Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Recently transplanted Wisconsin residents with car insurance from another state will wonder whether or not they can keep their car insurance. Depending on the car insurance company and whether or not their coverage area includes Wisconsin, drivers may be able to keep their current policy. Contact the insurance company to ask about coverage areas and if the policy can be transferred to Wisconsin or if the driver needs to get a whole new policy.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Wisconsin residents with car insurance in Wisconsin who are moving to another state will need to either transfer their policy to the new state or cancel their policy and obtain a new car insurance plan in the new state. Depending on the car insurance company and whether or not the company has branches in the destination state, they may work with drivers to transfer car insurance. Drivers should contact their car insurance company for more details.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Drivers in Wisconsin without proper car insurance for their vehicle will have their licenses suspended if they are not able to provide proof of car insurance to a police officer at a traffic stop or accident. Violators will also be required to pay a $500 fine and file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate SR-22 form with the Wisconsin DMV for three years. Drivers will also have to pay a reinstatement fee to get their license back.

Wisconsin residents who would like to avoid filing for insurance can do so and avoid a drivers license reinstatement fee by surrendering their driver s license to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Wisconsin residents who have been involved in an accident are required to report the accident under certain circumstances. The following types of accidents must be reported:

  • Accidents involving injury or death
  • Accidents causing property damage amounting to $1,000 or more
  • Accidents causing property damage to government property amounting to $200 or more

Failure to report accidents to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation can result in a license suspension. If the drivers involved in the accident are found to not have had car insurance when the accident occurred, their licenses will also be suspended.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Wisconsin residents who live outside of the state for half of the year are still required to have car insurance. All Wisconsin residents operating motor vehicles on Wisconsin roads are required to have a minimum amount of liability car insurance coverage for their vehicles.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Wisconsin residents looking for car insurance must meet certain minimum liability coverage amounts. Minimum car insurance must include the following:

  • $10,000 property damage coverage
  • $25,000 injury and death of one person coverage
  • $50,000 injury and death of more than one person coverage

Most insurance companies in Wisconsin offer minimum car insurancecoverage as outlined by Wisconsin regulations.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Wisconsin residents wondering what proof of car insurance to provide when registering their vehicle can find out specifics ata local WI DMV office. Typically, Wisconsin drivers are not required to provide proof of car insurance when getting a drivers license or registering a car. However, drivers attempting to reinstate their licenses after a suspension or revocation may be asked to provide proof of car insurance.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
Wisconsin residents with vehicles are required to havecar insurance to operate on Wisconsin roads. Wisconsin regulations require a minimum coverage that includes bodily injury liability car insurance, property damage liability car insurance, and uninsured or underinsured motorist bodily injury car insurance.

Wisconsin drivers must provide proof of car insurance at all traffic stops and accidents whenever a law enforcement official asks to see it. Residents driving a vehicle without car insurance are subject to a $500 fine. Residents who provide false proof of car insurance are subject to a $5,000 fine.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Wisconsin drivers are required to have insurance and provide proof of insurance at all traffic stops and accidents when requested by local law enforcement. Penalties for operating a motor vehicle without car insurance include a $500 fine and potential drivers license suspension. Providing fraudulent proof of car insurance will result in a $5,000 fine and license suspension.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Wisconsin drivers are required to have car insurance for most types of vehicles. The only vehicles in Wisconsin that are not required to have proof of car insurance are trailers and semi-trailers. Operating a motor vehicle in Wisconsin without proof of car insurance will result in a $500 fine. Operating a motor vehicle with fraudulent proof of car insurance will result in a $5,000 fine.

For more information: Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save