Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No. Every new Pennsylvania resident must cancel the auto insurance policy that is held in another state of residence. Once the out-of-state auto coverage policy is complete, new residents need to buy a new car policy in PA, which meets the state s minimum amounts of coverage.

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Yes. Drivers are required to have car insurance in their state of residence. Thus, an out-of-state car insurance policy must be canceled before the new policy is purchased.

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Anyone who wants to legally operate a vehicle must have vehicle insurance. If you decide not to purchase coverage, the only way to avoid drivers license suspension and fines is to cancel your car registration and surrender your plates.

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
In the state of Pennsylvania, a car accident must be reported to the police department if it meets one of the following criteria:

  • It involves the injury/death of a person.
  • It involves damage to a motor vehicle that will no longer allow it to be driven under its own power without additional damage or hazards, resulting in a tow

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Yes. As long as you are considered a resident of the state of Pennsylvania, you are required to have car insurance that meets the state s minimum standards.

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
To legally operate a vehicle in the state of Pennsylvania, a driver must meet the following auto insurance minimums:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury/death for one person in an accident
  • $30,000 for bodily injury/death for two or more people in an accident
  • $5,000 for property damage

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
There are three common documents that a driver can provide to show proof of car insurance in PA. These are as follows:

  • Auto insurance cards
  • Insurance policies
  • Insurance binders

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
Within the state of Pennsylvania, all drivers are required to have the following types of PA car insurance:

  • Medical Benefits (no-fault) insurance
  • Liability car insurance:

o Bodily injury

o Property damages

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
If you are caught operating a car without vehicle insurance, you will incur the following penalties:

  • A minimum fine of $300
  • A three-month suspension of your drivers license and car registration
  • An $88 restoration fee for registration
  • An $88 restoration fee for your license

o If it was a CDL, the restoration fee is $188.

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
In the state of Pennsylvania, all motor vehicles required to get auto registration must also have Pennsylvania car insurance. Included vehicles are as follows:

  • Passenger cars
  • Trucks
  • Vans
  • Recreational vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Buses
  • Commercial vehicles

For more information: Pennsylvania Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save