Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?

While it is not a requirement for Alabama drivers dealing with lost or stolen drivers licenses to file a police report, it is recommended by the Alabama DMV. To report a lost or stolen drivers license, visit a local law enforcement office and ask to file a police report. Once you have done so, take a copy of the police report to a local AL DMV office and replace drivers license documentation. The DMV will place the police report on file for identity theft prevention purposes.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?

You can get a copy of the Alabama Driver Manual by visiting the Department of Public Safety website. Download a version by clicking on this link. The manual includes detailed information about the following topics, among others:

  • License Requirements
  • Graduated Driver Licensing
  • Commercial Driving
  • Alabama Point System
  • Traffic Laws
  • Road Signs and Signals
  • Safe Driving

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

How can I renew my drivers license?

Residents of Alabama who need to renew expired drivers licenses can initiate a drivers license renewal online, by mail (limited availability) or in person at a local AL DMV office. You can renew drivers licenses up to 60 days before the license expiration date. Additionally, Alabama allows a 60-day grace period after the expiration date during which the expired drivers license is still valid. You must renew licenses before the grace period is over to avoid late fees.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

How do I apply for a drivers license?

When applying for a regular AL drivers license, residents are obligated to visit a DPS office. During your visit, you are required make the following steps:

  • Present certain documentation to prove your identity and status in the country
  • Pass a vision test
  • Submit payment for the application fee
  • Show proof of car insurance and car registration (if requested)

Only documents that are original or certified copies will be accepted. There must be no markings on the paper, and the writing must be legible.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

How do I get a hardship license?

Alabama does not currently have a hardship license policy.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?

Residents of Alabama who are active-duty military members stationed out of state and need to replace drivers licenses can do so by mail. Print and complete an Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License (Out-of-state). Include a copy of your military ID, current military orders and the duplicate drivers license fee of $36.25 (fees may vary).

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a duplicate license?

Drivers in Alabama dealing with stolen, damaged or lost drivers licenses should apply for a drivers license replacement at a local AL DMV office. To replace drivers licenses, you will need to provide proof of identity to DMV officials and proof of your Social Security number. The fee to replace licenses in Alabama is $36.25.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?

Alabama does not currently have any Habitual Traffic Offender laws. Each traffic violation committed by drivers is treated as its own offense. However, repeat DUI offenders will face harsher penalties for subsequent offenses within a certain time period, including increased fines and suspensions.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

How do I reinstate my suspended license?

Drivers must meet all requirements ordered by the court to reinstate suspended drivers licenses. Penalties vary depending on the action, and could include different types of fees, drivers ed, jail time and the installation of an ignition interlock device. Once you have met all the requirements of a suspended drivers license court mandate, you can apply for license Alabama reinstatement. To find out the requirements in your particular case, submit a Request for Reinstatement Requirements form to the following address:

Driver License Division

P. O. Box 1471

Montgomery, AL 36102

You will receive a list of reinstatement requirements to fulfill.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?

Active-duty military members stationed out of state can renew drivers licenses by mail. Complete an Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License (Out-of-state) form. You must include with the drivers license renewal form a copy of your military ID and military orders. Additionally, include the fee of $36.25 for renewing drivers licenses (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?

Documents must include either two primary documents or three secondary documents. Acceptable documents include:

  • Primary

o Alabama identification card

o Certificate of naturalization

o U.S. certificate of birth abroad

o Resident alien card

o Valid foreign passport with valid U.S. immigration document

  • Secondary

o Marriage license

o Medical insurance ID

o School ID

o School enrollment form (DL-1/93)

o Certified school record:

o W-2 tax form

o Court documents (i.e. divorce documents, adoption records, name-change documents)

o Valid visa

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?

Alabama residents dealing with lost or stolen drivers licenses while out of state may be eligible to replace driving licenses by mail under certain circumstances. Eligible individuals include:

  • Active-duty military members stationed out of state and their dependents
  • Alabama residents attending out-of-state schools
  • CDL holders
  • Residents who have received Alabama licenses in the past four years and have their picture and signature on file with the DMV

To replace Alabama DMV drivers licenses while out of state, print and complete an Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License (Out-of-State). Include with the form a copy of military ID or student ID (where applicable). If you are a commercial driver applying for a duplicate CDL, complete a Self-Certification Affidavit and mail that with the application, along with the duplicate drivers license fee.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

How does the DMV check my vision?

