DMV.com - your advisor for Mississippi DMV issues (not from Mississippi? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in Mississippi

In Mississippi, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you:

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
  • Cannot walk without the use of an assistive device.
  • Are restricted to lung disease to such an extent that your forced expiratory volume for 1 second, when measured by spirometry, is less than 1 liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm mercury on room air at rest.
  • Use portable oxygen.
  • Have a severe Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
  • Are severely limited in your ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.

Disabled persons can acquire a disabled parking placard or disabled license tags. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines of $200 and suspension of your driving privileges for 90 days.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a disabled parking placard or license tags. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

Disabled license tags are available only to those who are permanently disabled and have a vehicle registered in their name. Tags are automatically renewed when you renew your registration.

Disabled parking placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 3 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months or the date noted by your physician, whichever is lesser.

How to apply for disabled license tags or a disabled parking placard

To obtain disabled license plates:
  1. Download and complete the disability plates.
  2. Have a licensed physician or nurse practitioner complete and sign Section 1 of the form.
  3. Provide details of your existing tag and title number.
  4. Submit the completed form along with applicable fees at the nearest tax collector's office.
To obtain a disabled parking placard:
  1. Download and complete the disability plates.
  2. Have a licensed physician or nurse practitioner complete and sign Section 1 of the form.
  3. Submit the completed form along with applicable fees at the nearest tax collector's office.

FEE

A permanent or temporary disabled parking placard is issued free of charge. No additional fees are levied for disabled license tags other than the normal registration fees.

RENEWAL

Tags are automatically renewed when you renew your registration.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates:
  1. Download and complete the disability plates.
  2. Enclose any mutilated placard or remaining plates.
  3. Have a licensed physician or nurse practitioner complete and sign Section 1 of the form.
  4. Submit the completed form along with applicable fees at the nearest tax collector's office.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money