DMV.com - your advisor for North Dakota DMV issues (not from North Dakota? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in North Dakota

Information for Disabled Drivers in North Dakota

In North Dakota, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you have

  • To use portable oxygen.
  • An orthopedic, neurological or some other medical condition because of which you cannot walk more than 200 feet without assistance.
  • A pulmonary, cardiac or vascular disease which impairs mobility.
  • A cardiac condition classified by the American Heart Association as Class III or Class IV.

Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person (DP) placard or DP license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines of $100.

Any physician who falsely certifies a person as mobility impaired is guilty of infraction and can be fined up to $100.

The permit has to be displayed in the rear view mirror when you are the passenger or driver of the vehicle. A $5 fine will be imposed if the permit is obscured or not clearly displayed.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a DP placard or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

DP license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled.

DP placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 3 years.
  • Permanent placards are of 2 types -
    Permanent non reversible blue placard
    Permanent reversible blue placard    
  • Temporary (red) placards are valid for up to 3 months.

How to apply for DP license plates or a DP placard

To obtain DP license plates:
  1. Download and complete the Application for Mobility Impaired Parking Permit (SFN 2886).
  2. Have a licensed physician, chiropractor, physician's assistant, advanced nurse practitioner sign the Certification of Disability portion of the form.
  3. Provide the current registration card in your name, or documents that prove the vehicle is registered in your name; as well as any registration fees due on the vehicle.
  4. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.
To obtain a DP placard:
  1. Download and complete the Application for Mobility Impaired Parking Permit (SFN 2886).
  2. Have a licensed physician, chiropractor, physician's assistant, advanced nurse practitioner sign the Certification of Disability portion of the form.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.
Alternatively, to obtain either the plates or the placard, you can take the form to a local MVD office. You will receive your placard (or plates) within approximately two weeks.

FEE

A permanent DP placard is free but a temporary DP placard costs $3. Mobility Impaired license plates cost $5. You may be issued 2 placards or 1 placard and 1 plate.

RENEWAL

Once the 3 year validity of permanent DP placards is over:
  1. The MVD will automatically you a renewal notice and the instructions.
  2. Holders of permanent non reversible blue placards do not require recertification by a doctor.
  3. Holders of permanent reversible blue placards require recertification by a doctor.
  4. Holders of temporary red placards cannot be renewed. It can be renewed every 3 months for a fee of $3.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates, you have to make a request in writing to the local MVD office. A replacement fee of $3 will be charged and you have to collect it in person.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money