SR-22 Auto Insurance Forms and Quotes
- 1Enter your zip code below
- 2Select an insurance company
- 3Compare additional quotes and SAVE!
Filing the Colorado SR-22 Insurance Form
The state of Colorado uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the SR-22 form as a proof of a problem driver's financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect. The state does not send notifications and it is the responsibility of the driver and the auto insurance company to submit the form as well as the renewals, to the state, if required.
WHAT IS A SR-22 FORM?
There are three different types of SR-22 forms:
- The Operator's Certificate covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
- The Owner's Certificate covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
- The Operators-Owners Certificate covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or non-owned by the motorist.
WHEN IS SR-22 REQUIRED?The SR-22 financial responsibility Insurance form is required in the following cases:
- If you have any safety responsibility suspensions For example, if an uninsured driver was involved in an accident in the past but did not pay the requisite compensation then he or she needs to fill the SR-22.
- In case you are convicted for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI).
- In case of suspensions or revocations of license.
- In the case of mandatory insurance supervisions.
- For individuals who have accumulated 12 or more demerit points in the last 12 months.
FILING FOR THE SR-22
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the correct processing fee to the agency. The fee amount may vary between agencies. You can request an insurance quote from our Colorado auto insurance page and companies such as Esurance will allow you to request an SR-22 filing automatically.
- As per the State laws of Colorado, the minimum amount of coverage should be $25,000 for one person killed or injured, $50,000 for two or more persons killed or injured and $15,000 for property damage.
- You can submit the SR-22 directly to the Motor Vehicle Division office in Lakewood or have your insurance company file it on your behalf.
- The SR-22 has to be maintained for a minimum period of 36 months. Should the SR-22 be allowed to lapse during this period, you could be subjected to license revocation, fines and imprisonment.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
- If you are from another state, your out of state proof of financial responsibility will be accepted provided that your insurer certifies in writing that the insurance policy complies with the requirements of the state of Colorado. It is best to contact your insurance agent to find out if your out of state policy is valid in the state of Colorado.
- If you are required to file SR-22 in Colorado you will have to do so through an insurance company that is licensed to do business in the state. Failure to file an SR-22 may also result in the suspension of driving privileges in your home state.