DMV.com - your advisor for Delaware DMV issues (not from Delaware? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

Information for Disabled Drivers in Delaware

In Delaware, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you

  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest. Cannot walk safely without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assisting device.
  • Are restricted by lung disease to such an extent that your forced respiratory expiratory volume in one second is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty mm of mercury.
  • Require to use portable oxygen to assist in breathing.
  • Have a cardiac condition that is classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association.
  • Are severely limited in your ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.
  • Are 85 years of age or older.

Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person placard or special disabled license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor and can result in fines or suspension of driving privileges. Forgery and/or trading in counterfeit or genuine placards invite higher penalties, including time in state prison.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a disabled person's placard or special license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

Special disabled license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled.

Disabled placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 3 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to a maximum of 90 days.

How to apply for special license plates or a placard for persons with disabilities

To obtain special license plates for persons with disabilities:

  1. Download and complete the Application for Special License Plate or Special Parking Id Placard for Persons with Disabilities.
  2. Have a licensed physician sign the Doctor's Certification of Disability portion of the form. Applicants who are 85 years of age or older only need to provide proof of age.
  3. Provide the current registration card in your name, or documents that prove the vehicle is registered in your name; as well as any registration fees due on the vehicle.
  4. Surrender the current license plates of the vehicle.
  5. The application form may be submitted at your nearest DMV office.

To obtain a special parking placard for persons with disabilities:

  1. Download and complete the Application for Special License Plate or Special Parking Id Placard for Persons with Disabilities.
  2. Have a licensed physician sign the Doctor's Certification of Disability portion of the form. Applicants who are 85 years of age or older only need to provide proof of age.
  3. The application form may be submitted at your nearest DMV office.

EXEMPTIONS

You do not need a doctor's certificate, if you are 85 years of age or older.

FEE

No fees are charged for issuing special parking placards or license plates for persons with disabilities.

RENEWAL

Once the 3 year validity of permanent DP placards is over:

  1. You are required to complete and submit the Handicap Self-Certification form to your nearest DMV office.
  2. Holders of license plates or permanent placards do not require recertification by a doctor.

REPLACEMENT

To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates:

  1. Download and complete the Application for Special License Plate or Special Parking Id Placard for Persons with Disabilities.
  2. Enclose any mutilated placard or remaining plates.
  3. Submit the application to your nearest DMV office.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Reviews of Information for Disabled Drivers in Delaware

I know someone abusing the right to hold a disabled/ handicap plate , I have seen this person roofing a home, shoveling snow , running, working on vehicles, walking long distances, using a snow blower on there drive and sidewalk as well as snow blowing the persons across the streets drive more than once, and I am talking about 2010 snow we had in Delaware. What can be done to have this person investigated?

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money