When applying for drivers licenses, a vision screening exam will be conducted at the DPS office. If the exam shows that you need to wear corrective lenses while driving, you will be required to do so every time you operate a motor vehicle. In the event that you do not pass this exam, you must visit a licensed eye specialist for further review. Your eye specialist is responsible for sending written report of his or her conclusions to the DMV after an in-office screening is completed.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?

If you refuse to submit to a chemical test when requested by a law enforcement official, you face drivers license suspension. For a first offense, driving license suspension lasts 90 days. For two or more offenses, you will receive a suspended drivers license for one year.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?

Drivers in Alabama who would like to initiate a drivers licenses renewal prior to the expiration date can do so online or in person at a local AL DMV office. The Alabama DMV allows drivers to renew driving licenses up to 60 days before the expiration date. Additionally, there is a 60-day grace period to renew expired drivers licenses.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?

Filing a police report prior to applying to replace DMV drivers licenses is not a requirement in Alabama. It will also not result in the drivers license replacement fee being waived. However, the Alabama DMV recommends all drivers file police reports prior to applying to replace driving licenses for identity theft protection purposes. After filing a report, supply the DMV with a copy to keep on file.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there an age limit to renew your license?

No, there isn t an age limit to renew Class D licenses. However, if during the process of renewing drivers licenses it becomes apparent there is physical or mental impairment, the Alabama DMV can require applicants to retake the written, vision and/or driving tests. Drivers who fail to meet these requirements will have their drivers licenses revoked.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?

The DMV provides drivers with temporary drivers license after requesting a drivers license replacement. Your drivers license copy will arrive within two weeks. If you have not received the duplicate drivers license within that time, contact a local AL DMV office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?

Standard license renewal rules also apply to senior citizens in Alabama. A drivers license is valid for four years in the state before you are required to complete the renewal process. You can apply sixty days prior to the expiration date of your license, with a grace period of up to sixty days thereafter. AL allows drivers to renew their drivers license in one of three ways:

  • Online
  • By Mail
  • In Person

You must meet certain criteria in order to be qualified for license renewal online or by mail.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?

Drivers in Alabama can receive a drivers license suspension for a number of reasons. Common reasons for suspended drivers licenses include the following:

  • Habitual traffic offenses/reckless driving
  • Hit and run
  • Drag racing
  • Failure to appear for court date
  • Failure to pay fines
  • Not paying child support
  • DUI/DWI

Drivers can reinstate suspended drivers licenses through the Department of Public Safety after serving their suspension period.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?

Residents of Alabama with suspended or revoked drivers licenses are prohibited from operating motor vehicles anywhere in the country for the duration of their suspension/revocation period. Drivers with a suspended driving license will receive a fine between $100 and $500, along with up to 180-days jail time. You may also have your suspension period extended for six months.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?

Alabama drivers looking to replace stolen drivers licenses can do so in person at a local AL DMV office. Drivers must also pay the $36.25 drivers license copy fee.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?

The fees to reinstate drivers licenses in Alabama depend on whether or not the license was revoked or suspended, as well as the violation that led to the suspension/revocation. For non-alcohol or drug-related offenses, the reinstate suspended drivers license fee is $100. The cost to reinstate revoked drivers licenses in these situations is $175.

For alcohol or drug-related offenses, the reinstatement fee for suspended or revoked drivers license is $275. You will also have to pay an additional fee of $25 if the charge is drug-related. Drivers must also pay an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) issuance fee of $150 if the court orders one.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?

As of now, Alabama does not offer hardship licenses. To reinstate suspended drivers licenses, you must meet the requirements of your suspension. Once the requirements are met, you may pay the suspended drivers license reinstatement fees.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?

If you do not pass the road skills test on your first try, you will need to re-take the exam at a later time. Your road test must be taken in a car that is issued to a licensed Alabama driver. That s because should you fail the exam, the licensed driver will then be required to drive the vehicle away from the local DPS office.

The vehicle used for the test must have functioning headlights, direction signals, seat belts, windshield wipers, rear tail lights and more. Prior to taking the test, you will be asked to supply proof of car insurance, car registration and identification documents.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?

