Frequently Asked Questions

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Wisconsin residents looking to request a certified copy of their driving record cannot do so online. To request a certified copy of a driving record, print and complete a Driver Record Information Request form and mail it along with the appropriate fee to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

PO Box 8070

Madison, WI 53708-8070

The fee for certified copy of driving records is $12 per copy.

For more information: Your Driving Record

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Wisconsin residents who have to pay speeding ticket fines are typically not required to attend traffic school, though certain courts may make traffic school mandatory depending on the offense. However, attending traffic school in Wisconsin does have the added benefit of removing three demerit points off a driver s license upon completion. Drivers may only elect to use traffic school for point reduction once every three years.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Wisconsin residents who have received parking or traffic ticket fines can typically choose between paying the fine or taking the ticket to court. Residents who would like to pay the ticket without going to court can do so by following the directions to pay traffic fines found on the ticket itself. If the ticket was issued while the driver was in a different county, the ticket must be paid in the county it was issued. Paying traffic tickets without disputing the case may cause an accumulation of points on Wisconsin drivers licenses, which can lead to higher insurance premiums and potential license suspension if too many points are accrued in a short period of time.

Drivers have a few options to pay traffic tickets, including:

  • Online through the Wisconsin Court System
    • Must provide traffic fines citation number
    • Convenience fee for Mastercard: 2.75 percent
    • Convenience fee for electronic check: $2.50 (fees may vary)
  • Mail
    • Read the instructions on the pamphlet for mailing in payment to specific county
  • In person
    • Pay at either a police department or county clerk in the county where the ticket was issued

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
In Wisconsin, anybody with a drivers license number can request a drivers record through the Wisconsin DMV. However, driving record abstracts only include certain types of non-confidential information when acquired through typical means. To obtain a drivers record with confidential information, Wisconsin drivers must provide the DMV office with the following information:

  • Wisconsin drivers license number or Wisconsin ID card number
  • Social Security Number
  • Date of birth
  • Product ID number found on the back of Wisconsin IDs and/or drivers licenses

If a confidential drivers record has been accessed illegally, the driver may be a victim of identity fraud and should report the incident to local law enforcement.

For more information: Your Driving Record

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Wisconsin residents looking to check driving records in the state can do so through the Wisconsin DMV. Also known as driving abstracts, driving abstracts are a detailed history of a driver s recorded driving incidents, including traffic tickets, parking tickets and accidents. To request an online driving record, residents should fill out the Online Driver Record form. Here, the DMV driving record will be available as a PDF. Drivers will be charged $5 for each drivers record request. To request a DMV driving record through the online system, residents must possess or have previously possessed a Wisconsin drivers license or ID card.

Wisconsin drivers may also request driving records by mail. To do so, print and complete a Driver Record Information Request form and send it along with the appropriate fee to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

PO Box 8070

Madison, WI 53708-8070

Fees for mail in driving record requests are $7 for a non-certified copy and $12 for a certified copy (fees may vary).

For more information: Your Driving Record

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
Wisconsin residents electing not to pay traffic tickets can instead dispute the ticket in court. Drivers who elect to take the ticket to court must appear in court on the assigned date and enter a plea of “not guilty” for the violation. At this point, the judge has the right to dismiss the ticket at their discretion. If they do not and there is no agreement reached, the ticket will go to trial in front of a jury.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act, only certain individuals and organizations are allowed to access a driver s official driving record. These organizations include:

• Government agencies

• Employers

• Insurance companies

• Law enforcement

Individuals who wish to obtain a driving record for a Wisconsin resident can do so by filling out the Online Driver Record form. Applicants must have either the drivers license number or name and Social Security number of the individual whose drivers record they are requesting. The fee for online drivers record requests is $5 (fees may vary).

A drivers record can also be obtained through the mail by printing and completing a Driver Record Information Request form and sending it to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

PO Box 8070

Madison, WI 53708-8070

For more information: Your Driving Record

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Wisconsin residents who have had their license suspended after refusing to submit to an alcohol test while receiving a DUI or DWI citation must wait a year for license reinstatement. For a second refusal to take an alcohol test within 10 years, a drivers license is suspended for two years. For three or more refusals, the license is suspended three years for each offense.

