SR-22 Auto Insurance Forms and Quotes
- 1Enter your zip code below
- 2Select an insurance company
- 3Compare additional quotes and SAVE!
Filing the Nebraska SR-22 Insurance Form
The state of Nebraska uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the SR-22 form as a proof of a problem driver's financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect. The state does not send notifications and it is the responsibility of the driver and the auto insurance company to submit the form as well as the renewals, to the state, if required. The Nebraska state DMV does not accept fax or photo copies of the SR 22.
WHAT IS A SR-22 FORM?
There are three different types of SR-22 forms:
- The Operator's Certificate covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
- The Owner's Certificate covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
- The Operators-Owners Certificate covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or non-owned by the motorist.
WHEN IS SR-22 REQUIRED?The SR-22 financial responsibility Insurance form is required in the following cases:
- If you have a license suspension for an accident, you need file a SR 22 from the date of license reinstatement.
- If you have any unsatisfied judgment suspensions. For example, if a driver involved in an accident in the past has an unsatisfactory judgment entered against him then he or she needs to file the SR-22 from the date of license reinstatement.
- In case of revocations of license for accumulation of 12 or more points within 2 years. SR 22 has to be on file for 3 years from the eligible date of reinstatement.
- In the case of license suspension for no proof of insurance from a court conviction, you need to file the SR 22 for 3 years from the date of issue of the ticket.
- For individuals who have received license revocations from a court ordered conviction, SR 22 has to be in file for 3 years from the date of reinstatement.
- License suspensions due to a default in payment on a written agreement for damages or injuries reimbursement as a result of an accident, also requires the filing of SR 22 from the date of license reinstatement.
- You have to file the SR22 till your employment drive permit expires.
FILING FOR THE SR-22
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the correct processing fee to the agency. The fee amount may vary between agencies. You can request an insurance quote from our Nebraska auto insurance page and companies such as Esurance will allow you to request an SR-22 filing automatically.
- As per the State laws of Nebraska, the minimum amount of coverage should be $25,000 for one person injured in one accident, $50,000 for two or more persons injured in one accident and $25,000 for property damage in one accident.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the central office then sends the SR-22 directly to the DMV in about 30 days.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 from the agency along with a letter from the DMV.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
- Out- of-state SR 22 filings can be filed from the home office of the insurance company.
- Nebraska DMV requires a cover letter which authorizes the DMV to accept out-of-state filings.
- For related information, see Auto Insurance, DUI/ DWI Lawyers, DUI/DWI Information and Suspended License.
- For additional information regarding SR 22 filing in Nebraska, you can contact:
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicle, Financial Responsibility Division, 301, Centennial Mall South, PO Box 94877, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877 Phone 402-471-3985