Pass Your DMV Test
How to Apply for a New Driver's License in Florida
NEW DRIVERS AND FIRST TIME APPLICANTS
Following are the basic requirements for applying for a Florida driver's license:
- Applicants must be 15 years or older.
- Any individual under 18 should provide parental consent and must complete the graduated driver's licensing process. For additional details, see Beginner Drivers and/or Learner's Permits for Beginner Drivers.
- In order to qualify for a Florida driver license, one must complete a standard course on traffic law and substance abuse and receive a certificate to that effect. Everyone must pass tests for vision, hearing, road rules and signs as well as a practical driving test. Take practice tests and see the Driver's Handbook for more information on the written examination. Driver education programs can help individuals prepare for their road test.
- Applicants must provide two acceptable proofs of legal presence either in original or certified copies as well as proof of age and their social security card if they have one.
- Applicants who are not U.S. citizens must provide proof of legal presence in Florida.
NEW RESIDENTSFlorida residents holding a driver's license from another state may also need to pass the tests. The written and/or driving tests may be waived at the discretion of the examiner. However, like other applicants, new residents must provide proof of identification, residency and presence. Non-US citizens residing in Florida may apply for a Florida driver's license, as long as they can provide proof that they are legally authorized to be in the United States, and meet all the other requirements. Note that a Florida driver's license issued to a foreign national will expire no later than the last date on which they are authorized to be in the United States by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service. Details may be found on the official web-page
FEESThe cost for a non-commercial Florida driver's license is $48 and a replacement fee of $25. In addition there are fees for re-tests and a service fee of $5.25 in those counties where license procedures are handled by the tax collector's office. Other fee related information is available online.
- In Florida, driver's licenses are generally issued for four years and will be up for renewal before the driver's birthday in the fourth year
- If you don't have a conviction for three years or a revocation or suspense of license for seven you may be rewarded by a six-year license on the subsequent renewal
LEARNER'S LICENSEWith certain restrictions, an individual can legally drive in Florida with a learner's license. See more information on learner's licenses here.
- See also Renewing Your License.
- For information on other types of licenses, see Commercial Driver's Licenses, Motorcycle Licenses.
- It is necessary to have active Auto Insurance in order to drive legally in Florida.
- New drivers see our Driver Education , Driving Schools, Beginner Drivers and Learner's Permits for Beginner Drivers sections.