Once the suspension period is over, drivers should visit a local WI DMV office to check the reinstatement requirements, which will include a number of fees and driving tests.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Drivers are encouraged to first check the Driver Licensing Abbreviation Codes with Charge Points to see how many points were accumulated for violation and under which category the violation(s) fell under:

  • Violations in the A, B, C or D categories will have one point removed from a driver s license every five years
  • Traffic Safety School will allow Wisconsin drivers to remove up to three points from their license every three years

Points are not assessed on a Wisconsin driver s license for parking or non-moving violations.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The Wisconsin DMV utilizes a point system to keep track of driving violations that enter a resident s driving record. Depending on the violation, there may be no demerit points added or up to six. Drivers in Wisconsin who accumulate 12 or more points in a single year will have their licenses suspended for two months. Drivers may reduce points on their driving record by attending approved Wisconsin traffic safety courses. However, points on a license can only be reduced by three points every three years.

For more information: Your Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Wisconsin DMV utilizes a point system to keep track of the amount and magnitude of each driver s traffic convictions. Points accrued go on residents driving records, and accumulating 12 or more points in a year can lead to a license suspension. Drivers who wish to reduce the total amount of points on their drivers license may elect to attend a traffic safety course. Drivers are allowed to have a total of three points deducted from their driving record every three years using a traffic safety course.

For more information: How To: Handle Suspensions Points Other Problems

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
Wisconsin residents wondering how to pay traffic tickets after they have lost the ticket itself have two options depending on whether or not they have the traffic ticket citation number. Residents with the citation number can find the ticket information through the Wisconsin Court System website. Residents without the ticket citation number must contact the Clerk of Courts in the county where they received the traffic ticket.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Wisconsin residents who have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), and as a result have had their drivers license confiscated, can reinstate their license once all the requirements of their suspension are met.

To check the eligibility for driver s license reinstatement after a DUI or DWI arrest, Wisconsin residents can fill out the online Reinstatement Eligibility Inquiry form. The form will inform residents whether or not they are eligible for license reinstatement. It will also inform residents who are eligible whether or not they can reinstate their driver s license online or have to visit a local WI DMV office. In some instances, a DUI or DWI conviction will require drivers to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) before the drivers license can be reinstated.

The reinstatement fee for alcohol-related offenses is $200 (fees may vary).DUI or DWI offenses also include additional surcharges which can run into the thousands depending on whether or not it is a first offense. Drivers with confiscated licenses must also pay the replacement license fee as well.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

What are the different types of driving records?
Wisconsin drivers have a few choices when requesting a driving record. A standard non-certified driving record costs $5 through the online driving record system, and $7 by mail. A certified drivers record costs $12 by mail and cannot be obtained online. Drivers can also choose to receive a driving record with detailed confidential information, including juvenile traffic convictions or withdrawals. To receive this driving record, residents must provide the Wisconsin DMV with the following:

  • Wisconsin driver s license number/ID card number
  • Social Security Number
  • Date of birth
  • Product identification number found on back of driver s license/ID card

For more information: Your Driving Record

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Wisconsin residents convicted of driving under the influence face a number of penalties depending on how severe the conviction is, whether or not anybody was hurt while the driver was intoxicated, and whether or not this is the first offense. DUI convictions come with a drivers license suspension period between six months and three years. Additionally, six points are added to the drivers record. Repeated offenses will also result in jail time anywhere from five days to six years.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Traffic tickets for Wisconsin drivers with Commercial Drivers Licenses are handled the same as traffic violations for regular drivers. However, the penalties for certain violations and guilty pleas are heightened for CDL holders, with many of them carrying mandatory suspension periods. For a complete list of violations that can cause a CDL disqualification, check the Wisconsin General CDL Disqualifications chart.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

What information does a driving record contain?
Wisconsin residents requesting driving records will receive a copy of theirs after submitting a driving record application with the appropriate fees. Driving records contain the following information about a driver:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Driver s license/ID card number
  • Sex
  • Date of birth
  • Former names
  • Traffic convictions, accidents, restrictions and withdrawals (includes date and type)

