Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Although it is not necessary, if you complete a Virginia Rider Training Program, you will be exempt from taking both the road skills exam and written knowledge exam when getting a motorcycle license. By presenting a certificate of completion to the DMV, you will be exempt from these exams for a year.For a list of Virginia Rider Training Program Course Locations, visit this link.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Yes, the state of Virginia requires motorcycle drivers and their passengers to wear a helmet.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, the state of Virginia does not allow commercial drivers to renew their license online. You will be required to complete the renewal process at your local DMV office instead. Make sure that you renew your driver s license prior to its expiration date in order to avoid any penalties or late fees. During your VA CDL licenserenewal, you will need to pass a vision screening test and have a new picture of yourself taken.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Virginia

Can I take the DMV written test online?
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles administers the two-part knowledge exam on the computer; however, this is in person at a DMV office. You also have the option to take an oral at a DMV customer service center for your convenience. You are only permitted to take the exam once per day. Should you fail the exam and are under the age of 18, a waiting period of 15 days goes into effect before you can re-take the test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
You may use your interstate CDL license anywhere in the country as long as you are abiding by the rules and regulations of the state you are transporting goods or passengers to. For more information about these rules, contact the DMV of the state in which you will be operating your commercial vehicle.

For more information: Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
In Virginia, you are not required to obtain a drivers license to operate a moped on the road. However, you do need to have a government photo ID. Per a new law that recently went into effect, it is also important to note that you will need to have your moped titled and registered.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Yes, if you are under the age of 19, you will be required to complete a drivers education program by the state in order to obtain a learner s permit. You must also meet 45 hours of driving practice, 15 of which must be completed after the sun has set.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
In the state of Virginia, you can actually obtain a Veterans Identification Card, which also allows you to receive discounted prices at select stores and restaurants. In order to apply, you must present proof of the following:

  • A copy of a United States Armed Forces veteran service document
  • Your driver s license or standard ID card

You can apply to receive a Veterans Identification Card either online, in person, by fax or mail.

Online Visit the VA DMVNow page.

In Person Find a VA Customer Service office near you by using the DMV Locator.

Fax Send the required documents and payment to: 804-367-1112.

Mail Send the required documents and payment to:

Driver Support Work Center, Room 419 P. O. Box 27412 Richmond, VA 23269-0001

For more information: How to Apply for a Virginia Identification Card

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
In order to apply for a Virginia CDL license, you must first obtain a commercial learner s permit. First, you will be required to take and pass a CDL knowledge exam, as well as a knowledge exam specifically pertaining to the specific type of vehicle you wish to drive. For example, if you intend to drive a school bus, then you must pass the school bus knowledge exam.

During the period in which you have a CDL instruction permit, you will only be allowed to drive if there is an individual with the same type of commercial class alongside you. You must hold your permit for at least 30 days before you will be allowed to take the road skills test and apply for a standard CDL license.

At the time of your application, you must also present the following documentation:

  • Two proofs of identity
  • One proof of legal presence
  • One proof of Virginia residence
  • One proof of your Social Security Number

Upon paying the required fee and passing the necessary exams at your DMV office, you will then be issued a commercial driver s license.

For more information: Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
The process to apply for a drivers permit in Virginia requires you to present valid documentation that proves your identity, as well as your residence in the state. The requirements differ, depending on whether you are under the age of 19 or over the age of 19.

19 or older, must present the following:

  • Two proofs of identity
  • One proof of legal presence
  • One proof of Virginia residence
  • One proof of Social Security Number

If you are under the age of 19, you will only be required to present one proof of each aforementioned item.

Additionally, you will need to fill out an Application for a Virginia Driver s License. In addition, you will have to meet vision standards and pass a two-part knowledge test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
In the state of Virginia, you have the option of obtaining one of three motorcycle driving licenses. The process to apply to any of these is the same. You need to complete the following steps:

  • Take and pass a vision standard exam
  • Maintain a motorcycle permit for 30 days (if you are 19 or older); for 90 days (if you are under 19)
  • Pass the written exam
  • Pass the road skills exam

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
You are required to visit a local DMV office in order to get a duplicate ID card. In some cases, you may be eligible to apply for a duplicate online.

