DMV.com is an industry leader in online traffic sources. We make it easy and affordable. Select the type of course you need and get your certification in 2 Easy Steps.
- First Time Drivers
- Required by State
- DMV Approved
- State Approved
- Work at Your Own Pace
- Offline and Phone Support
New Jersey defensive driving courses prepare drivers for different driving situations, while providing them with greater knowledge about defensive driving skills. Drivers may take driving classes at a state-approved driving school to remove two demerit points from their NJ driving record, or to earn a car insurance discount. For more information regarding New Jersey defensive driving, click here.
Drivers education in New Jersey is required by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) for first-time drivers who want to apply for a learner’s permit. Beginner drivers must enroll in a state-approved drivers ed course when they turn 16 years of age to be eligible to receive a learner’s permit. For more information regarding New Jersey drivers ed courses, click here.
New Jersey Drivers Education
New Jersey teen drivers are required to meet certain requirements before obtaining a driver's license. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission makes it mandatory for drivers who are 16 years of age to complete a driver education course. Drivers are required to fulfill six hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice, in order to learn NJ traffic laws and regulations, and defensive driving techniques.
To learn more about drivers ed in NJ, click here.
New Jersey Defensive Driving
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires drivers to complete a state approved defensive driving class for the following reasons:
- Court order.
- Point reduction.
- Car insurance premium discount.
If you enroll in a driver improvement course, it must be a minimum of four hours. If you intend to enroll in a New Jersey defensive driving course, you have the option to choose between an online course provider or a classroom course provider.
Traffic school programs are offered all across the country, in each and every state. To find out what courses your state offers, click here.