For more information: Your Driving Record

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
Wisconsin drivers given a DUI or DWI citation will eventually have to pay out a number of fees to both satisfy the stipulations of the DUI/DWI conviction and get their license reinstated following the mandatory suspension period:

  • First offenses Fines can range from $150 to $300, and comes with an additional surcharge of $365.
  • Second offenses Results in imprisonment anywhere between five days and six months, along with a $350 to $1,100 fine (in addition to the $365 surcharge).
  • Third offense Results in imprisonment from 30 days to one year, along with a fine ranging from $600 to $2,000 (along with the $365 surcharge).

Drivers convicted of multiple DUIs must also purchase an IID for their vehicle, as well as pay the reinstatement and replacement drivers license fees once their suspension or revocation period is over.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Wisconsin drivers who would like to pay traffic tickets in the state can find the amount of their particular ticket on the documentation received from law enforcement officials. Traffic ticket fines are based on the severity of the violation, as well as whether or not the drivers pay traffic tickets by the due date.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

What is the cost to get a driver record?
Drivers looking to check driving records in Wisconsin must pay a fee that changes depending on the method the driver used to request the driving record. If the driver request the driving record online, the fee is $5. Drivers requesting a non-certified driving record by mail must pay $7, while drivers requesting certified driving records must pay $12.

For more information: Your Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
Wisconsin drivers holding a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) who are handed a DUI citation face a number of penalties beyond the typical penalties for non-commercial drivers. All DUI first offenses for CDL holders come with a minimum one-year license suspension. Drivers will lose CDL driving privileges for life if convicted of a second DUI or first controlled-substance felony.

Commercial drivers are also given a fine between $150 and $1,000 and declared out-of-service for 24 hours if any amount of alcohol is detected, even if it is below the legal limit.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Wisconsin drivers under 21 handed a DUI citation are subject to the same penalties as drivers over 21 who have been convicted of a DUI. In addition, drivers under 21 who test positive for any detectable level of alcohol will be fined $200 and have their CDL license suspended for three months. Minors are eligible for restricted drivers licenses immediately after a DUI conviction.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Wisconsin drivers who have had their licenses suspended or revoked due to a DUI or DWI citation must wait the required amount of time before applying to reinstate their license (anywhere between six months and three years depending on the offense). Once the suspension period has passed, drivers can visit a local WI DMV officeto check their reinstatement eligibility status. If the suspension was over a year or the license was revoked, residents will also have to take the required driving, vision and knowledge tests again as well.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
In Wisconsin, all vehicle owners convicted of a first offense DUI or DWI with a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher must have an IID installed in their vehicle before their license can be reinstated. All drivers with a second or subsequent DUI or DWI conviction must have an IID installed.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Wisconsin residents who have received parking or traffic ticket fines recently can check the status of their drivers license and whether or not they have unpaid tickets through the Wisconsin DOT website. To check, fill out the Incident Search online form with drivers licensesand other personal information. Residents with the citation number of their tickets can also check the ticket information using the Wisconsin Court System website.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Wisconsin driving records are kept by the DMV as a reference point, and are updated regularly. Occasionally, residents may receive a ticket and request a copy of their driving record and not see a ticket reflected on it. In this case, Wisconsin DMV records may not have been updated with the new ticket information. Drivers who believe there is a mistake on their driving record should contact the Wisconsin DMV at 608-266-2353.

For more information: Your Driving Record

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Wisconsin residents paying traffic tickets may accrue demerit points on their licenses, depending on the offense. To check the list of potential driving violations and the associated points charge, check the Driver Licensing Abbreviation Codes with Charge Points. Wisconsin drivers who have accumulated 12 or more points in a single year will have their driver licenses suspended for a minimum of two months.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Wisconsin residents with a suspended or revokeddrivers license due to a DUI or DWI citation may be required by the Wisconsin DMV to go through an alcohol assessment. In the event that an alcohol assessment is ordered, drivers must provide proof that they have attended before their license will be reinstated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Wisconsin