DMV.com - your advisor for Pennsylvania DMV issues (not from Pennsylvania? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in Pennsylvania

Information for Disabled Drivers in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping or if you need the support of a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair or another person.
  • Do not have full use of an arm or both arms.
  • Have restricted walking due to arthritis, neurological or orthopedic conditions.
  • Suffer from lung disease such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 MM/HG on room air at rest.
  • Use portable oxygen.
  • Have a cardiac condition classified by the American Heart Association as Class III or Class IV.
  • Have vision problems and/or are legally blind.

Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person (DP) placard or DP license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines of up to $5000 and/or imprisonment for up to 2 years. Forgery and/or trading in counterfeit or genuine placards invite higher penalties (of not more than $ 10,000), and/or time in state prison for up to 5 years.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a DP placard or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

DP license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled.

DP placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid till last day of the month and year in the placard.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months and cannot be extended.

How to apply for DP license plates or a DP placard

To obtain DP license plates:
  1. Download and complete the Application for Person with Disability or Hearing Impaired Registration or a person with Disability Motorcycle Plate (MV 145).
  2. Have a Health Care Provider from Pennsylvania or any of the contiguous states (New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Delaware, Maryland, and West Virginia) sign the Certification of Disability portion of the form.
  3. Provide the current registration card in your name, or documents that prove the vehicle is registered in your name; as well as any registration fees due on the vehicle.
  4. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.
To obtain a DP placard:
  1. Download and complete the Person with Disability Parking Placard Application (MV 145A).
  2. Have a Health Care Provider from Pennsylvania or any of the contiguous states (New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Delaware, Maryland, and West Virginia) sign the Certification of Disability portion of the form.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.
Alternatively, to obtain either the plates or the placard, take the form to a local DOT office. You will receive your placard (or plates) within approximately two weeks.

FEE

A permanent DP placard, or a temporary DP placard is free. There is a fee of $7.50 fee for permanent DP plates.

RENEWAL

  1. The DMV will notify you by mail 60 days before the expiration of the permanent DP placard.
  2. Download and complete the Person with Disability Parking Placard Application (MV 145A).
  3. Holders of permanent placards do not require recertification by a doctor.
  4. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards:
  1. Download and complete the Person with Disability Parking Placard Application (MV 145A).
  2. Enclose any mutilated placard or remaining plates.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money