If requesting a duplicate in person, make sure to bring the following documentation with you:

  • Two proofs of identification
  • A completed Driver s License and Identification Card Application

To renew online, visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles DMVNow page.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I renew my driving permit?
In order to renew yourVirginia learners permit, contact the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for further information. Keep in mind that you will need to hold your permit for a certain period of time before you are eligible to apply for a standard driver s license. If you are under the age of 19, you must hold your permit for at least nine months. If you are 19 or older, you must have held your permit for at least 60 days.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

How do I renew my ID card?
n Virginia, there are two ways you can renew your DMV ID card, either in person or online. To complete this in person, you will need to do the following:

To renew online, you will need to first meet the eligibility requirements. To see what these are, visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles website. If you are qualified to renew your ID online, then you can begin the process by visiting the MyDMV Account Online Services page.

For more information: How to Apply for a Virginia Identification Card

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
For information pertaining to the medical report you are required to present at the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website. You can also contact the VA DMV for further assistance.

For more information: Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
You have the option to renew your motorcycle license endorsement in person, online or by mail. If renewing in person, make sure to fill out a Driver s License and ID Card Application. You will need to present proof of your legal status in the country, as well as bring proper identification.

When renewing by mail, send your application and payment to the following address:

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles P.O. Box 26506 Richmond, VA 23260-6506

Renew online by visiting the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles website. In some instances, you may be eligible to complete your motorcycle renewal process by phone.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
In order for a member of the military to get a Virginia motorcycle endorsement, he or she must show proof of the following documents to the DMV:

  • A certificate of completion from a military-approved basic motorcycle rider training program -must have been completed within the past 12 months
  • A military dependent or unexpired active duty ID card

If you are unable to make an in-person visit to your DMV, then you can mail the aforementioned items.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The time in which you will be qualified to apply for a standard drivers license in Virginia depends on your age. If you are 19 or older and have never held a driver s license, you must first hold a learner s permit for at least two months or complete a driver s ed course before applying for a regular license. If you are under the age of 19, you must have a learner s permit for at least nine months and complete a driversed course as well.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
After you have submitted your ID card application, the DMV will have it mailed out to you within a couple of weeks. If a sufficient amount of time has passed, and you have yet to receive your ID card, contact the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

For more information: How to Apply for a Virginia Identification Card

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
In Virginia, you are required to make an in-person visit to renew your commercial driving license every eight years. You have the option to renew your VA commercial drivers license up to a year before it expires. Keep in mind that upon renewal you will need to take another vision screening exam.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Virginia

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
You may be eligible to request an ID card replacementonline if you are currently outside of Virginia. To do so, visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles DMVNow page. Remember to have the following information available to complete the process at ease:

  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your date of birth

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Virginia requires drivers to be at least 18 if they wish to apply for an intrastate commercial license, and 21 if they wish to obtain an interstate CDL license. You can find out more by speaking with a driver s license representative at a local DMV branch.

For more information: Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
Individuals under the age of 19 must hold a learner s permit for nine months before they can obtain a standard Class M motorcycle license. Find out more about how you can obtain a motorcycle license, including the documents you need to present at your local DMV, by visiting the Motorcycle License page.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
Virginia offers six types of CDL endorsements, such as the ones listed below:

  • H Endorsement: To operate a vehicle with hazardous materials
  • X Endorsement: To operate a tank vehicle and a vehicle with hazardous materials
  • N Endorsement: To operate a tank vehicle
  • T Endorsement: To operate a vehicle towing a double or triple trailer
  • P Endorsement: To operate a passenger-carrying vehicle
  • S Endorsement: To operate a school bus

For more information: Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The fee to get ID card documentation for the first time in Virginia is $10. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles accepts money orders, checks, check cards, cash or valid credit cards as forms of payment. Keep in mind that fees may be subject to change.

For more information: How to Apply for a Virginia Identification Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
The state of Virginia requires beginning drivers with a learnerspermit to have a driver at least 21 years old seated next to him or her when driving a vehicle. However, it is permitted for the driving student to be 18 years old if the driver seated beside he or she is a parent, sibling or legal guardian.

If you have held your learner s permit for at least nine months and have completed the driver s education, then you are not required to have a driver next to you, as long as your driversed certificate has been signed by a legal guardian or parent.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
The state of Virginia requires commercial drivers license applicants to present the DMV with an original or certified copy of a medical examiner s certificate. In order to obtain a medical examination application, you can call 1-800-327-6868 or visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website.

