In the state of South Dakota, traffic schools offer to as ‘Defensive Driving Courses’ (DDC). There are two reasons why people enroll in the Defensive Driving Courses:
- After a traffic violation where demerit points were awarded, the court may order the driver to take a course at a traffic/driving school to improve their safe-driving skills.
- To receive insurance discounts.
This program is designed to help you to learn defensive driving techniques that will make you a safer driver. The DDC is an eight hour course and there are various locations and online clinics offered in South Dakota. If the clinic has been court-ordered, please ensure that the court will accept a certificate of completion from an online course, before enrolling in a computer based DDC.
Any driver can enroll in a Defensive Driving Course at any time to receive the following benefits:
- Insurance Benefits - some insurance companies may offer premium discounts. Please check with your insurance representative to see if you qualify for this discount.
WHEN IS IT MANDATORY?
Either the court or the DMV (when notified by the courts) may order you to successfully complete a defensive driving course when you have been convicted of a moving or traffic violation. It is under the court’s discretion as to whether or not you will be mandated to take one of these courses.
Depending on the location, the 8 hour clinics or online courses can cost up to $85.00.
- If you are looking for information on how to get your license or permit, see Driver’s Education.
- Please click on defensive driving schools for details about other safe driving courses.
- When studying for your driver’s license/permit, use the driver’s manual to help you learn about safe driving techniques and traffic laws.
- For more licensing and safe-driving information for beginning drivers, see learner’s permits.