Traffic Ticket Attorneys - Connect with TicketVoid
Find Traffic Ticket Lawyers!
- Enter your DUI or traffic ticket information into Ticket Void websitte in a quick step-by-step process.
- Ticket Void matches your DUI or traffic ticket information for FREE with qualified DUI and traffic ticket lawyers in the State/County of the offence.
- A DUI or traffic lawyer within the Ticket Void network will contact you.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Point System
Violating New Jersey driving and traffic laws can result in fines, the suspension of your driving privileges, and even imprisonment. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) uses a point system to track violations and their corresponding penalties. Points are added to your driving record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations.
MOVING VIOLATIONS AND POINTS
Different violations are assigned different point values, which are added to your driving record. For instance, moving violations like careless driving, failure to observe traffic signals, moving against traffic and failure to yield at an intersection each carry two points. Five-point offenses include tailgating, reckless driving and exceeding the maximum speed limit by 30 mph or more. The number of points assessed for different speeding violations are as follows:
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 1-14 mph:2 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 15-29 mph:4 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 30 mph or more: 5 points
View the complete Point Schedule to learn about the number of points associated with each type of moving violation.
You will be subject to specific penalties if you accumulate a certain number of points on your driving license:
- You will be assessed a surcharge if you get six or more points on your current driving record within any three years. These annual surcharges must be paid in addition to any other penalties or court fines. You must pay a $150 annual surcharge, plus $25 for each additional point you have accumulated beyond the initial six points. More about Surcharges.
- You will have your license suspended if you accumulate 12 points or more on your current driving record. A notice of scheduled suspension will be mailed to you. You may be imprisoned for driving with a suspended license.
- Accumulating points on your driving license is also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORDThe New Jersey MVC maintains a record of all the points added to your driving license. However, there are a number of ways in which you can remove points from your current driving record.
- If you remain violation or suspension-free for one year, you can get three points deducted from your current driving record.
- Taking a Defensive Driving Course enables you to deduct two points from your current driving record, and may also qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates.
- A Driver Improvement or Probationary Driver Program can enable you to deduct three points from your current driving record.