For more information: Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
There are three stages of penalties if a teenager is issued a traffic citation on a learners permit. In addition, any demerit points assigned will be added to his or herdriving record and be applied when he or she receives a new drivers license.

If the teen receives a demerit-worthy citation, he or she must enroll in traffic school. The second time the teenager s driving privileges are suspended up to 90 days. Once convicted of a third violation, his or hers driving privileges are revoked for one year, or until turning 18, whichever is longer.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Virginia

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
The requirements are the same as those for the operation of a two-wheeled motorcycle. If you are 19 or older, you will need to complete the following steps:

  • Take and pass a vision standard exam.
  • Maintain a motorcycle permit for 30 days (if you are 19 or older); for 90 days (if you are under 19).
  • Pass the written exam.
  • Pass the road skills exam.

If you wish to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle, you must get an M3 designation on your motorcycle driving license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
The documents you need to present for a learning permit vary depending on age. If you are 19 or older, you will need to present the following:

  • Two proofs of identity
  • One proof of legal presence
  • One proof of Virginia residence
  • One proof of Social Security Number

If you are under the age of 19, you will only be required to present one proof of each aforementioned item.

The VA DMV also makes it mandatory to complete an Application for a Virginia Driver s License, as well as pass both a vision exam and knowledge exams.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
The documents you should present for aVA motorcycle driving license are the same you would present for a standard driver s license. For example, if you are 19 or older, you must present the following:

  • Two proofs of identity
  • One proof of legal presence
  • One proof of Virginia residence
  • One proof of Social Security Number

If you are under the age of 19, you will only be required to present one proof of each aforementioned item. You can find out more about documents you need to turn in by visiting the VA DMV Document Guide for Driver s Licenses and ID Cards page.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
To obtain a motorcycle driverslicense, you must pass the following exams at your local DMV:

  • A written knowledge exam
  • A road skills test
  • A vision standard exam

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Virginia

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
If you are a commercial driver who is convicted of a DUI, your license will be immediately disqualified. As a result, you will face a one-year driver s license suspension. In the event that you were operating a vehicle with hazardous materials, this suspension period will increase to three years. In order to have your license reinstated, you will first need to complete all your suspension requirements.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Virginia

What is an ID card?
An ID card is a government-issued document that is used by individuals who do not drive, yet need to carry a form of identification on their person. ID cards are accepted at government buildings, financial institutions and other locations.

For more information: How to Apply for a Virginia Identification Card

What is the passing score for a written test?
To pass the two-part knowledge exam when getting drivers permit credentials, you must meet the following:

  • All the questions that are part of the traffic signs exam must be correctly answered.
  • At least 80 percent of the questions in the general knowledge exam must be correctly answered.

This two-part exam is provided in various languages and is taken on a computer. If you would like to take the exam in a language other than English, contact the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles directly.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
The state of Virginia makes it mandatory to pass both a vision exam and a two-part knowledge exam to get apermit for driving. For you to be issued a driver s license, you must have 20/40 or better vision. If you need to wear glasses or contact lenses, you are required to do so every time you operate a vehicle to avoid any penalties. As for the knowledge exams, beginning drivers are tested on information pertaining to traffic signs, driving practices and state laws.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
The VA DMV requires potential drivers to take and pass various exams in order to be issued a commercial driving license. Some of these may include the ones listed below:

  • A general knowledge exam
  • A knowledge exam specifically pertaining to the type of vehicle you will operate
  • A road skills test
  • A vision screening exam

For more information: Virginia Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

When does my ID card expire?
Your Virginia DMV ID card will expire at the end of your birth month whenever you hit an age that is divisible by five such as 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 or 45. To avoid penalties and late fees, renew your identification card prior to its expiration date. After renewing your ID card, you can hold onto the receipt until the new one arrives in the mail.

For more information: How to Apply for a Virginia Identification Card

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Residents of Virginia looking to obtain identification cards must apply in person at a local VA DMV office. When visiting, make sure to bring a Driver s License and Identification Card Application, along with any other required identification documentation and the ID card fee of $10 (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Apply for a Virginia Identification Card

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
A parent or legal guardian can sign your driver s education certificate. You can read more about completing the driversed program in the state of Virginia by visiting the Driver s Ed page. Keep in mind that drivers education is mandatory in order for you to later apply for a standard driver s license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Virginia