Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Residents of Nevada with damaged car titles can apply for a duplicate car title through the mail or in person by submitting an Application for Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title. The application should be accompanied by the duplicate car title fee along with the Credit Card Authorization form (if the resident is submitting through the mail and paying by credit card). Once the application is processed, residents will receive their duplicate car title within six weeks. Once the duplicate car title is received, the resident must surrender all previously issued copies of the car title to the Nevada DMV.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
Residents of Nevada dealing with stolen car titles should report the crime to local law enforcement as soon as possible. To do so, contact the local police department and ask for their address or email address. Residents can also visit the police department to file the police report in person. Once the report has been filed, bring a copy to the DMV when applying for a duplicate car title so the DMV can have the theft on file.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
Residents of Nevada with lost, damaged or stolen car titles can apply for a duplicate car title either by mail or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. To do so, the legal owner must fill out an Application for Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title and submit it to the DMV. The application must be notarized if the resident is mailing it in. Duplicate car title fees are $20 if the vehicle is staying in Nevada and $35 if it is not located in the state. You will also need to submit a Credit Card Authorization form if you are paying by credit card and mailing the application in.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
Residents of Nevada who have obtained a salvage vehicle must apply for a salvaged car title at a local Nevada DMV office. To obtain a salvaged car title, residents must be the registered owner of the vehicle. Provide the DMV office with an Application for Salvage Title and the vehicle s current title within 30 days of obtaining the vehicle. A salvaged car title will be issued to the car s owner within two business days. For insurance companies that have obtained a salvaged vehicle, an Insurance Company Affidavit without Endorsed Title form must be submitted. The fee for a salvage car title is $10 (fees may vary).

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

How do I transfer my car title between states?
New residents of Nevada transferring vehicles from their previous states should visit a local Nevada DMV office to obtain a car title transfer. Residents will need to present their current vehicle title, proof of insurance and emissions inspection certificate (if required). Residents of Nevada who are leaving the state for another state should check with the destination state s local DMV office to find out the requirements for transferring car titles in that specific state.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
Residents of Nevada who would like to obtain a car title transfer can do so by visiting a local Nevada DMV office with their current car title, bill of sale and emissions inspection certificate (if applicable). Residents who have lost their original title must first apply for a duplicate car title by submitting an Application for Duplicate Title to DMV officials. Once the duplicate title application is received along with the other required documents, residents will be able to process their car title transfer.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

How do I transfer my car title?
Whether buying a new car, selling a new car, transferring it to a family member or donating it, transferring car titles in Nevada requires residents to visit a local Nevada DMV office. To initiate the car title transfer process, find the car title then sign and date it in the appropriate section on the back. Have the new vehicle owner sign and date the back as well. Complete and sign a bill of sale and give the new vehicle owner a copy, then remove the license plates from the vehicle. From there, the new owner must bring the signed title to a DMV office to complete the title transfer. Residents without a title can substitute an Application for Duplicate Title as long as they accompany it with a bill of sale.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
Residents of Nevada who have purchased an RV must follow the same procedures for obtaining a car title transfer as any other vehicle. To initiate a car title transfer, visit a local Nevada DMV office with the current title and bill of sale. If no title is available, print and complete an Application for Duplicate Title. The difference in titling RVs versus titling other passenger vehicles is in registration fees, which are based on the weight and size of the vehicle.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Nevada residents who have recently lost, damaged or stolen car titles must apply for a duplicate car title by mail or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. Online duplicate car title applications are not available at this time. Once the duplicate car title application has been processed, residents should expect to receive their duplicate car title within six weeks.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
Residents of Nevada who have had a family member die and leave them a vehicle must obtain a car title transfer at a local Nevada DMV office. To do so, provide the DMV office with a certified copy of the vehicle owner s Death Certificate. Beneficiaries must also surrender the vehicle s current license plate and their family member s driver s license. Submit the items along with the vehicle s title and a $20 title fee (fees may vary). If the title is unavailable, submit a Transfer on Death Beneficiary s Affidavit for Title form.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Residents of Nevada who are looking to initiate a car title transfer will have to do so by visiting a local Nevada DMV office with the vehicle s current title and other required documents. There are a variety of reasons residents may want to transfer car titles, including:

  • Purchasing a used vehicle
  • Selling a used vehicle
  • Transferring a vehicle to a family member
  • Donating or gifting a vehicle
  • Inheriting a vehicle
  • Vehicle owner changed name

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
After submitting the Application for Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title, you will need to pay the duplicate car title fee either in person, by check, money order or credit card. Credit card payments can be made through the mail by filling out a Credit Card Authorization form. Fees for duplicate car titles are $20 if the vehicle is remaining in Nevada and $35 if the vehicle is no longer in Nevada. There is also a title processing fee of $8.25 for all title transactions where car ownership is being changed completely.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
Applicants will need to submit a completed Application for Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title along with a Credit Card Authorization form if paying by credit card and mailing the application. Additionally, drivers requesting the duplicate car title in another state must provide a written statement from their current state of residence s DMV authorizing the submission. Mailed duplicate car title applications must be notarized.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
Residents of Nevada looking to obtain a car title transfer can do so by visiting a local Nevada DMV office. When visiting the DMV office, there are a few documents residents must provide to the DMV officials, including:

  • Signed and dated vehicle title
  • Application for Duplicate Title (if vehicle title is missing)
  • Bill of sale
  • Emissions inspection certificate (if applicable)

Duplicate title fees are $20 if the vehicle is remaining in Nevada and $35 if the vehicle is not physically located in Nevada (fees may vary).

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
Residents of Nevada who have lost, damaged or stolen car titles must apply for a duplicate title with the Nevada DMV. To do so, residents should print and complete an Application for Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title and have it notarized (if mailing in the application). Additionally, residents paying for their duplicate car title fee by credit card through the mail must print and complete a Credit Card Authorization form and attach it to the duplicate car title application.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
Nevada residents with lost car titles will have to apply for duplicate car titles by mail or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. Once the duplicate car title has been processed, it becomes the valid car title for that vehicle. If the previously lost car title is located, it should be returned to the local DMV office to be surrendered and disposed of.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
The process for obtaining a title for a motorcycle is the same as any other vehicle in Nevada. Bring the transferred car title signed by the seller along with a bill of sale. If no title is available, residents must print and complete an Application for Duplicate Title. Motorcycles and scooters are not subject to emissions inspection. If buying a new motorcycle, moped or scooter from a dealership, the dealer will provide a new pink slip.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
Residents of Nevada who are buying or selling a vehicle must obtain a car title transfer to switch the car from the seller s name to the buyer s. A bill of sale should be completed for all sales transactions involving vehicles in Nevada. A copy should be provided to both the buyer and seller as proof of sale. During the car title transfer, the buyer should bring the bill of sale to the local Nevada DMV office along with the current title and emissions inspection certificate (if applicable).

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Nevada

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
Print out and complete an Application for Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title, then have it notarized. If paying the duplicate car title fees by credit card, attach the Credit Card Authorization form as well. Once ready, duplicate car title applications are mailed to the following address:

Nevada DMV

555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711-0700

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Residents of Nevada who have lost, damaged or stolen car titles must apply for a duplicate car title by mail or in person at a local Nevada DMV office. The required forms for a duplicate car title include the Application for Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title, as well as the Credit Card Authorization form (if the resident is submitting through the mail and paying by credit card). Proof of insurance is not required to receive a duplicate car title.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Nevada