Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Keeping your car insurance from your previous state of residence depends on whether your auto insurance company is local in the state or nationally spread. Drivers with coverage from national car insurancecompanies can easily have their insurance transferred from their former state to Vermont. However, drivers with local insurance will be expected to get new car insurance company upon arrival in Vermont.
Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Depending on the auto insurance company you have chosen in Vermont, your car insurance may or may not be transferred to a new state. If your car insurance company is widespread on national level, you can keep your insurance when moving to another state. However, if your car insurance company is local in Vermont and doesn’t have branches out of the state, you will have to notify your auto insurance company of your move and provide a new address.
How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
The Vermont laws require all residents who own and operate a motor vehicle in the state to have minimum liability auto insurance coverage, which includes: bodily injury liability, property damage liability, uninsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured motorist property damage insurance.

Drivers pulled over by a police officer and found without these minimum requirements will have an immediate license and registration suspension until the moment when they will show proof of minimum liability vehicle insurance.

For more information: Vermont Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
The state of Vermont has laws that require all vehicle operators who have been in an accident to report all damages to the Vermont DMV. Also, if you are a Vermont resident and you have been through an accident, you must report all the damages to insurance companies as well. This will allow you to make claims for financial compensation.

Minimum insurance requirements in Vermont include the following:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance
  • Property damage liability insurance
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance

For more information: How To: Save on Vermont Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Vermont laws require all residents who own and operate a motor vehicle in the state to have minimum liability auto insurance coverage, which includes: bodily injury liability, property damage liability, uninsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured motorist property damage insurance.

If you are a driver who lives outside of the state for half the year but you still own and operate a motor vehicle in Vermont for the other half of the year, you are required to follow the Vermont laws for a minimum liability auto insurance coverage.

For more information: Vermont Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
In Vermont, it is illegal to operate a vehicle if it is not covered by a minimum of liability car insurance. The minimum vehicle coverage in Vermont includes:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance:
    • Injury or death of one person: $25,000
    • Total injury or death if multiple people are hurt: $50,000
  • Property damage liability insurance: $10,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance:
    • Bodily injury to one person: $50,000
    • Total injury if multiple people are injured/killed: $100,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance: $10,000

For more information: How To: Save on Vermont Auto Insurance

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Vermont laws require all licensed drivers to carry proof of car insurance in their vehicle and show it to a police officer if pulled over. Driving without a car insurance in Vermont will bring you a fine of $100 for a first offense, will add two demerit points on your driving record and you will have to provide a proof of SR-22 insurance form on file at the Vermont DMV. Having no proof of car insurance might also result in license suspension. You need to obtain a form of proof of insurance from your auto insurance company, which normally is issued as a car insurance ID card.

For more information: Vermont Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In Vermont, all motor vehicle operators are required to have a minimum of liability car insurance. Required car insurance includes:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance
  • Property damage liability insurance
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance
  • Uninsured motorist property damage insurance

For more information: How To: Save on Vermont Auto Insurance

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Vermont operators who decide to operate a motor vehicle without getting car insurance might be subject to penalties of minimum liability coverage laws. The state does not require you to bring a proof of car insurance to the DMV. However, if a police officer pulls you over and you fail to show proof of car insurance, your drivers license and car registration will be suspended. In order to avoid all this, you need to obtain a form of proof of insurance from your auto insurance company, which normally is issued as a car insurance ID card.

For more information: How To: Save on Vermont Auto Insurance

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All Vermont residents are required to have vehicle insurance on all motor vehicles registered in the state. If you want to drive your vehicle, you must insure it no matter what type of vehicle it is. Keep in mind that it is illegal to operate a vehicle that is not covered by a minimum of liability insurance in Vermont.

The car insurance minimum includes the following:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance
  • Property damage liability insurance
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance
  • Uninsured motorist property damage insurance

For more information: How To: Save on Vermont Auto Insurance