The state of Alabama requires potential drivers to present the following documentation at a local DPS office:

  • Proof of identity:

o Two forms of primary ID, one of which must contain a photo

Or

o Three non-photo forms of primary ID

Examples of primary documents:

o Alabama driver s license or ID card

o Certificate of Naturalization, Certificate of Citizenship

o U.S. Birth Certificate

o U.S. Passport

o Permanent Resident Card

o Valid U.S. immigration document

  • Proof of Social Security Number:

o Social Security Card

o W-2 form

The documents you bring cannot be damaged, torn or marked. Only originals or certified copies are accepted. If you have a notarized document, the notary s seal or stamp must be clearly visible.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?

You must bring the following documents and items to renew driver s licenses:

  • Current Alabama drivers license
  • Proof of identity
  • Fee for renewing drivers license ($36.25; fees may vary)

For more information on how to renew drivers licenses, contact an Alabama DMV office near you. Qualified drivers may also have the opportunity to renew drivers license online.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?

Residents of Alabama who need to replace lost drivers licenses must provide a few documents at a local AL DMV office prior to receiving their drivers license copy. Required documents include:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of your Social Security number
  • Duplicate drivers license fee

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

What languages is the written test available in?

The written drivers test can be taken in many languages other than English:

  • Chinese
  • Farsi
  • German
  • Thai
  • Vietnamese
  • French
  • Arabic
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Japanese

If you are unable to comprehend or read a written exam, you can ask to take an oral test instead. Find out more by visiting your local DPS office and speaking to a customer service agent.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?

Drivers in Alabama have a 60-day grace period during which their expired drivers licenses are still valid. During this time, you must renew driving licenses to avoid late fees and penalties for driving with an expired drivers license. Additionally, drivers who wait three or more years to renew expired drivers licenses will have to take the written exam and road skills test again.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?

You should expect to receive renewed license within two weeks. If you have not received your drivers license renewal in that time, contact a local AL DMV office. Out-of-state residents who renew drivers licenses by mail will receive a new license with four weeks.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?

During the different stages of the Graduated Driver Licensing program, applicants must first pass the written knowledge test, followed by a road skills test. If you pass the road skills test, a vision test will be administered.

Drivers with out-of-state drivers licenses will also need to take a vision exam to get a new Alabama driver s license.

In some instances, such as when your AL driving license has been expired for a long period of time, you may be required to re-take a written knowledge exam, and/or a road skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

What type of noncommercial license will I need?

In Alabama, a Class D license is considered a noncommercial license to operate a private, passenger vehicle. Class M is a noncommercial drivers license for motorcycle riders. In some cases, your license may contain one or more restrictions, such as these:

  • A Corrective lenses
  • E Daylight driver only
  • F Hand controls
  • Y Learner s license
  • J Hearing impaired

For a full list of restrictions, visit the Alabama Department of Public Safety website.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?

Alabama residents with suspended drivers licenses will have different license suspension term lengths depending on the offense. Once you have waited the right amount of time and satisfied all other requirements, you can go about reinstating suspended drivers licenses. The Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) processes Suspended drivers license reinstatements.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

When will I need to renew my license?

Alabama drivers wondering when and how to renew drivers licenses should visit a local AL DMV office with their expired drivers license within 60 days of the expiration date. Alabama drivers licenses expire four years after the date of issue. Drivers who renew expired drivers licenses after three or more years will have a new expiration date set four years from the last expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?

Upon receipt of your lost drivers license application, the Alabama DMV will supply you with a temporary drivers license. Your drivers licenses replacement will arrive in the mail within two weeks.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Alabama Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?

Alabama has recently launched a service known as ALVerify that allows Alabama drivers and tag officials to check the status of an Alabama drivers license. To check your drivers license status, visit the ALVerify website and enter your last name, drivers license number and expiration date.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Alabama

Where can I get a new drivers license?

The process of applying for an Alabama license to drive takes place at a Department of Public Safety branch. In order to receive a new license, follow the steps below:

  • Pass a vision test
  • Submit proper documentation
  • Have payment ready for the application fee

Some vehicles and situations do not require the driver to apply for drivers license:

  • Farm tractor
  • An employee by the federal government who is driving a vehicle that is owned or leased by them
  • A person who has a drivers license in his or her home state or country, such as military members
  • A student in Alabama and who has a license from his or her home state or country

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Alabama

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?

No, however, if it becomes apparent that you have a visual impairment or the doctor s note on file is out of date, you may be required to retake a vision test prior to renew your expired drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?

Alabama does not mail out renewal notices informing residents they must renew licenses. It is up to drivers in the state to remember the expiration date and renew expired drivers licenses before the grace period is over.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Alabama