Violating Ohio driving and traffic laws can result in fines, the suspension of your driving privileges, and even imprisonment. The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) uses a point system to track violations and their corresponding penalties. Points are added to your driving record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations.
Complete our FREE DUI Evaluation Form
MOVING VIOLATIONS AND POINTS
Different violations are assigned different point values, which are added to your driving record. For instance, moving violations like driving without a license, failure to observe traffic signals, and improper passing each carry two points. Four-point offences include reckless driving and unsafe operation of vehicle. Six-Point offences include murder and vehicular assault. The number of points assessed for different speeding violations are as follows:
Exceeding the maximum speed limit of 55 mph or more by 10-30 mph: 2 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit of 55 mph or less by 5-30 mph: 2 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 30 mph or more: 4 points
View the complete Point Schedule to learn about the number of points associated with each type of moving violation.
You will be subject to specific penalties if you accumulate a certain number of points on your driving license:
- You will have your license suspended for six months if you accumulate 12 points or more on your current driving record within two years. You will be sent a notice of warning if you get six or more points on your current driving record within any two year period. You may be imprisoned for driving with a suspended license.
- Accumulating points on your driving license is also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORD
The Ohio BMV maintains a record of all the points added to your driving license. However, you can remove points from your current driving record.
- Taking a Defensive Driving Course when you have 2 -11 points on your record, enables you to get a two point-credit, and may also qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates. This course can only be taken once in three years for a maximum of 5 times.
HOW TO DISPUTE A MOVING VIOLATION CHARGE
If you believe you have been incorrectly charged with committing a moving violation, you may be able to fight the charge in court. See Traffic Tickets and Traffic Ticket Attorneys for more information.