DMV.com - your advisor for Alaska DMV issues (not from Alaska? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in Alaska

In Alaska, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you:

  • Are unable to walk 200 m without resting due to orthopedic, arthritic or neurological condition.
  • Need to use another person, support, a prosthetic device or a wheelchair.
  • Have a disabling cardiac condition as per the American Heart Association standards.
  • Have a disabling lung disease or need to use portable oxygen.

Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person (DP) placard or DP license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these parking privileges can result in fines of up to $500, along with confiscation of the DP license plates and placard.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a DP placard or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

DP license plates are issued to those with permanent disability.

DP placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 5 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months, with the placard expiring on the last day of the month shown on the placard.

How to apply for DP license plates or a DP placard

To obtain DP license plates or placards:
  1. Download and complete the Application for Disabled Parking Identification.
  2. Have a licensed physician, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, podiatrist or chiropractor sign the Doctor's Certification of Disability portion of the form.
  3. Submit the completed form at your local DMV office or mail the completed form to:
    State of Alaska
    Division of Motor Vehicles
    Attn: Disability Permit
    1300 W. Benson Blvd., Suite 200
    Anchorage, AK 99503-3600    

EXEMPTIONS

You do not need a doctor's certificate, if:
  • You are a veteran and you possess a certificate from any United States federal government agency, indicating a service-related disability.

FEE

The fee for registration is waived off for disabled parking plates and placards.

RENEWAL

Once the 5 year validity of permanent DP license plates or placards is over:
  1. You will need to submit the Application for Disabled Parking Identification at your local DMV office or mail the completed form, along with any fees, to:
    State of Alaska
    Division of Motor Vehicles
    Attn: Disability Permit
    1300 W. Benson Blvd., Suite 200
    Anchorage, AK 99503-3600    
  2. Holders of permanent placards do not require recertification by a doctor.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money