SR-22 Auto Insurance Forms and Quotes
- 1Enter your zip code below
- 2Select an insurance company
- 3Compare additional quotes and SAVE!
Filing the Texas SR-22 Insurance Form
The state of Texas uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the SR-22 form as a proof of a problem driver's financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect. The state does not send notifications and it is the responsibility of the driver and the auto insurance company to submit the form as well as the renewals, to the state, if required.
WHAT IS A SR-22 FORM?
There are three different types of SR-22 forms:
- The Operator's Certificate covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
- The Owner's Certificate covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
- The Operators-Owners Certificate covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or non-owned by the motorist.
WHEN IS SR-22 REQUIRED?The SR-22 financial responsibility Insurance form is required in the following cases:
- If you have any safety responsibility suspensions (Type Action 04, which involves uninsured motorists who did not pay for damages or injuries they caused). For example, if an uninsured driver was involved in an accident in the past but did not pay the requisite compensation then he or she needs to fill the SR-22.
- If you have any unsatisfied judgment suspensions (Type Action 06, a suspension resulting from a civil judgment entered against a driver involved in an accident that remains unsatisfied). For example, if a driver involved in an accident in the past has an unsatisfactory judgment entered against him then he or she needs to fill the SR-22.
- In case of revocations of license (Type Action 01 and 02).
- In the case of mandatory insurance supervisions.
- For individuals who have received more than three convictions for mandatory insurance violations.
FILING FOR THE SR-22
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the correct processing fee to the agency. The fee amount may vary between agencies. You can request an insurance quote from our Texas auto insurance page and companies such as Esurance will allow you to request an SR-22 filing automatically.
- The minimum liability coverage amounts required by law are:
$30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident, $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, and $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the central office then sends the SR-22 directly to the Texas Department of Public Safety in about 30 days.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 from the agency along with a letter from the DPS.
- The SR-22 has to be maintained for a minimum period of 24 months. If the motorist does not renew it at least 15 days before the expiration date the agency notifies the State. The State may then suspend the driving record of the motorist until the insurance is reinstated. So it is advisable to renew the SR-22 at least 45 days in advance.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
- Most insurance companies that provide insurance in any state in the United States will fulfill the insurance requirements of the State of Texas. Therefore, if you have liability insurance from another state, in most cases it will comply with the financial responsibility requirements of Texas. However, it is a good idea to verify this with your insurance company.
- Under certain circumstances, you may be able to deposit cash or securities with the State Treasurer in lieu of the SR-22. The motorist can also file a surety bond or a real estate bond approved by a court of record.
- For related information, see Auto Insurance, DUI/ DWI Lawyers, DUI/DWI Information and Suspended License.