Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No. Washington residents must get car insurance in Washington.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Yes. Residents of a state are required to have insurance for their vehicle in their active state of residence. Thus, previous car insurance policies should be canceled and a new one must be purchased when moving to another state.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Car insurance is mandatory in the state of Washington. If you do not plan on purchasing auto coverage, then you should surrender your vehicle registration and license plates in order to avoid a suspension of your license.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If a police officer does not file a report for your collision, each driver must file theirs within four days of the accident, with a detailed description of the damages. The necessary forms can be found at your local police department or county sheriff s office. If the accident caused at least $1,000 in property damage, it will go on your driving record.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
All resident drivers in the state of Washington are required to have WA car insurance. It does not matter how long you are out-of-state. As long as you are considered a resident, you must have the minimum amounts of coverage.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Each auto insurance policy in Washington must meet the following minimum amounts:

  • $10,000 in property damage for one accident
  • $25,000 in bodily injury or death for one person in one accident.
  • $50,000 in bodily injury or death for two people in one accident.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
There are a number of ways that a driver can prove that he or she has the state minimum car insurance. You can bring any of the following documents as proof:

  • A car insurance card.
  • An insurance policy.
  • An insurance binder.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
Liability car insurance is required in Washington. All drivers who plan to operate a motor vehicle within the state must have all of the following types of coverage in their policy:

  • Property Damage Insurance
  • Bodily Injury Insurance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Drivers who do not have or fail to keep auto insurance in the state of Washington are subject to penalties. The minimum fine for this infraction is $450.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
A variety of vehicles must be insured in the state of Washington, including:

  • Passenger vehicles.
  • Pickup trucks.
  • Commercial vehicles.

However, motorcycles and mopeds do not require coverage.

For more information: How To: Save on Washington Auto Insurance