Ohio Traffic Tickets
Traffic citations in Ohio may be issued to drivers for a variety of offenses or misdemeanors. Motorists are usually expected to either pay traffic fines thus admitting their guilt, or to fight tickets in court when they consider themselves innocent. If you want to know how to fight tickets or where to pay those tickets, continue reading the sections below.
Fighting an Ohio Ticket
Drivers may fight traffic citations in Ohio when they consider themselves innocent of the offense they are charged with. A traffic ticket defense procedure requires drivers to plead “not guilty” within 10 days from the issuance of the ticket. Failure to fight a ticket in that period will result in a penalty that will increase the fine written on the ticket. You may also hire a traffic lawyer to help you fight your ticket in Ohio. These lawyers may be able to get your case dismissed or reduce the penalties, depending on the details of your particular case.
Paying an Ohio Ticket
When paying driving fines, motorists may use the following methods: online, by mail, or in person at a proper court. If you decide to pay driving ticket online, you have chosen the fastest and the most convenient paying method. Drivers need to pay fines in Ohio within 10 days of receiving their tickets.
Lost Tickets in Ohio
Drivers wondering, “How can you contest a speeding ticket in Ohio?” need to be aware of the fact that they need the ticket in their possession in order to complete the procedure. Losing your citation will slow down the procedure of fighting or paying a speeding ticket. Drivers facing a lost ticket must contact the court handling their case and request the needed information before they receive a late penalty added to their fines.
Ohio Fines and Penalties
Ohio traffic violation payments must be submitted when drivers plead guilty to the offense they are charged with, or after they try to dismiss traffic tickets and lose the trial. The fines OH vary based on the type and severity of the offense committed. The amount of driving fine you need to pay is written on the citation you have received. Drivers may be required to pay finesfrom the minimum of $25 for a first violation of the child safety seat law, to a maximum fine of $10,500 for operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (OVI).
Points in Ohio
Ohio traffic violations may bring you various demerit points on your driving record. Therefore, accruing a large number of demerit points will bring you certain penalties, such as driver’s license suspensions. Below, you can review several traffic violations and the demerit points that will be added to your driving record:
- Eluding a law enforcement official: 6 demerit points
- Committing homicide while operating a motor vehicle: 6 penalty points
- Reckless driving: 4 negative points
- Committing a moving violation: 2 demerit points
When dealing with traffic citations and violations, drivers are encouraged to enroll in a state-approved traffic school for a two-point credit to their records. This credit can negate points accumulated on future traffic violations. The defensive driving class will not reduce your demerit points, but rather it will offer point-credit in case of future violations. Drivers who have received tickets must have between two and 12 points on their OH driving records in order to be eligible to enroll in the traffic school course.
How Tickets Affect an Ohio Drivers License
Receiving traffic tickets in Ohio may affect your driving privileges in various ways. Drivers who have committed violations and as a result accumulated 12 or more points within a two-year period, will be issued driver’s license suspensions with duration of six months. Motorists can enroll in a traffic school in order to reinstate a suspended driver’s license. Otherwise, until you decide to dispute traffic tickets or to submit the required traffic violation payments in OH, your driving privileges will be suspended.
Ohio Car Insurance Fines and Violations
Committing Ohio traffic violations will require you to pay applicable fees and may bring you a penalty such as higher car insurance premiums. To avoid an increase in the auto insurance rates, drivers are recommended to enroll in a state traffic school. Therefore, when fighting traffic tickets you need to provide proof of traffic school certificate of completion.