DMV.com - your advisor for Oklahoma DMV issues (not from Oklahoma? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you have

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping or if you need the support of a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair or another person.
  • Restricted walking due to arthritis, neurological or orthopedic conditions or have complications due to pregnancy.
  • Suffer from lung disease or use portable oxygen.
  • A cardiac condition classified by the American Heart Association as Class III or Class IV.
  • Vision problems and are legally blind.
  • Lost any of the limbs which impairs mobility.

Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person (DP) placard or DP license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines of up to $500.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a DP placard or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

DP license plates are available only to those who have a five year parking placard from the Department of Public Safety and are valid for 1year only.

DP placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 5 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months or to the period certified by the physician whichever is earlier.

How to apply for DP license plates or a DP placard

To obtain DP license plates:

  1. Download and complete the Physically Disabled License Plate Application.
  2. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.
  3. Your regular license plate should be renewed regularly to avoid penalties.
  4. Your regular license plate should be carried with you at all time to show it to the law enforcement officers on demand.
  5. You can use the special license plates as long as you renew it.
  6. If you wish to transfer these license plates to another vehicle, you have to submit a Request to Transfer Form (OTC Form 783- A) to the Motor Vehicle Special Vehicle Section. This form can be obtained from your local tag agency.

To obtain a DP placard:

  1. Download and complete the Handicapped Parking Placard Application.
  2. Have a licensed physician or surgeon, osteopath, chiropractor, podiatrist or an ophthalmologist, licensed physicians assistant or a licensed and certified advanced registered nurse practitioner complete the disability portion of the form.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.

FEE

A permanent and temporary DP placard is free. For a single license plate and decal, the fee is $2. An additional $2 will be charged for mailing. Please allow 8 weeks for processing.

For a duplicate license plate and decal (to be displayed in the front and rear of the same vehicle), the fee is $10. An additional $2 will be charged for mailing. Please allow 8 weeks for processing.

For renewing the single license plate and decal, the fee is $10. An additional $1 will be charged for mailing. Please allow 8 weeks for processing

For renewing the duplicate license plate and decal (to be displayed in the front and rear of the same vehicle), the fee is $10. An additional $2 will be charged for mailing. Please allow 8 weeks for processing.

RENEWAL

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates, visit your local tag office.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money