DMV.com - your advisor for Montana DMV issues (not from Montana? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in Montana

In Montana, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you:

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
  • Are severely limited in ability to walk because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
  • Are so severely disabled that the person cannot walk without assistance from a brace, cane, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
  • Use portable oxygen.
  • Are restricted by lung disease to the extent that forced expiratory respiratory volume, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter per second or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm of mercury on room air at rest.
  • Are severely impaired due to a Class III or Class IV cardiovascular disease as classified under standards accepted by the American Heart Association.
  • Have a disability resulting from an acute sensitivity to automobile emissions.
  • Suffer from a disease or physical condition that limits your mobility or is comparable in severity to the other conditions listed here.

Disabled persons can acquire a disability permit or license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines, suspension of their special parking privileges, or imprisonment in county jail. Forgery and/or trading in counterfeit or genuine placards invite higher penalties, including time in state prison.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a disability permit or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

Disability license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled and are valid for 8 years.

Disability placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 3 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months or the date noted by your physician, whichever is lesser.
  • Extended temporary placards are valid for up to 24 months.

How to apply for disability license plates or a disability permit

To obtain disability license plates:
  1. Download and complete the Disability Permit/License Plate Application.
  2. Have a licensed physician, Chiropractor, or Advance Practice Registered Nurse complete and sign Section B of the form.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the nearest county treasurers' office.
To obtain a disability permit:
  1. Download and complete the Disability Permit/License Plate Application.
  2. Have a licensed physician, Chiropractor, or Advance Practice Registered Nurse complete and sign Section B of the form.
  3. Mail the completed form to the following address:
    Title and Registration Bureau
    Motor Vehicle Division
    Montana Department of Justice
    1003 Buckskin Drive
    Deer Lodge, MT 59722    

FEE

There is no fee for a disability parking permit. Disability license plates do not have any extra fess other than the normal registration fees.

RENEWAL

Before the 3 year validity of permanent disability permits is over:
  1. Download and complete the Disability Permit/License Plate Application.
  2. Have a licensed physician, Chiropractor, or Advance Practice Registered Nurse complete and sign Section B of the form.
  3. Mail the completed form to the following address:
    Title and Registration Bureau
    Motor Vehicle Division
    Montana Department of Justice
    1003 Buckskin Drive
    Deer Lodge, MT 59722    

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates:
  1. Download and complete the Disability Permit/License Plate Application.
  2. Have a licensed physician, Chiropractor, or Advance Practice Registered Nurse complete and sign Section B of the form.
  3. Enclose any mutilated placard or remaining plates.
  4. Mail the completed form to the following address:
    Title and Registration Bureau
    Motor Vehicle Division
    Montana Department of Justice
    1003 Buckskin Drive
    Deer Lodge, MT 59722    

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Reviews of Information for Disabled Drivers in Montana

I sent in the completed form for handicap plaquards over 4 weeks ago and have not received them yet. How long does it normally take?

Angela C. Berg, Kalispell, Mt.

I am wondering the same thing; how long should it take to receive a placard?

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money