Fight Your Ticket Online
Start Fighting Your Ticket
97% Success Rate - WIN or it's FREE - No Going To Court
- Fill out the form below
- Snap a photo of your ticket
- Get matched with a top attorney
Traffic citations in New Jersey may be issued to drivers who commit traffic or criminal offenses. Motorists are required to either pay driving fines when they are guilty of charge or challenge speeding tickets by pleading "not guilty", in order to settle their cases.
Fighting a New Jersey Ticket
Drivers who want to fight traffic tickets in New Jersey may do so on the due date written on their tickets. They only need to appear in court and plead "not guilty" of the offense they are charged with. However, before contesting a traffic citation, drivers must be aware that some courts may require them to submit a notification of their actions within a week before the due date. Your traffic ticket will be dismissed if the judge decides you are not guilty. Drivers will have to pay traffic fines in New Jersey if they fail to prove their innocence. In order to best prepare to fight their tickets in court, many drivers prefer to hire legal representation. This can be done easily online. Drivers need only send in a snapshot of their citation and answer a few questions about their fines and assigned court.
Paying a New Jersey Ticket
New Jersey traffic tickets payments are required when drivers fail to prove their innocence, or when they plead guilty of charge. Motorists wondering "How and where do I pay my speeding ticket?" may follow the instructions written on their tickets. The available ticket violation payment methods are: online, by mail, or in person at the proper court. For more specific information about the where to pay traffic tickets in New Jersey, continue reading the "How to Pay Traffic Tickets" page.
Lost Tickets in New Jersey
Drivers cannot fight traffic tickets or pay driving fines in New Jersey without the citations in their possession. If you have lost your traffic citation, you are encouraged to contact the municipal court where your ticket was issued in order to be able to settle your case. When trying to find your NJ traffic ticket, make sure to remember as many details as possible about the name of the officer and the location where it was issued, or the amount of the traffic fine you are required to pay.
New Jersey Fines and Penalties
Paying driving fines in New Jersey is a mandatory action for drivers who are guilty of charge or who failed to beat a traffic ticket at court. Receiving traffic citations will bring you demerit points on your driving record and penalties such as driver's license suspensions. The NJ traffic fine are written on your ticket and may vary depending on the violation you have committed. In addition to the driving fines, accumulating high number of demerit points on your record may result in additional surcharges. New Jersey has a Surcharge Violation System (SVS), created for assessing surcharges to drivers who accumulate six or more demerit points within three years. The surcharge amounts $150 for the first six points and $25 for each additional point. If they want to avoid dealing with these penalties, drivers must successfully contest their tickets, preferably with the help of a knowledgeable lawyer, which can be found online.
Points in New Jersey
Traffic tickets in New Jersey will bring you demerit points on your driving record. Both major and minor traffic violations are recorded on your driving record along with a specific number of points, such as the following:
- Improperly passing a school bus: 5 points.
- Driving 15 to 29 mph over the posted speed limit: 4 points.
- Using a mobile phone while operating your vehicle: 3 points.
- Riding with a passenger on a motorized bicycle: 2 points.
For every year without an NJ traffic violation, the Motor Vehicle Commission will remove up to three points from your record. In addition, drivers may enroll in a state-approved traffic school in order to remove two demerit points from their driving records.
How Tickets Affect a New Jersey Drivers License
Receiving traffic tickets in New Jersey will mostly affect your driving privileges. Drivers who commit traffic violations usually receive demerit points on their driving records. Motorists who accumulate 12 or more points in a two-year period will get driver's license suspensions. Therefore, drivers need to either dismiss traffic tickets or to lower the number of demerit points by enrolling in traffic school.
New Jersey Car Insurance Fines and Violations
Committing traffic violations in New Jersey may also increase your car insurance premiums. Taking a state-approved defensive driving course will help you lower your insurance rates, thus becoming less of a liability to an auto insurance company. Drivers can dispute traffic tickets and receive premiums at a lower cost by providing certificate of completion from a traffic school.