, drivers can face anywhere from two days to six years in jail, and 90- day or three-year of license suspensions.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Nevada drivers who have received traffic ticket fines must elect to either pay the traffic ticket or dispute the ticket in court. Drivers who choose to pay traffic ticket fines can do so online, by mail, phone, MoneyGram or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. The cost of traffic tickets in Nevada depend on the offense that led to the ticket being assessed. Traffic ticket prices are listed on the ticket information handed to the driver at the time of the offense.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

What is the cost to get a driver record?
Drivers in Nevada looking to order a copy of their driving records can go online, in person through one of the self-service kiosks at a local Nevada DMV office, or by mail. Depending on the method, driving record fees vary.

Driving record checks made online cost $7. Driving record requests made through a self-service kiosk are also $7, with an additional $1 kiosk fee added on. Driving record checks made by mail cost either $7 for a regular copy, or $11 for a certified copy. Fees may vary.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
Drivers in Nevada holding a commercial driver s license (CDL) are subject to harsher DUI and DWI laws than drivers with regular licenses. The legal BAC limit for a CDL holder is 0.04 percent. Drivers found to be driving over the limit will be assessed a DUI and have their license suspended for one year for a first offense. If the driver was transporting hazardous materials, their license will be suspended for three years. A second conviction will result in a lifetime CDL suspension.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Minors are subject to harsher DUI penalties than regular driver s licenses. The legal BAC limit for drivers under 21 is 0.02 percent.

First offenses are followed by an evaluation to see if the minor has a substance abuse issue. Additionally, minors with a first DUI offense face two days to six months in jail, $400 to $1,000 in fines and a 90-day license suspension.

A second DUI ticket within seven years leads to 10 days to six months jail time, $750 to $1,000 fine and a year-long license suspension.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Drivers convicted of a DUI or DWI are subject to a list of penalties depending on whether this is their first offense or they are a multiple offender. DUI/DWI penalties can include anywhere from two days to six years in jail, $400 to $5,000 in fines, 90 days to three-year license suspension and a possible ignition interlock device requirement. Drivers must satisfy all the requirements outlined in their DUI citation paperwork before reinstating full license privileges.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
When drivers get a DWI or DUI ticket, they may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID). IID sentences require motorists to install the device prior to their restricted license privileges being approved. There are four certified IID manufacturers in Nevada. To find out more information on IIDs, contact one of the companies at the following numbers:

  • Drager: 1-800-332-6858
  • Smart Start: 1-800-880-3394
  • Consumer Safety (Intoxalock): 1-877-777-5020
  • Alcohol Detection Systems: 1-866-360-7890

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Residents with traffic ticket fines in Nevada can check their entire driver history online by visiting the Nevada DMV s Online Driver History page. Fees for driver history printouts are $7 and include either a three-year or 10-year history. Certain counties also have their own traffic fines online databases which residents can use to check the cost of traffic tickets, pay speeding tickets or request a court date to dispute their fines.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Residents of Nevada who have recently obtained a police record check and do not see a traffic ticket they recently received should contact a local Nevada DMV office to inquire. Driving records contain information about traffic accidents and traffic violations committed, as well as any driver license suspensions. However, drivers who have received traffic violations in Nevada or any other state will only have the violation added to their record if there is a conviction. Drivers who have had tickets dismissed will not see an entry for it on their driving record.

For more information: Your Nevada Driving Record

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Residents of Nevada who have received traffic fines must either pay traffic tickets or dispute traffic ticket fines in court. Drivers who pay traffic fines are subject to demerit points on their driver s record based on the offense that led to the traffic fines. Demerit points for common offenses are as follows:

  • Reckless driving: 8
  • Careless driving: 6
  • Failing to give information/render aid at accident scene: 6
  • Following vehicle too closely: 4
  • Failing to yield: 4
  • Passing a school bus with signals flashing: 4
  • Using handheld phone or texting while driving: 4 (2nd and subsequent offenses): 4
  • Ignoring traffic signal/stop: 4
  • Impeding traffic: 2
  • Failing to dim headlights: 2
  • Speeding point assessments:
    • 1-10 mph over speed limit: 1
    • 11-20 mph over speed limit: 2
    • 21-30 mph over speed limit: 3
    • 31-40 mph over speed limit: 4
    • 41 mph or more over speed limit: 5
    • Driving too fast for road conditions: 2

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Drivers in Nevada who were recently assessed a DUI or DWI ticket are subject to a long list of penalties, including jail time, fines, IID requirements and license suspensions. Depending on the particular driver s DUI circumstances, the court may also require drivers to attend a Nevada DUI school and a Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) victim impact panel. Multiple offenses face harsher penalties. Drivers should refer to their DUI ticket paperwork for more information.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Nevada