DMV.com - your advisor for Florida DMV issues (not from Florida? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in Florida

In Florida, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you:

  • Are unable to walk 200 feet without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, or other assistive device, or without assistance of another person.
  • Permanently need to use a wheelchair.
  • Are unable to walk 200 feet due to lung disease or require the use of portable oxygen.
  • Suffer from a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition.
  • Are severely limited in your walking ability because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.

Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person Parking Permit. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders can get fines of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment in county jail for up to 1 year. Forgery and/or trading in counterfeit or genuine placards invite higher penalties, including time in state prison.

Visit the section on Disabled Parking Permits for details.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a Disabled Parking Permit. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

Parking permits for the permanently disabled are valid for a period of 4 years and will expire on your birthday.

Temporary disabled parking permits are valid for a maximum of 6 months.

How to apply for a disabled parking permit

To obtain DP license plates:

  1. Download and complete the Application for a Disabled Parking Permit.
  2. Have a licensed physician, Chiropractor, Optometrist (in the case of blindness), advanced registered nurse practitioner under the protocol of a licensed physician, or a licensed physician's assistant sign the Statement of Certification on the form.
  3. Submit the completed form to the local county tax collector's office or license plate agency.

FEE

A regular disabled parking permit is free. A fee of $15 is charged for temporary disabled parking permits.

RENEWAL

Once the 4 year validity of regular disabled parking permits is over (they expire on the applicant's birthday), submit a copy of the registration for your expiring parking permit, along with the appropriate fees, by mail or in person to the tax collector's office or license plate agency in the county where you live.

Temporary Parking permits may not be renewed.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates or Voluntary replacement:

  1. Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation decal or Parking Permit (HSMV 83146).
  2. Enclose any mutilated placard or remaining plates.
  3. Pay the replacement fee of $10.00.
  4. For verification include a copy of the Florida vehicle registration certificate.
  5. A letter or clearance or a receipt from the Division of Driver License must be included for replacement applications of surrendered or seized license plate or parking permits.
  6. Submit the completed form to the local county tax collector's office or license plate agency.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

  • The disabled person must have a Florida driver license or Florida Identification card in his/her possession when the permit is in use.
  • An additional permit may be issued to a disabled person who qualifies as a frequent traveler or as a quadriplegic.
  • Location and hours of Florida DHS&MV offices.

Reviews of Information for Disabled Drivers in Florida

how can i obtain on my computer a printed application for a car handicap sign that is hooked onto the rear view mirror when in parking space

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money